We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful house, stunning views and great location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Le Vitrier

Le Vitrier Gite
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Le Vitrier Gite
Upper seating area Dining Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Le Vitrier Gite
Upper seating area
Dining Kitchen
Double Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Living Room
Living Room
Garden view from Kitchen
Garden
View from lounge balcony
View into Cherry Orchard from garden
Local walks from gite
Walks near gite
Roses and lavender abound
The Grand Pont and beach on the Doux river below give
Tournon-sur-Rhone
Tournon from across the river
Footbridge across the Rhone
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Ardeche, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Judi4jam
Somerset, UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, stunning views and great location”
Reviewed 18 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This is a very well appointed, comfortable and spacious house enjoying superb views across the Rhone valley to the Alps. Le Vitrier is set in lovely gardens, at the end of a lane, and with great walking straight from the door. The accommodation is immaculately clean, the kitchen is very well equipped and the English owners are on hand to advise with local knowledge. The area is very unspoilt with rivers for swimming, gorges, fruit orchards and extensive vineyards offering great wines.
We have spent two delightful holidays here and will return again as we think it is the best gite we have enjoyed in more than 20 years of visiting France.
5 stars!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Everything was very good
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anamonrea...
Corvallis, Oregon
1 review
“You will fall in LOVE with Le Vitrier!!!!”
Reviewed 24 August 2012 for a stay in June 2012

This review should have been written a while back. We stayed at Le Vitrier for one week in June 2012. After driving down from Paris this place was the perfect place to relax and feel at home. We dint get lost at all because Candy and Tony sent us great directions. This place is set on a beautiful mountain over looking vineyards!!! Truly breath taking views. The road up to the house is a little windy but not scary at all. Candy has beautiful gardens there, lots of lavender.
When we arrived Candy and Tony were there to greet us in and show us around the house. They were so thoughtful to get a high chair, baby safety gate and managed to get a cot for our then 18 month old. They also had this terrific wine & cheese waiting for us, and not just that but they also had some essential things for us in the fridge so it could hold us till we went shopping. We had both our 9 year old and baby so this was perfect.
The next day Tony gave us the 411 on all the great places to visit, also best place to get groceries and the town times( these are essential when you are in a small town in France). They also had a book with loads of information about the town and surrounding areas.
The house it self was gorgeous very very clean and had everything we could possibly need. We ate outside a couple times and took a couple strolls up the mountain. I recommend this place to anyone, single, couple, family with small children this place was just that wonderful.
I cant thank Candy and Tony enough for their wonderful hosting. They were so kind to our children, they even got to feed their two cute goats. We found out we were their first guest from the U.S and I could not be more honored, I hope more people from the states can get a chance to visit this great place, We will definitely be recommending it to friends and family. We hope to be able to go back some day :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: I liked it all :)
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silkeborg, Denmark
Reviewed 22 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall standard and atmosphere
Liked least: Distance to nearest shopping
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 12 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful views,
Liked least: Winding road, quite isolated farmhouse
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chris S
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic Gite, Fabulous Location, Friendly People!”
Reviewed 23 January 2012 for a stay in January 2012

This was our second stay at Le Vitrier and as the first time (a few years back) our stay was great and met all (already high) expectations. The Gite is really well appointed with everything you need - well equipped kitchen, comfortable furnishings and a great fire place next to the french doors which open out on the terrace which overlooks the town of Tournon a few miles down the road.

Booking is easy and Candy is very helpful and responsive when answering any queries - and Tony is massively welcoming and warm which makes staying even more pleasurable. Genuinely nice people. Great little welcome pack again - bottle of local red wine, some pate and bread - a nice touch.

Personally we used the Gite as a base for our 'trip' to watch the World Rally Championship which takes place in various places around the Ardeche - but otherwise the Gite is excellently located, offering easy access to smaller villages, the mountains and larger towns such as Valence (about half an hour).

Fully recommend staying here - and good value - we shall definitely be returning for stay #3 at some point!

Note - a car is a must!

Thanks for a great stay Tony & Candy.

Chris, Nick & Nuno.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warm welcome and overall experience
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 133
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing