We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Mixed feelings on location and facility” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Spearfish

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Spearfish
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Spearfish
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
203 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings on location and facility”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2010

On the one hand it was a good location. Easy access to Spearfish Canyon. Well placed for visits to Northern Black Hills and entrance to Black Hills if coming from North Dakota or Devi's Tower. On the other hand it was on a VERY busy cross road and we heard big trucks and motorcycles starting at 5am. I should have gotten a clue when the desk clerk mentioned that she was putting us in the front of the hotel. If you stay here...ask for a back facing room. Breakfast area was small and the offerings typical. Our room was not the cleanest we have stayed in but OK. Value was OK but not a real deal. Major beef with this and many hotels is...When you say hang your towel and we will leave it there because we are going green....leave it there. I think you could do better. I wouldn't tell someone not to stay there but I wouldn't highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    47
    28
    10
    7
See reviews for
38
46
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Regina SK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2010

First, they 'lost' one reserved room & one couple had to scramble to find somewhere else. Rates were higher than quoted when I phoned, even though clerk who checked us in was the same one I reserved with. Asked for manager Joan Gerken (I think) several times but she was never there & never called us if she was ever in (July 4th weekend & no manager?). Rooms were poorly cleaned, mold around tub, coffee in sink, hair all over bathroom floor, musty smell. Breakfast was fair Sunday AM but after that was sparse - no yogurt, no breakfast sandwiches, no butter, no bread. WiFi hardly ever worked. We stayed here years ago & it was fine but service has really gone downhill, management obviously couldn't care less, we only stayed because we had activities planned & all other hotels were full.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyDriver2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Spearfish hotels

Michigan
Level Contributor
257 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 565 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2010

My husband and I stayed here one night in June 2010 using points. This hotel is right next to a gas station and a Walmart is very close as well. There were also restaurants near by. There was a small pool and whirlpool, but we didn’t use either. Our room was large and the sink was separate from the toilet and shower/tub, which was nice because most Fairfields aren’t set up like that. There was a coffee maker in the room, but no minifridge or microwave. Internet access was free.
Our room was nice with a typical Marriott décor. The breakfast area was small with not many seats and the breakfast food selection was small, but typical for a Fairfield. There was bread, bagels, donuts, and cereals.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lithlith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2010

Fairfield Inn & Suites are a bit of a misnomer. For some reason FI&S decided not to make real suites. They're large rooms with a "separate" living room that's only divided by a half wall. Why they decided to do this instead of making a true suit is beyond me. So if you've got little ones, forget playing cards or watching tv in the other room and not keeping them up.

That said, having stayed in them all over the country, they're either kept up really well or they're a pretty new hotel chain. This one was clean, friendly, and like all Fairfield Inn & Suites, their breakfast absolutely cannot be beaten for a free breakfast: hard boiled eggs, oatmeal, yogurt, cereal, toast, "make it yourself" waffles right off the griddle, fruit, coffee, juices, etc. And the atmosphere is great.

The pool was also very clean and the perfect temperature.

Other than the "non-suites", my only other gripe about this particular chain was that we left a few clothing items on the bed and came back to a note saying that, due to the personal items left on the bed, they were unable to make them. ??? It was a hand written note and seemed a bit odd to me, but whatever.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia beach
Level Contributor
124 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2010

great value and good location even though i seemed to hear the roar of motorcyles all night long...would stay away from this area during the sturgis week unless you like your eardrums blown out...good breakfast that is typical of fairfield inn.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelvirginiabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spearfish hotels
3.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge
0.2 km away
Hampton Inn Spearfish
Hampton Inn Spearfish
#4 of 14 in Spearfish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Spearfish - Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Spearfish
0.6 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Spearfish
0.1 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 14 in Spearfish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Spearfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Spearfish

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Spearfish
Address: 2720 1st Ave, Spearfish, SD 57783-3211
Region: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Spearfish
Price range (per night): $112 - $201
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Spearfish 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Spearfish reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Spearfish Hotel Spearfish
Fairfield Spearfish
Spearfish Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing