We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Once in a life time”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Dorothy's Dream

View of the Venetian harbour from one of the bedrooms
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of the Venetian harbour from one of the bedrooms
View of the hallway from the living room One of the bedrooms
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
View of the Venetian harbour from one of the bedrooms
View of the hallway from the living room
One of the bedrooms
View of the Venetian harbor from one of the bedrooms
A traditional kitchen with all modern amenities
One of the bedrooms
Night view of the Venetian harbor from one of the bedrooms
The hallway of the residence
One of the bathrooms
View from the hallway
Kitchen detail
In the living room
Bedroom detail
Cozy corner in the living room
The kitchen
View of the Venetian port from one of the bedrooms
Breakfast served on the terrace
Southern view of the terrace
Enjoy breakfast on the terrace
View of the Giali Tzami Mosque from one of the bedrooms
View of the Maritime Museum from one of the bedrooms
The house behind the Giali Tzami Mosque
Morning view from one of the bedroom balconies
View of the lighthouse from the terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Chania, Magnesia Region, Thessaly

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
river980
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Once in a life time”
Reviewed 11 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Dorothy’s Dream. Maybe once or twice in a life time some people get to stay in a place like this. Romantic, practical, central, comfortable and every other positive remark that you might think of. I’d even have to be positive about the steep winding stairs that lead up to this vast and perfectly presented apartment. The attention to detail is magnificent. Right in the middle of the action, on the edge of Chania’s glorious, historic port this house is nestled in culture. Surrounded by restaurants and shops, selling fresh sea food, tasty vegetables and fresh roasted and slow cooked meats, delicious ice cream. We also had the choice to buy food from the local supermarket and cook indoors with a large kitchen complete with every appliance necessary and a dining area as one of the choices of three dining areas not including the honeymoon suit for breakfast in bed. The roof terrace looks out 360 over the town and sea. Dorothy’s Dream is exactly that, a dream.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2016
Dear Sol, thank you for the review! We look forward to your return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeoffJacq...
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Luxury. Best view in old Chania. Excellent service.”
Reviewed 10 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We have stayed in Chania three times and this really is exceptional. The former Governor's residence is one of the finest places to stay in Chania. We stayed here with family group of 7. Spacious family accomodation - Luxurious furnishings and surroundings with maid service. Central location gives access to shop, restaurants etc. The owner, Alex, is very accomodating and Zoe who manages the property cannot do enough to help you: she introduces you to the apartment will create the most wonderful Greek dinner on the roof top dining area if you want to treat yourselves. Beds are very comfortable. Large eating areas for whole group.

Sitting up in the roof at night looking out across the old harbour and city really is a great place to be in Chania. And when you want to pop into old town for restaurants, shops it is right on your doorstep.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sefratk
Isarel
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I will never forget this vacation and this apartment”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

8 girls celebrating our 40th birthday all together. Can you believe how problematic can that be? Well not in this apartment. There was room for everyone: in the kitchen, on the amazing roof, in the royal living room. We lived as queens and could calmly plan each day separately. The host was waiting for us with Greek appetizers and Raki (the local alcoholic drink) when we came from the airport after two hours' drive. She explained us in details the history of this ancient apartment, where to go , where not to go, and even left us a local cell phone so we can call her in case of questions . The best hospitality ever..
The views from the window is a dream (well you saw the picutres) and apartment itslef has everything you need to live there forever, even books....
The only problem was the parking , there was no parking in that small alley- but we solved that too by parking in the public parking couple of streets near. Thank you for an amazing vacation.

How easy was it to book the property?
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KD3
Bryn Mawr, PA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Can I just live here forever?”
Reviewed 1 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Dorothy's Dream was the hit of our vacation! What a lovely place and such lovely people, we never wanted to leave. We arrived after 10 pm to the warmest most gracious greeting from Zoe - with food and drink waiting. We loved the accommodations and the views and the roof terrace was spectacular. Chania is such a charming town and you are a block or so away from everything. We will return!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Maybe the 26 steps up? But really not a big issue!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedal-Bea...
London
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Nonpareil View with a Commodious Rooftop Terrace!”
Reviewed 12 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The view is nonpareil paired with a commodious rooftop terrace to relax and compose oneself!

We were greeted at the airport by the owner and property manager who graciously glided us to the apartment in their cars giving us a guided tour and yesteryear knowledge of the local area.

Once we arrived at the apartment and disembarked we were told that somebody would ferry our luggage up to the apartment for us, this was superlative treatment and just what we needed after a long flight and arriving at midnight.

Once the six of us invade the property, we were given a very bona fide excursion of the entire property concluding with authentic snacks and local raki. The property is exquisite, alongside lots of antiquity`s, high ceilings & amplitude! The kitchen is fully equipped with everything you could need in abundance. The bedrooms are large with comfy and gratifying beds amidst an exorbitant amount of cushions. There are many bathrooms with forceful hand-held showers and long-established furnishings. There is a prodigious main room which is great to relax in and recline on the chaise lounge catching the breeze from the sea facing windows.

The property is positioned within very close proximity to the old town, two minutes in fact. with plenty of tavernas and wine bars. There are also local shows at the Turkish mosque which gets very busy, fortunately the apartments rooftop terrace overlooks this and you get to feel like royalty with the best view in the house!

This is a marvellous property with exceptional hosts who go out of their way to make you feel at home. this property comes highly recommended. Thank you.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing