We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fabulous!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Creek Expeditions

Big Creek Expeditions
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 31.00*
and up
Scenic Floats on the Lower Section of the Pigeon River
Ranked #6 of 14 things to do in Hartford
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Norton, MA
2 reviews
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

This was our second summer rafting with Big Creek Expeditions and I would highly recommend this to anyone traveling to the Smokies. We had Mike for a guide last year, who was great with our kids (ages 7 & 10 at the time). We had Tarryl (spelling?) this year and he was a great guide as well. Their prices are great, the company is very accomodating (they let us change our reservation last minute this year due to my concerns aboutthe weather forecast), and it's a great family experience. It's now my childrens' favorite thing to do when we vacation in TN (as well as my husband & I).
Definitely pick this company over some of the others, they seem less commercialized and more interested in the natural aspect of this activity.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ACegelka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    494
    25
    2
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Awesome trip and guide!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

Very good experience. Our guide Jo Jo was very experienced and a great guide. The ride down river was adrenaline pumped very fun trip and we will definitely do it again! Thanks for the wonderful trip!

Helpful?
Thank Jxnguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“So much fun and excitement”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

Last week some friends and i went rafting at Big Creek Expeditions what a blast. I have been on several raft trips and i have to say the guide Mike Ryan was one of the best i have had. He was very good at giving instruction making it very clear what you need to do. I took my 11 year old granddaughter and he put her on the back of the boat next to him and she had a wonderful time. I would recommend this company to anyone. The trip started on time and the whole experience was wonderful.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank borem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012 via mobile

This was our first time white water rafting and it was a blast! We had Jim for our guide, he was friendly & knowledgeable, we felt safe in his boat! Would certainly do this again!

Helpful?
Thank Grimmfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

This was our first time rafting, and we totally enjoyed it.
Was the best part of our trip to Tennessee.
I was nervous, but once we started I felt very comfortable.
Our guide Wayne was great. Definetley would reccommend Big Creek.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 2Shell2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big Creek Expeditions also viewed

Great Smoky Mountains National Park, TN
Tennessee, United States
 

Been to Big Creek Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing