We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Johnson Shore Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Johnson Shore Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hermanville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at The Johnson Shore Inn. Mell and Dave are very welcoming hosts. We enjoyed a magnificent sunset on the front porch and had a nice chat with other guests as well as the hosts. The room was very clean and the house is super cozy. We had a nice breakfast cooked by Mell and Dave with an incredible view on the shore. Feels like home! We would definitely come back and recommend to friends and family!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Géraldine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2017

While many places can boast of beautiful scenery and wonderful meals, Johnson’s Shore Inn is the rare place that can add to that with truly outstanding customer service. We had many contacts with both Dave and Melanie while planning a trip to PEI and they were unfailingly pleasant, helpful and accommodating every single time. We will definitely be planning another trip!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank bkbuhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

The Johnson Shore Inn is located on the northeastern shore of Prince Edward Island. If you're coming by car from New Brunswick or Nova Scotia, you can cross the Northumberland Strait via the Confederation Bridge to the west or the ferry to the east. The last leg follows a dirt driveway from the Northside Road (#16) that is almost a mile long. (Google Maps instructed us to turn down Shore Road, which is a bit to the west. Fortunately, the emailed instructions made note of this.)

Arriving by day, you'll be greeted by an expansive panorama of the Gulf of St. Lawrence, with the inn on the right and a large parking area on the left.

The Inn: The building is relatively new and very clean. In addition to guest rooms, the ground floor comprises a comfortable lounge, an ample dining area with tables that accommodate two or more people, a bathroom, and kitchen.

Our second floor room afforded a view of the sunset over the gulf each evening. It was well-appointed with a comfortable queen-sized bed (plus a smaller bed that we didn't use), seating, and furnishings. Like the rest of the facilities, the bathroom was very tidy, and the shower was excellent.

There was no television in the room or common areas by design. The inn does offer free Wi-Fi, so you may be able to stream video. Our cell signal was marginal at best, though that may vary by carrier. We were able to make and receive calls most days, however. The lack of TV and the inn's location made for a very peaceful, secluded visit.

Hospitality: Mell and Dave were welcoming hosts, eager to please and offer information about PEI and chat about topics in general. Wizzie (a nickname), a wonderful woman who works at the inn, was delightful. Daily breakfasts were excellent. We also took advantage of dinner on four evenings—we'd read about Mell's cooking prowess, and we weren't disappointed.

Location: You'll have to drive or bike to get anywhere on PEI, but we didn't mind the driving because the island is so picturesque. Souris, on the south shore, was only about 20 minutes away by car.

It's about 200 feet from the front door of the inn to the cliff's edge about 30 feet or so above the rocky shoreline below. (There apparently is a beach within walking distance, but we didn't visit it.) The reddish hues made for spectacular vistas at sunrise and sunset.

Overal: We were very pleased and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rads53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Dave and Mell are wonderful hosts. You just can't get any better. The amazing food, the conversations, the information on the history and happenings on the island. The entire inn is so clean and welcoming. The views from every room and the sunsets are breath taking. You will not be disappointed with your experience here. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Shelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

We wanted something away from the commercial tourist places and what a find.
If you crave for small expectations with huge results then you found it.
Clean , charming with wide open scenery and great owners.
If you have special needs with food and stuff stay home. If your a free spirited person with a sense of adventure then this is the spot.
Huge favorite and will stay again in the future.
Worth the expense and the memories are priceless.

Cheers

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jailhouse b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Johnson Shore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnson Shore Inn

Address: 9984 Northside Rd - Rte 16 | Hermanville, RR #3 Souris, Hermanville, Prince Edward Island PE COA 2BO, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Hermanville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanville
Price Range: $146 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Johnson Shore Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular views of the Gulf of St. Lawrence, comfortable en-suite rooms and delicious local fare served in our licensed dining room. Full hot or cold breakfast for guests. Secluded but close to Souris and many local attractions including deep sea tuna fishing charters, golf and the Magdalene Island ferry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Johnson Shore Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing