We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good with A Few Reservations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Ranked #20 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very Good with A Few Reservations”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

The hotel is a refurbished older hotel. Rooms are clean but not super clean. Bathrooms are new with the standard granite countertops. Big negative was the awful selection of TV channels, basically none. Also there was no in-room, which is a drawback to us. Hotel is on the very edge of downtown Chattanooga, not really within walking distance of anything. But that wasn't a bad thing. It's a quick drive to wherever you want to go downtown and we didn't find downtown parking to be a problem. Hotel is quiet. Breakfast is standard fare. There is a parking lot behind the hotel. We were not charged because we had a preferred HIE card. We liked the opportunity to stay near downtown at a reasonable rate and then explore the area. For that, this hotel more than met our needs.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cadp52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    111
    37
    13
    11
See reviews for
117
98
17
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oneonta, Alabama
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Great hotel, staff is very friendly. The breakfast was more than expected and was wonderful!! Rooms were very clean and nice!! Would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheermom1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeyward, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Stayed here on November 4 when we were in town for the Head of the Hooch. The hotel is close to the highway and located on a main street. We had a 4th floor room overlooking the street and didn't experience any street noise as others mentioned. Room was spacious and clean and considering the amount of people staying at the hotel, it is was very quiet. Huge flat screen TV. Free WiFi in the room. Free breakfast was typical HEI fare. Food was fresh and plentiful. Hotel was kind enough to open breakfast a bit earlier than normal for those who had to get the Hooch event.

Staff is very friendly; however, evening desk clerk was not knowledgeable about local restaurants and couldn't recommend someplace for dinner when asked by a guest. Try Tony's Pasta in the Bluff View Arts District for a wonderful Italian meal.

As mentioned in other reviews the hotel is far enough away from downtown to require a car, but it's a very short drive. There's absolutely nothing to see near the hotel so if you're looking for a view, or someplace within walking distance to tourist attractions or restaurants, you'll need to stay elsewhere.

The only real issue I have with the hotel is the price gouging that occurred due to the Hooch event. During the summer the room was advertised at $109/night for November 4. By October all other hotels within a 30-mile radius were sold out and this hotel had increased their price for the same room to $267/night! Due to the price increase we redeemed Priority Club points. Room would have been well worth $109 but not $267. Lesson learned - book early!

Room Tip: if you're concerned about street noise, request a 4th floor room overlooking the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccr770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

The room was clean and the beds comfortable, but the room we stayed in had a clogged sink.

Also, the doors in the hall shook the whole hallway when people let them close. BAM!

Location was inconvenient for me, but would be very convenient for those working nearby or in for a meeting/conference.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WalkingBrownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

My fiancee and I wanted a quick getaway in February 2011 so we decided to stay at this Holiday Inn; it was the cheapest in the area and looked nice. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived and found the hotel to be modern and very clean. The staff was very friendly. We went again in November 2011 and enjoyed it then too.
The staff is friendly. The rooms are very nice and updated. I'm not sure when this hotel was originally built but it looks brand new. Very comfortable bed. Free WiFi. Its in a great location, close enough to downtown to avoid traffic, but far enough away to avoid all of the noise. You will have to drive to get to the downtown area (2 minutes). Parking is very scarce so bring your patience or get there early.

Room Tip: Holiday Inn's website guarantees the lowest price. I always search through Expedia/Travelocity a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
1.0 km away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#7 of 97 in Chattanooga
1,257 reviews
0.6 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
0.8 km away
SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Address: 440 W Martin Luther King Blvd, Chattanooga, TN 37402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
#27 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
Price range (per night): $181 - $264
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites in Chattanooga, Tennessee. Business and leisure travelers will appreciate Chattanooga, Tennessee hotel's newest downtown location with easy access to I-75, I-24 and US-27. We are within walking distance of the city center, and our Chattanooga hotel is near the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown Hotel Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Express Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing