We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Breathtaking”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of River Finn Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mature Woodland Gardens Front of Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Mature Woodland Gardens
Front of Cottage
Bedroom 1
The River Finn,
Kitchen / Dining area
Kitchen
Mature Garden
Living Room
BBQ area
Modern Bathroom.
Bedroom 3, Triple Bunk.
Kids play area
Gortletteragh Waterfall
Ballybofey
Drumboe Woods,
Donegal Town
Donegal Water Bus in Donegal Town
Ballybofey and Stranorlar Golf Course
The Balor Theater, Ballybofey
Killybegs Harbour.
Living Room
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Ballybofey, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Catie1977
1 review
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed 23 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We only stayed here for one night but it was enough for us to decide that we will be returning back at some stage and plan to stay longet .. Fantastic place and our hostess was an amazing lady.. Everything we needed (and more) was in the cottage.. Thanks again Marion for you wonderful hospitality and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.. Barry and Catherine Feeney.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2015
Thank you so much for the lovely review, I am so glad you had such a great time during your stay, I look forward to your return visit.
Best regards
Marion
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan1010...
1 review
“Perfect holiday cottage”
Reviewed 25 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Delighted with the accommodation, spotless, luxurious, cozy, spacious and had everything you could possibly need, honestly couldn't find one fault. Stayed for a weekend with my partner and 2 kids, enjoyed it so much I've just booked to return in April.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2015
Thank you so much for staying at River Finn Cottage and for your lovely review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I am looking forward to seeing you all again when you return at Easter.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrina W
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 22 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

River Finn Cottage is set in the most beautiful place. Marion the lady who owns the cottage is a lovely and very helpful lady and nothing was to much trouble for her. The cottage is beautiful and was spotless,you could not find fault with it. The cottage is big,there were 7 of us staying there and there was plenty of room. The cottage looks exactly as it does on the website. And everything you needed for your stay was supplied. I would recommend staying at River Finn Cottage to anyone. We had a lovely stay and hope to stay there again on our next visit to Donegal?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. We constantly strive to ensure River Finn Cottage meets or surpasses our Guests expectation, I am so pleased you felt it did. It was a pleasure meeting you all and i am delighted you had such an enjoyable stay, I hope to welcome you and your Friends back in the future.

Best Regards
Marion
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JG6896
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Will Be Back!”
Reviewed 8 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This place is lovely! Fantastic little cottage with everything that you could possibly need for a self catering break. Lovely peaceful location - ideal for exploring the countryside and coastal areas and then retreating back to of an evening. We met the owners Marion and Sean briefly on check-in and they told us to just ask if there was anything we needed. There was plenty of information brochures on 'things to do' in the cottage - we found these really helpful. Once again a lovely break and we will definitely be back!.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: leaving - wished we had longer
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2014
Thank you for your kind review of River Finn Cottage, we are so pleased you had such a good time in Donegal and enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for booking again for Summer 15, I look forward to seeing you then.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRSD39
Ballycastle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hidden gem in Killygordon”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I stayed at River Finn cottage with my 4 children at the beginning of August for one week. We all had a fabulous time. The cottage itself was beautiful in private grounds. It was very clean & tidy & well equipped. The owners were very helpful & friendly too. My children loved the local leisure centre. We spent hours in the huge swimming pool! There's plenty to do... We travelled to Donegal Town, Letterkenny, Glenveagh Castle & the local forest. There's plenty of lovely shops in Ballybofey/Stranorlar too & the people are very friendly. I'd definitely stay at River Finn cottage again & would highly recommend it to anyone wanting a peaceful retreat but within reach of activities/entertainment etc.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2014
Thank You so much for the lovely review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at River Finn Cottage, and found both the Cottage and local amenities enjoyable, I look forward to seeing you again in the future,
Regards
Marion
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing