We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic hidden gem.”
Review of Lorum Old Rectory

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilgreaney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lorum Old Rectory
Ranked #1 of 1 Kilgreaney B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Lorum is a real hidden gem. It is quality accommodation, fine food and with a very hospitable, friendly family looking after everyone. This is a superb bolt hole in beautiful surroundings. The Old Rectory is maintained with real quality detail and lots of personal touches.

The food is worth the trip on its own. Dinner is extra but well worth a try. A splendid 5 course meal awaits. Breakfast has plenty of variety and is cooked fresh. Simply gorgeous.

The rooms are all in keeping with the house and finished with great attention to detail. The welcome is fulsome and warm and Bobbie is a wonderful friendly, warm hostess.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank TomThumb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2016

What a wonderful break we had at this beautiful country home. Greeted by Bobbie, offered coffee and cake and settled into our elegant and very comfortable bedroom with views over the lovely garden. Delicious full irish breakfast along with fresh fruits and yogurt were enjoyed and a four course home cooked gourmet dinner was well worth pre booking.
Well worth spending time relaxing here after a day exploring County Carlow.

Room Tip: All looked lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2016

Stayed here for 4 nights and did not want to leave, the house, the area, peace and quiet was second to none. The evening meal was superb. Our host Bobbie was just so lovely. I will definitely stay there again. I loved our vast room and 4 poster bed.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dajna52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2016

We stayed in Lorum Old Rectory in September for a special birthday celebration for a quiet getaway. The host Bobbie was lovely and we enjoyed welcome tea & cake on arrival by a lovely log burning fire. The evening meal was superb and served in the most beautiful dining room again with a lovely fire with just the two of us by candlelight. The home made bread at breakfast time was just perfect too. Bobbies collection of roses are just lovely and on the way home we purchased two pink rose bushes. We will return again for a special treat.

Room Tip: The Blue Room was lovely and large with lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niamh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2015

From the welcoming cup of tea to the drinks by the open fire, to the excellent five course dinner in an appropriately gracious setting, to a comfortable room where everything worked, to a huge range of fruit, bread and cooked breakfast, the experience was uninterrupted self indulgence. We will be back to Lorum.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lorum Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorum Old Rectory

Address: Kilgreaney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Kilgreaney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kilgreaney
Price Range: $126 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing