We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Double Header was Amazing

Without knowing much about the rides offered by TVR, my family grabbed up the last remaining... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Drew F
,
Lynchburg, Virginia
Southern 4501 Can Make You Forget the World.

Spent 11/10 chasing the 4501 to Summerville. Great way to spend the day and experience the amazing... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
DuncantheSixth
,
Paris, Kentucky
via mobile
Read all 1,099 reviews
  
Reviews (1,099)
Filter reviews
1,093 results
Traveller rating
609
316
106
36
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
609
316
106
36
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train ride steam engine north pole repair shop grand junction dinner train local train longer ride love trains dining car rolling stock train buff passenger cars real train the polar express pullman car hour trip
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,093 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

Without knowing much about the rides offered by TVR, my family grabbed up the last remaining observation car tickets for one of the 9-hour day rides. Little did we know that we were not just going on a classic steam train ride, we were on what is called a "double header." This is when they hook up TWO steam engines to pull the train, which is a true rarity. They were running the train on both the Southern 4501 and 630 engines. The double header ride was an extremely unique experience.

The TVR museum is neat, but of course the rides are what you really need to come for. My family paid for the full deal on the 9-hour ride to Summerville, GA - observation car seating, two meals, and snacks included - and we were highly impressed. Breakfast on the train was one of the best meals I've ever had. The trip was smooth, owing to the highly skilled engineers and fire-men running the engines. Weather permitting, they will even let everyone off the train and do a full-speed run-by for photos.

One of the best parts of the trip was the highly knowledgeable staff on the cars. For the better part of the last hour of our ride, one of the porters sat in the car and gave us a great history of the engines, as well as very interesting details about how they run the engines and lots of other information we would not have even thought about asking for.

Train fans will love these rides. This is highly recommended if you are in the Chattanooga area!

Thank Drew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Spent 11/10 chasing the 4501 to Summerville. Great way to spend the day and experience the amazing power of a steam locomotive. This is a place to be treasured for rail-fans and history buffs!

Thank DuncantheSixth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent 3 days touring Chattanooga and decided to do this short train ride. It was nice, but just a bit too short and not much to see.

Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a great time riding the old train. lots of smoke and sounds. Got to see how the operation works and viewed lots of train equipment. Great day.

Thank ballumpire55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My wife and I went for 9 hour trip Chattanooga to Summerville Ga. We had a great time. We have took this trip 4 times and it gets better each time. I learned very interesting facts about train and area. Must do this if you get a chance. They have a great crew and that truly made trip.

Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We took the day trip from Chattanooga to Summerville on Sunday. The train follows a historic route from Grand Junction Station in Chattanooga to Summerville, Georgia; crossing the state line in Rossville, traveling past Chickamauga-Chattanooga National Military Park and through Chickamauga, Rock Spring, LaFayette, Trion, and into Summerville. The scenery is nice at some points and disappointing at others. The trees are starting to show the colors of fall which made the right nice. We stopped in Summerville and had the Sunday Special which was good! Afterwards we walked around until it was time to board the train to come back the other way. The town was quiet since it was a Sunday. The return ride was not as easy going because the train kept coming to a stop and the conductors had a time figuring out what the problem was. You have an option of purchasing food on the train or eating at the Train stop in Summerville. The trip is informative and worth the ride.

1  Thank Charmain D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Enjoyed the Missionary Ridge train ride, especially the turntable demo. Love learning these little bits of history. Be sure to enter the address in your GPS though, because if you just type in the name of the museum it'll take you to the wrong place!

Thank Nomad26869685173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My 5 year old had a blast! I would recommend this for anyone with children. The price was affordable and it is well thought out and planned. It is also not too long a ride. This is good with kids because their attention span is so short. There were picnic tables and a small museum. Had a great time!

2  Thank Paula Michel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A must do if you have never been on a train. It was fun and an experience. The train kind of had a weird smell to it though.

1  Thank KristenJ378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We took the all day train to Sommerville, Ga and ate lunch on the train. The lunch was very good and service was great. This train trip is not the Duragno-Silverton, but a fun thing to do nonetheless. Met a lot of nice people on the train. They even did a run by....we recommend this if you like steam trains.

Thank Buckeye017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews