We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“great chill-out location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of TIGH A CHAOLAIS

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Surrounding coastline
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Great Bernera, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
cookiebev
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great chill-out location”
Reviewed 5 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

very helpful owners - many thanks for the loan of binoculars to watch the nesting golden eagles - an unexpected delight! Cottage very well equipped but do shop before you go -a long way from anywhere and nowhere to eat nearby,
very scenic location but not as secluded as we would have liked due to the passing traffic heading to Bosta beach and the building of a new house next door.
Overall we were chilled out and relaxed which is just what we wanted.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laylasuns...
2 reviews
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 13 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

This cottage has been a home away from home for our visit to Lewis. We did not want to leave and wish we had booked for a longer trip! Cosy, warm, clean, immaculately appointed and lovingly decorated - perfect for our family holiday with 21 month old daughter and dog. We were presented on arrival with a welcome box including homemade shortbread and wine - thank you! Many sunny al fresco lunches in the garden (a sun trap) and cosy evenings spent after a day exploring this stunning island. Bosta Beach, a short walk over the beautiful hilltops is stunning, with golden eagles, seals, rabbits, long horned sheep and Hebridean cattle for company! We even saw the glow of the Aurora after dark. It’s been a truly magical visit and we hope to return. The cottage is, simply, perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deb0rahb6...
Windermere, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful, peaceful location & wonderfully historic cottage”
Reviewed 9 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Our first trip to Outer Hebrides didn't disappoint. What a stunning location and made all the better by this lovely house. Stylish, comfortable with every facility you'd need. A scant walk to Bosta Beach where we experienced a golden eagle flying low above our heads and amazing white sands
Great Bernera disclosed fascinating history - bridge adjoining to Lewis ... inspiration for 007 ... London singer migrated to this very house (and was lovely to see pictures of her and read about her story)
All in all, a great house and a great holiday

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2018
So glad you enjoyed your stay, hope we'll see you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Wonderful House in a wonderful location!”
Reviewed 4 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We had a wonderful week at Tigh a Chaolais. A very roomy house for all our family. The views are amazing over to Little Bernera. And with the stunning Bosta Beach a short walk away we enjoyed some fabulous days here. Stornoway is only about 45mins drive if you need to visit the shops. Whilst in Stornoway we said hello to the seals in the harbour thanks to Iain's helpful tips.

Iain and Karina are excellent hosts leaving a lovely welcome basket with some delicious homemade shortbread. The house is very clean and tidy and is ideal for a large family or group of friends. Not forgetting the dog who just loved the beach and the freedom.

There are so many things to see and do in the outer hebrides. We enjoyed our visit to the Harris Distillery. The Harris Gin is fantastic we just had to get a bottle or two to bring home.

We found all the people of these islands very friendly and helpful.

We look forward to our return.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2018
Thanks for your lovely comments, so glad you enjoyed your stay at Tigh A Chaolais. Hope you will visit again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing