We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Warm welcome and great place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of River Finn Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mature Woodland Gardens Front of Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Mature Woodland Gardens
Front of Cottage
Bedroom 1
The River Finn,
Kitchen / Dining area
Kitchen
Mature Garden
Living Room
BBQ area
Modern Bathroom.
Bedroom 3, Triple Bunk.
Kids play area
Gortletteragh Waterfall
Ballybofey
Drumboe Woods,
Donegal Town
Donegal Water Bus in Donegal Town
Ballybofey and Stranorlar Golf Course
The Balor Theater, Ballybofey
Killybegs Harbour.
Living Room
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Ballybofey, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Stephen E
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm welcome and great place to stay”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My family(3 x adults and 2 x kids) recently had a really enjoyable stay here. Marion was very welcoming and went the extra mile to check that we had everything we needed. The house was immaculate, very well presented and provided a home from home with plenty of space. The location is beautiful and secluded with several beautiful beached within 30 mins drive and Londonderry about 30-40 mins drive. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2015
Thank you for choosing River Finn Cottage for your Holiday and for the lovely review, I am delighted you and your Family enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back any time in the future.
Kindest regards
Marion Noonan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie M
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful & relaxing”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed here twice this year and loved it each time. The owners are warm friendly people and the surroundings are beautiful. There is everything you need and more provided for your stay. The cottage is so warm and welcoming. We didn't want to leave. There are fantastic woodland walks close to the cottage and plenty to see and do in both Stranorlar and Ballybofey. We cannot wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2015
Hi Annie, thank you so much for your lovely review and for returning to the Cottage with your Family, I'm so happy you enjoyed it as much the second time around and I look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Thanks again.
Marion
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catie1977
1 review
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed 23 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We only stayed here for one night but it was enough for us to decide that we will be returning back at some stage and plan to stay longet .. Fantastic place and our hostess was an amazing lady.. Everything we needed (and more) was in the cottage.. Thanks again Marion for you wonderful hospitality and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.. Barry and Catherine Feeney.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2015
Thank you so much for the lovely review, I am so glad you had such a great time during your stay, I look forward to your return visit.
Best regards
Marion
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan1010...
1 review
“Perfect holiday cottage”
Reviewed 25 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Delighted with the accommodation, spotless, luxurious, cozy, spacious and had everything you could possibly need, honestly couldn't find one fault. Stayed for a weekend with my partner and 2 kids, enjoyed it so much I've just booked to return in April.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2015
Thank you so much for staying at River Finn Cottage and for your lovely review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I am looking forward to seeing you all again when you return at Easter.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrina W
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 22 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

River Finn Cottage is set in the most beautiful place. Marion the lady who owns the cottage is a lovely and very helpful lady and nothing was to much trouble for her. The cottage is beautiful and was spotless,you could not find fault with it. The cottage is big,there were 7 of us staying there and there was plenty of room. The cottage looks exactly as it does on the website. And everything you needed for your stay was supplied. I would recommend staying at River Finn Cottage to anyone. We had a lovely stay and hope to stay there again on our next visit to Donegal?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. We constantly strive to ensure River Finn Cottage meets or surpasses our Guests expectation, I am so pleased you felt it did. It was a pleasure meeting you all and i am delighted you had such an enjoyable stay, I hope to welcome you and your Friends back in the future.

Best Regards
Marion
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing