We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You should stay here at least once”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Ranked #38 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“You should stay here at least once”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We spent a weekend in Chattanooga and stayed here. This trip was just for relaxing, and that's what we did. Spent some time in the pool, which was indoors of the building where we stayed. (There are 3 hotel buildings on the property, plus the train car rooms). We spent a good deal of time in our room too, just relaxing. The room was average. The hotel was older than many places we've stayed. But nice, regardless. The area where the hotel is located is a little on the outskirts of the happening areas of Chattanooga. I wouldn't want to be doing a lot of walking around the area at night. But it is a historic hotel, and I guess the area around it has just changed. Not much you can do about the location. The property is fun, and the Station House is a great place to meet friends or go to dinner. LIve music, the waiters and waitresses sing and dance to popular music. The microbrewery on the corner had some great food also. Our trip included breakfast in main building. There was a buffet, or you could order from the menu. Breakfast was good. Overall, a fun trip!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TripsFromBama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Overall a fun trip. That’s great to hear. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for your comments about the Station House; it’s been a favorite for 30 years.. We look forward to your return.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    818
    676
    510
    380
    292
See reviews for
934
815
84
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (749)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Overall it was pleasant, the staff, and I mean all the staff, are pleasant and say hi, or good morning. I did not stay or eat in the train cars. We stayed in Hotel #3, they have 20 acres, three hotels and three pools, lots of parking. We had a buffet that was catered and the food was very good. The room was standard but the toilets were a big problem for us, and others in our group, we had 70 or so and it was a subject of much humor. These toilets are some form of water savers that work very poorly and require multiple flushes to work, thus negating any water saving benefits, they should replace all of them. In the late afternoon we had coffees in the cafe and they were very good. It was fun sitting in the great lobby having our coffees and reminiscing about what travel was like back in the golden age of train travel. Use the free electric buses to go down to the restaurants, the boat tours, the aquarium, but watch out for pan handlers that prowl , around parking lots and restaurants.

Room Tip: See my comment above on hotel number three. I do not know if the train cars of hotel number 2 have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redmax1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Thanks for your review about our hotel and great staff. It means a lot to our staff to see this kind of a review. We strive to create great service. I’m not sure about your comments about the toilets. We checked the PBX log and only had 2 maintenance calls for toilets in your building during your stay (5 days) with the car show. Maintenance is further checking the situation out. The free parking and shuttle is always a hit with our guests.


Regards,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Wanting to get away for a small weekend trip at the last minute the Choo Choo was our last resort of hotel possibilities. The reviews had us hesitant to book but since it was the last hotel in town for the weekend we did. Specifically we were wanting a family package for the Aquarium, since the Choo Choo had it we booked a room. The lady who took reservations was helpful and polite giving me the idea it would be a pleasant experience. We would be coming into town before check-in and she stated since we bought an aquarium package we could check-in at 10am. We arrived about 10:30am to change clothes and hit the mountain attractions for the day. Once at the front desk we were told by the friendly front desk staff our room was not available due to cleaning and would be ready before normal check in at 3:00pm; we did get our tickets and vouchers. We were a little bummed but changed in the car and enjoyed the day.

Once back at the hotel the friendly front desk staff checked us in assigning us to the first floor of Hotel 3. We got a map of the property and given instructions about where to eat and points of interest on the property. The room was in very clean condition, the only blemish was some discoloration around the soap holder in the shower but its an older property. We got cleaned up and headed to to eat at the brewpub next door which was extremely great food! The pool was clean, hot tub was lukewarm to say the least and someone left their beer can floating. The water was discolored slightly so my wife and I declined.

The breakfast buffet was good and worth trying, kids eat free and with our $25 voucher from the package we all ate for $7.00. The wait staff was very nice and on the spot. The model RR museum was cool and worth visiting (we had free tickets from again the aquarium package so why not give it a shot). The property itself was old yes, but it was very nostalgic and interesting.

In summary, if you are looking for an immaculate 5 star resort then its not going to meet your needs. This is an old but still beautiful hotel with lots of history even for someone who was born after the station shut down. We had a great time, enjoyed all the hotel had to offer and took advantage of the free vouchers given with our package. We didnt eat at the Station House but heard it was nice. My wife and I have discussed staying again if we make it back up to Chattanooga. Try to brewpub next door, good prices, great food and great microbrews.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovemyfam78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
THANK YOU! We appreciate your great comments about our Historic Hotel. Thanks for not letting a couple reviews deter you. And remember, some of the reviews are guest impressions. Thanks for your comments about the staff ---they are great!!
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Walk into the beautiful Grand Lobby and be ready for a Grand Getaway! Sarah welcomed us to the Choo Choo and even allowed us to choose the perfect train car for us. We did not meet one staff memeber who was not super nice! We parked our car and spent the next two days enjoying the grounds. We walked through the gardens, shopped in the shops, enjoyed a nice sandwhich in the Cafe, went swimming in the waterfall pool, relaxed in our cozy Garden Train Car, had wine and the most delicious ribeye steak in the Garden Restaurant, strolled the grounds, sat and admired the lobby, and ended the evening with an ice cream. Everyone should experience sleeping in a train car! Have been here in the 70s, 80s and now, 2012. Still GREAT!!! Take a break from life and have a Wonderful Time, Going Back in Time!

Room Tip: The front desk will help you completely! Our favorite is a train car (old but very nice, very clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RandellK_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChooChoo29, Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
5 stars-Great!!! Thank you for appreciating the history of the lobby; and going back in time. I am so glad you were able to visit all the venues and had great service and product. Thanks for your repeat business. Come back and see us again real soon!
Regards,
Jill Ellis
Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrollton, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Beautiful lobby but terrible odor of smoke. Checked in and went straight to our room. In the hallway ceiling the air conditioner was leaking so bad that water was heavily dripping - looked as though it was going to fall out of the ceiling. Hallways smelled of smoke and mildew. The room was like a really old, old Holiday Inn that had never been refurbished. In fact, the floors were so dirty we would not go barefoot - chair and ottoman in the room was worn, nasty - looked like someone brought it in from a dumpster - no way we would even sit on it. We were late for a wedding ceremony, so we had no choice but to get a shower and quickly leave for the wedding. The water in the tub would not drain (probably due to hair). After the wedding reception, we decided we could not bring ourselves to go back there and sleep on that bed. We gathered our belongings and checked out. The front desk attendant was very understanding and didn't even question our complaints. They were very nice and refunded 1/2 of our money because after all , we did have the room for a few hours and my husband used the shower. We are not the kind of people that have to stay at the "best or newest" hotels, but we do prefer them to be clean. The Choo Choo was far from cleanliness. We moved down the street to The Chattanoogan. Price was the same and the room was excellent. We would never recommend the Choo Choo to anyone. Too bad that such a cool, historic hotel has to be in such bad shape.

Room Tip: Best recommendation - DO NOT stay in one of the buildings. I've heard the train cars are nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
I’m sorry that we did not meet your expectations. I have reviewed your comments with the respective Department Heads, so that they can take corrective action. We take your comments very seriously and it is our opportunity to improve our product and service. There is no excuse for a room being dirty. We would have gladly moved you to another. We do make mistakes; we just want the opportunity to correct it. The room was inspected immediately following the guest comments. I am disappointed about your furniture comment. Our Capital plan is ongoing, as I have mentioned in a previous review. We have spent 3 million dollars in the last couple of years
I would be happy to speak with you about your visit.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.5 km away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#7 of 97 in Chattanooga
1,257 reviews
1.1 km away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
1.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.8 km away
Staybridge Suites Chattanooga Downtown
0.9 km away
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
#14 of 97 in Chattanooga
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chattanooga Choo Choo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chattanooga Choo Choo

Property: Chattanooga Choo Choo
Address: 1400 Market St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4489
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Price range (per night): $168 - $306
Hotel Class:3 star — Chattanooga Choo Choo 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the South's most renowned landmarks, the Chattanooga Choo Choo opened in 1909 and welcomed thousands of travelers during the Golden Age of railroads. Today, the 23 acre complex is a magnificently restored hotel resort for visitors of all ages. The Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel offers a variety of overnight accommodations, including the famous Victorian Era train rooms and luxurious suites. *Theme restaurants *Specialty shops *Authentic New Orleans trolley ride *Model railroad display *Convention Center *3 swimming pools *Tennis courts *Beautiful formal gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Preferred Hotels, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Chattanooga Choo Choo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo
Chattanooga Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing