We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a worthwhile trip”
Review of Contoy Adventures

Contoy Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 115.00*
and up
Contoy Eco-Adventure
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This island nature reserve is home to 100 species of birds, including pelicans.
Reviewed 10 May 2018

If you are staying near a half decent beach, this trip isn't worth your time or money.
If you are staying on Isla Mujeres this trip is a complete waste of your time.
If you are staying in a concrete jungle, with no access to the beach, you will probably really enjoy this trip.

Better and cheaper trip - Spend the day or a few days on Isla Mujeres.

Good - Lunch is nice, staff are friendly and helpful

Bad - The trip takes all day but you will only be on the island for 2 hours max.
The part of the island accessible to your is extremely small, the 'tour' will last 10minutes after which time you will be able to eat lunch and sit on the beach (which is less impressive than Playa Norte on Isla Mujeres).
Lots of waiting around - You will spend several hours waiting for other people to arrive for the tour, get back, get ready etc.. lots of faffing.
Snorkeling is not guaranteed. And you'll need your own gear.
You'll get an hour on Isla Mujeres but this is just enough time to walk to the beach take a photo and return.

Date of experience: May 2018
4  Thank TravelW0rkTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (962)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"frigate birds"
in 31 reviews
"hermit crabs"
in 30 reviews
"boat ride"
in 42 reviews
"national park"
in 20 reviews
"staying on isla mujeres"
in 4 reviews
"mosquito repellent"
in 5 reviews
"sun screen"
in 5 reviews
"ocean tours"
in 6 reviews
"white sand"
in 6 reviews
"tour company"
in 6 reviews
"underwater camera"
in 4 reviews
"wildlife"
in 41 reviews
"asterix"
in 12 reviews
"captain"
in 35 reviews
"nature"
in 28 reviews
"reef"
in 42 reviews
"cancun"
in 81 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 962 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2018

The boat ride was great and saw many turtles on the way, the lunch was good and the beach is calm; but so is the beach at the hotel. Now for the bad and there is plenty. The ride from the hotel to the dock took an hour with several stops; no time for breakfast which was included in the price. No running water on the boat or island. The snorkeling was mediocre - hardly any fish. On the way back it was pouring and they insisted to stop in Isla Mujeres and required (forced) us to leave the boat and go shopping. Seriously! The ride back to the hotel was over an hour with stops out of the way and unfortunately, I was the last drop. Unless you are hippies or tree huger, Isla Contoy is not the tour. Save your money.

Date of experience: April 2018
4  Thank Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

Interesting, educational, and enjoyable - what a fantastic day we had with the crew of Contoy Adventures. Lead by Alex, we explored the reef (a thankfully tranquil day to snorkel) and had an interesting hour tour of the island. Lunch was great and more than plentiful. Highly recommend Contoy Adventures!

Date of experience: April 2018
2  Thank Marty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018

We booked our tour and went 2 days later -- a beautiful hot calm day. The tour included snorkeling, and an hour stop in Isla Mujeres. The snorkeling was mediocre at best and it was a keep up with me venture, to get to the coral where there were a few fish to see. Isla Mujeres is not much more than a tourist trap, but the crew bought the fish which was baked for our meal at Contoy Island and was delicious!!
Now Contoy Island is spectacular -- the number of tourist to the island are limited each day and we were the last boat to arrive. Very crowded and busy when we arrived. Our guide took us on a short walk to a viewpoint with great views, along the way speaking of the flora & fauna. After which we walked to a lagoon area, the frigate birds breeding grounds, once again the guide was very informative.
We had a bit of beach time, then we were called for our lunch. Delicious and the fish cooked to perfection!! It was delicious, lots for all and no rush to push everyone through. The hermit crabs are everywhere and was entertaining to watch while we ate.
Then we had about 2.5 hr. of beach time -- the other tour groups had left and we had the whole beach to ourselves -- was wonderful. The sand is pure white, blue skies and hot sun -- what more could you want?
This island is a treasure and will go again, given the opportunity.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank panbk4g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

Contoy is so worth a visit. The boat over was realy rough on the day we went but once we got there I totally forgot that because Contoy will take your breath away. The birds are amazing and the beach but the sea was the star of the show... Totally clear.. Saw fish crabs starfish and a stingray which literally sat in front of our daughter in law for minutes whilst we just stood and enjoyed the moment. Going back was so much better as the waves were with us. Adam our guide was great. Great day out!!

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank bobmonEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Contoy Adventures also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Contoy Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing