We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a small museum”
Review of Museum of Geology

Museum of Geology
Ranked #8 of 70 things to do in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: We are a natural history museum featuring an excellent displays of South Dakota fossils, minerals from around the world and South Dakota Minerals.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Stairs / lift
LC
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Ok for a small museum”
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We were touring the School of the mines college open house so time was limited.
For what it was seemed ok.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank retired27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    63
    14
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, wi
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Interesting free stop! Kids enjoyed it too”
Reviewed 24 August 2011

If you are into rocks and fossilss, this is the place for you. There are some impressive skeletons and many great rocks. Well marked,and cheap souviniers. Kids -8 & 13- both got something out of this

Helpful?
3 Thank smileyface21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“AWESOME! KNOWLEDGEABLE STAFF! CHEAPER PRICES ON MERCHANDISE!”
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Visited with two senior citizens, two young adults, four kids aged 2, 8, 9 and 11. All had a great time. The 2 year old did get a little bored at the end.

This place is a diamond in the rough. It's not so touristy and is educational and fun. It's a win win.

Girl in the gift shop knew her stuff. Fascinating to learn about rocks, fossils and everything else geology related.

No pictures allowed inside, but I should have at least taken one outside.

Could use some signs showing you how to get there...but that would probably lead to tourists and ruin it.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank sarandan98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi C, Manager at Museum of Geology, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
sarandan98,
Thank you for your wonderful review. We strive to provide the best possible service to our visitors. I do regret that you did not take any photos as photography is allowed in the Museum exhibit hall. You can access pictures we have on our website if you would like to have some for an album or scrapbook. We apologize for the lack of directional signage to the Museum. It is something we are striving to fix so more visitors can enjoy the Museum.
Thank you,
Heidi Carr
Program Assistant I
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun family tour with interesting rocks and fossils”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Our family of 5 really enjoyed this tour. It was free and while it was only one floor, there were a large number of very interesting rocks and fossils. It is a little difficult to find as there weren't many signs showing where it is.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank mshutes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very informative, interesting and free!!”
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Really nice museum with lots of fossils and cool rocks! Not touristy, interesting for my husband and I as well as our kids (6 & 8). Great free way to spend an hour or so, although you might want to leave a donation--it's simple but very quality. On the School of Mines campus.

Helpful?
4 Thank Travelmamacita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum of Geology also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Geology? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing