We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
156
15
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
15
4
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews red cliffs other guests prince edward island wonderful hosts at home sunrise and sunset wonderful place local ingredients dirt road great cook great conversation off the beaten path oysters great food spectacular views second floor in addition
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 178 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2017

While many places can boast of beautiful scenery and wonderful meals, Johnson’s Shore Inn is the rare place that can add to that with truly outstanding customer service. We had many contacts with both Dave and Melanie while planning a trip to PEI and they were unfailingly pleasant, helpful and accommodating every single time. We will definitely be planning another trip!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank bkbuhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

The Johnson Shore Inn is located on the northeastern shore of Prince Edward Island. If you're coming by car from New Brunswick or Nova Scotia, you can cross the Northumberland Strait via the Confederation Bridge to the west or the ferry to the east. The last leg follows a dirt driveway from the Northside Road (#16) that is almost a mile long. (Google Maps instructed us to turn down Shore Road, which is a bit to the west. Fortunately, the emailed instructions made note of this.)

Arriving by day, you'll be greeted by an expansive panorama of the Gulf of St. Lawrence, with the inn on the right and a large parking area on the left.

The Inn: The building is relatively new and very clean. In addition to guest rooms, the ground floor comprises a comfortable lounge, an ample dining area with tables that accommodate two or more people, a bathroom, and kitchen.

Our second floor room afforded a view of the sunset over the gulf each evening. It was well-appointed with a comfortable queen-sized bed (plus a smaller bed that we didn't use), seating, and furnishings. Like the rest of the facilities, the bathroom was very tidy, and the shower was excellent.

There was no television in the room or common areas by design. The inn does offer free Wi-Fi, so you may be able to stream video. Our cell signal was marginal at best, though that may vary by carrier. We were able to make and receive calls most days, however. The lack of TV and the inn's location made for a very peaceful, secluded visit.

Hospitality: Mell and Dave were welcoming hosts, eager to please and offer information about PEI and chat about topics in general. Wizzie (a nickname), a wonderful woman who works at the inn, was delightful. Daily breakfasts were excellent. We also took advantage of dinner on four evenings—we'd read about Mell's cooking prowess, and we weren't disappointed.

Location: You'll have to drive or bike to get anywhere on PEI, but we didn't mind the driving because the island is so picturesque. Souris, on the south shore, was only about 20 minutes away by car.

It's about 200 feet from the front door of the inn to the cliff's edge about 30 feet or so above the rocky shoreline below. (There apparently is a beach within walking distance, but we didn't visit it.) The reddish hues made for spectacular vistas at sunrise and sunset.

Overal: We were very pleased and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rads53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Dave and Mell are wonderful hosts. You just can't get any better. The amazing food, the conversations, the information on the history and happenings on the island. The entire inn is so clean and welcoming. The views from every room and the sunsets are breath taking. You will not be disappointed with your experience here. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Shelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

We wanted something away from the commercial tourist places and what a find.
If you crave for small expectations with huge results then you found it.
Clean , charming with wide open scenery and great owners.
If you have special needs with food and stuff stay home. If your a free spirited person with a sense of adventure then this is the spot.
Huge favorite and will stay again in the future.
Worth the expense and the memories are priceless.

Cheers

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jailhouse b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

Don't make the mistake we made, and only book one night. You will surely leave wishing for more!
Isolated and remote, the Inn is situated on a grassy site, bordered by ocean cliffs. There's a nearly 180 degree view of the ocean, and with open windows, the sound of the sea is part of the beauty of the Inn. This is a relatively new building, and therefore the design is comfortable and unlike some older inns that feel small and dark.
We stayed in the Sunset room, and indeed the view of the sunset was glorious. This room was very comfortable, and met all of our needs. The bed was cozy and the room had storage and seating that made us feel comfortable. The room and bathroom was very clean and well appointed.
The food-- oh my! Don't pass up Mell's dinner. We had chicken stuffed with spinach and goat cheese that was magnificent. The meal started with a salad that could have been a meal on its own, full of the freshest vegetables and topped with nuts and what tasted like homemade dressing. Even though we were groaning with our meal, it was impossible to pass up on her coconut cream pie, all made from scratch. I waved off the ice cream that accompanied the pie, but stole a taste from my husband, and it, too was divine. Breakfast the next morning was equally delicious, we had our choice of items, and selected the smoked salmon omelet. The flavors were perfection, and I don't think I've ever had such good bacon alongside. Plenty of coffee, tea, juice to accompany the meal.
The best part of a great (except for being much too short) stay was the people. Get to the cocktail hour! We met some wonderful people with interesting stories. Two couples were long term friends of Dave and Mell (but who didn't know each other), others were Americans and Canadians on vacation. This was like getting together with a group of friends at a fabulous host's home, and having a genuinely wonderful time. It was fun to move on to dinner with them, and to explore outside the Inn, and to see them over breakfast.
Mell and Dave are certainly professional, but they allow their own personality and love for hosting shine through. We paid our lodging bill and left, but not until Mell had hugged us goodbye. I hope we can get back again!
Just a tip for Americans- it is more common to remove your shoes when you enter a home than it is in America. You'll be very comfortable padding around the Inn in your bare feet!

Room Tip: I would think every room is great. The sunset room faces the ocean on two sides.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank right1tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews