We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“traditional pregame lunch”
Review of S & S Cafeterias

S & S Cafeterias
Ranked #186 of 1,174 Restaurants in Knoxville
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Trenton
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“traditional pregame lunch”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I always eat @ S & S off Kingston Pike before football games. Great family atmosphere with many choices of Meat and veggies. I love it all but come mainly for a couple of pieces of mexican cornbread. Take your family here for a good meal at a great price every time.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 777safety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    17
    10
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sevierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Disappointed, Cleanlyness Fears”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I was headed there to eat tomorrow for lunch until I read all the poor low scores with the health dept. Guess I'll go to Cracker Barrel instead.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank usatbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
114 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Excellent, every time. Best deal for families.”
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We eat here regularly, it's the best deal in town for a real. home-cooked meal, especially for a large family. Kids eat for 99c -- you can;t beat that. And it's not some unhealthy kids meal like at other places -- it's real food. Yeah, they had some issues in the past with food temps, but the management is always on top of things -- this company has been in business for many years and has earned its reputation for quality and value. You don't stick around that long because you don't care -- don't let negative comments steer you away from here. Every restaurant has it's issues at one time or another -- whether it's a mom & pop place or a fancy chain. And a fancy chain, S&S isn't -- it's very homey, very relaxed. All of the workers on the line are happy to help you, they're friendly and outgoing -- and they'll go out of their way for you.

Last night, my kids had the chopped steak kids meals with turnip greens (the best anywhere) and green beans (also great). They eat that, then they go back for another one! At 99c, for one meat, two vegetables, dessert (jello) and a bread, you just can't go wrong. AND I can honestly say, this is the ONLY place where my kids LOVE the vegetables, and we eat out five times a week.

I had the carved roast beef with the red potatoes, turnip greens and garlic bread -- as always, it was out of this world! My wife had the liver and onions -- at first, a little dry from the lamp, but with some extra juice on it, it turned out just right. She also had sides of black-eyed peas, sweet potatoes, and a roll.

We sat in the side dining room this time, normally we sit in the main dining room where there's a bit more room between you and the next table. Our waitress was on the ball, keeping our sweet tea full the whole time.

Our total bill was $20.92 -- where else can you feed two adults and two children for $20??? You can't even cook it at home for that price!

If you haven't tried this place yet, please do -- you'll be very pleased. And if you have any questions about food temps, quality, etc., don't be afraid to ask the manager -- they're very down to earth and happy to help.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mediarazzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good "Cafeteria Style" Food”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We eat here on occasion when in Knoxville. The food is good given it is a cafeteria, they offer excellent value for families, and offer good service.
Always a good choice of entrees, sides, and salads. The cooked food is always fresh, not dried up like in some cafeterias.
They offer a kids plate at a great price and it is more than plenty for our kids.
The service is good through the line, and a waitress always makes sure your drinks are full and you have everything you need.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PottedMeat999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Typical cafeteria food, but amazing Roast Beef”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

The sides are hit or miss, sometimes too salty. but the roast is always perfect. Au jus.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank knoxvillevolntr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed S & S Cafeterias also viewed

 

Been to S & S Cafeterias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing