We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Piece of Norway right in my backyard!”

Chapel in the Hills
Ranked #6 of 70 things to do in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Chapel is now closed for the season. We hope to see you May 1st when we open for 2017! Replica of the 850-year-old Borgund Church in Norway and has unique architecture and woodcarvings.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Piece of Norway right in my backyard!”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This tiny little Norwegian church is just like my ancestors would have used back in Scandavia. Hand carved wood (everything is handcarved) and a sod roof make this a must see on your trip to Rapid City. It is a functioning church with seasonal services in the warmer months and a gift shop where you can purchase scandanavian treats and information about the history of the location and of the people that built it.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank glarson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    123
    30
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Something to see!”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I thought it was pretty neat - such an intricate building.

Helpful?
Thank blackhillslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rapid city, sd
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“small church”
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Nice to see if you have a few minutes to kill.....

Helpful?
Thank rpdmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molalla, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wedding”
Reviewed 2 November 2011

My brother got married here. It is a great little place up in the hills and the chapel is amazing. They were very professional and did a nice little service for my brother and his wife.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A piece of Norway in South Dakota”
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Located just west of Rapid City, this trip was worth the bit out of our way. It is an exact replication of a Stave Church in Norway. I have been to a similar church in Norway and I wanted my husband to see what one was like, since their locations (in Norway) are not on the beaten tourist path. Besides the church, there was a typical Norwegian grain house which housed a small, pleasant gift shop with items from Scandinavia, Finnland and local. There is also a log cabin, typical of the type built both in Norway and also in SD by the immigrants. This cabin housed a small museum collection of life on the frontier. There is also a prayer walk in the woods. There is no charge to visit, but a free-will donation is encouraged. There was a couple answering questions and they were very knowlegable about the attraction. I would recommend Chapel in the Hills for those of Scandinavian heritage and those interested in Western US history. I don't think it is well suited for children under about 8 years old.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank fraufrieda20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chapel in the Hills also viewed

 

Been to Chapel in the Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing