We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely fantastic”
other travellers have booked this property
Cottage on the Croft in rural village - stunning views. Central heating  No oil or electric charg
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage on the Croft in rural village - stunning views. Central heating  No oil or electric charg
Living room with wood burner, leather sofas and loads of island based books. Bedroom with king size four poster bed.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Cottage on the Croft in rural village - stunning views. Central heating  No oil or electric charg
Living room with wood burner, leather sofas and loads of island based books.
Bedroom with king size four poster bed.
One of the two bedrooms with 2 single beds, all bedding and towels provided. Country cottage feel
Kitchen, dishwasher,home laundry, microwave, fridgefreezer - with your welcome pack on the table .
We have been awarded a Certificate of Excellence from Trip Advisor
We send you our tourist/vistor map and info pack to help you organise your holiday before you come
Sun set at Bosta Beach - golden sands - pure delight you will go far to find a more romantic spot.
Bosta daytime - site of Neolithic round houses 'Beaker Period' settlement
Iron age reconstructed earth house built on site of real iron age village site - still visible
The Bosta tidal bell - rings as tide come in and out very spooky esp at night.
Bosta beach bell close up
Two local cows think about going in for a dip!
This is the sea shore at the bottom of the croft great rock fishing. There is a rod in cottage.
The Bridge at Valasay walk over the Toab Loch an ideal location for seeing seals. Great rock fishing
The bridge to Bernera with its standing stones - There is also a Viking Mill and Fort on Bernera
Standing Stones of Bernera reflect the major stone circle  site at  Callanish ( 30 min drive)
Edge of the village looking back to Lewis
This is the view over to Little Bernera with its  deserted beach and old church yard. Boat trip.
Yet another Bernera fresh water loch. Fishing for trout on Bernera is great fun.
Bosta beach view over to Old Hill - golden sands ideal picnic spot. Iron age house opned in summer.
The Lewis Chessmen - Uig Beach - this is where the carved Viking chess set was discovered.
Cheer Up -Cheeky chops !!!!! this is the king - other wood carvings seen  at ferry and airport
Traffic congestion - Lewis style - no need to be in a hurry.
Statue to the herring girls of Stornoway who made Stornoway famous.
Lewis Castle  refurbishment in process -  hope to open next year.
Sunrise at cottage Feb 2015
Looking back to Lewis
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Great Bernera, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JudyMal
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed 16 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Booked this cottage through Holiday Lettings and the cottage lived up to all the previous reviews. Exceptionally clean and well appointed - it had absolutely everything that we needed and more. The welcome pack was a very thoughtful extra and very much appreciated. We were looking for somewhere quiet, that took the dog and had a short let - this was perfect! The cottage is situated in Hacklete, and was exactly what we were looking for - beautiful scenery and somewhere quiet. We found it easy enough to visit all the attractions that Lewis has to offer. Would highly recommend this property and will hopefully manage another visit next year. Thanks Calum. - hope to meet you next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Met all our expectations
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeighJ197...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage in ideal location”
Reviewed 19 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed here for two weeks and it was an ideal base for exploring Lewis. The cottage itself was modern, well-equipped and very cosy, in a good spot with lovely views. It was extremely good value too. Thanks to Calum for the welcome pack before we arrived which helped us plan our holiday. The extras and welcome basket on arrival were a nice surprise too. Our highlights were walking to Tobson and back, Bosta beach, Abhainn Dearg distillery, Callanish Stones at sunset, Uig Sands, Reef beach, coffee at Hacklete community cafe and lunch at Loch Croistean. We also were lucky enough to go to St Kilda with Seatrek (it took 4 attempts as the weather was bad so we felt so lucky to get there). Wonderful team at Seatrek and the island was amazing. The trip round the sea stacks and Boreray was breathtaking. We ventured further south to Harris one dayand enjoyed the drive south from Tarbert on the rocky, windy roads down to Rodel before heading back round to Luskentyre Beach. Believe everything you have heard about this beach - it is stunning. We loved everything about our trip - the cottage, the people, the scenery, the whole island. Can we come and live there?!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATF2013
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Stay!”
Reviewed 30 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Everything we were looking for. Off the beaten track but still close enough to the delights of Lewis. Beaches and walks nearby which the kids loved. The house is very well equiped and spacious and we would love to stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Carnoustie
Reviewed 13 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing