We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveller rating
155
15
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
15
4
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews red cliffs other guests prince edward island wonderful hosts at home sunrise and sunset wonderful place local ingredients dirt road great cook great conversation off the beaten path oysters great food spectacular views second floor in addition
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 177 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2017

Had a really great three days on Prince Edward Island at the Johnson Shore Inn run by gracious hosts Melanie and David who love their B&B and their guests! Reserve early as it's quite popular with wonderful scenic views, nicely quiet surrounds away from it all, and delicious dinners upon request by your hosts. PEI is about 150 miles long so if you want to drive to other places it'll take a little while. We just stayed put mostly and read, drove a moderate way to see a working yarn mill complete with sheep, and Mary knitted. Our room was very clean, tidy, quiet, with comfortable beds, and it had everything, especially a wide view of the vast greenery of the "backyard", water and shore. The other guests sharing the time we spent at the Inn were great company as well as we discovered while chatting with them over breakfast and during happy hour. Some mosquitoes are out during the evening and the hosts provide repellent. Sunrises and sunsets are to be experienced! And if you want to know the temperature outside, just "dress for perfect"! Three days is too short! We'll be back!

Room Tip: Our room #5 had a queen bed and a single bed.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edgar I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

Location is peaceful and pictorial. Our room was clean and cozy. It was lovely to feel the sea breeze when we opened our room windows, see the starry sky at night after sunset and wake up when birds started to sang.

Dinner was nicely prepared and tasted fresh. We wished to try the legendary pies we have been seeing in other travelers pictures, but still enjoyed the sweet strawberries.

The hosts were easy to approach and friendly. Our overall experience was pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marc-Andre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

We spent four nights at this delightful spot and highly recommend it, although guests should be aware that it is somewhat remote and if you plan to tour much of PEI, it requires some driving. However, it is worth the driving time. Johnson Shore Inn is located cliffside on the southeastern shore of PEI, somewhat close to Souris and East Point, but not really close to anything, which is part of its attraction. The inn itself it very nice, well-maintained, open, light and airy. We were in Room 11, but Room 12 looked like it might be a little larger, particularly in the bath. The accommodations were excellent--good beds and very clean. The location itself is very pretty--the ocean is probably 50 meters away and the ocean breezes were refreshing. I have some great photographs of the shoreline and particularly of the beautiful sunsets.

The hosts, Mel and Dave, add to the overall experience; they were great. Breakfasts were amazing, and I recommend booking the dinners in the evening as well--they matched any restaurant on the island and also provided an excellent opportunity to meet other guests.

I don't know when we may return to PEI, but I won't even look at other B&Bs--this one just can't be beat.

Room Tip: Most rooms are upstairs. Rooms with a west view have a lot of sun, but good breezes.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank WTexTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

Mel and Dave are wonderful hosts and lovely people! We enjoyed them as much as the incredible scenery! We recommend adding on the optional dinners at the Inn if your agenda allows, especially if Mel is making a pie!

Room Tip: our corner room had windows onto the ocean from two sides, and was bright and airy
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ziggyowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017

My goal of travelling was to touch the ocean and explore a little bit more of the world. This seaside inn was the perfect location to do this. I was able to walk along the ocean cliffs, watch beautiful sun rises and sunsets, and explore the surrounding areas. Mel and Dave were the perfect hosts; they were very welcoming, provided amazing food, great conversation and a wonderful experience overall. I'm glad that I chose to stay at the Johnson Shore Inn; it was better than I imagined.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank Christina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews