We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Highlight of our Trip to the West!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Philip
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Triangle Ranch Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Philip B&B and Inns
Portland, ME
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A Highlight of our Trip to the West!”
Reviewed 8 October 2010

I found the Triangle Ranch on Trip Advisor and it was a total hit with my husband and the friends with whom we were traveling. I won't repeat what others have accurately stated, except to emphasize that Lyndy's dinner and breakfast were delicious and we all enjoyed our chats with her and her husband, Kenny, from whom we got a real sense of the challenges of ranching, life in the west,etc. They are great people and stewards of a classic Sears kit house. We really felt we were staying in their home as guests. Lyndy has renovated with a light, just-right touch, not with over-the-top decorating. Perfect! A bit out f the way, but well worth it, in an idyllic setting in rolling ranchland. Don't miss the Minuteman Missile Site on the way out of the area...

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldmayor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
44
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waconia, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2010

Just home from our third stay at Triangle Ranch and I already want to go back!
Our first stay was just me and the kids. If you want a vacation where all your kids can do is roam through beautiful prairies, look for rocks in the river bed, pet the horses and just do "nothing" with you then this ranch is a must! We came home with so many stories, my husband said he needed to go too. A year later we went back and received a big hug from Lyndy. Several hours later my husband was napping on a blanket in the grass and my kids were happy on the old swings and teeter-totter!
Kenny and Lyndy make their guests feel like family better than any place we've stayed. Lyndy's large breakfasts and home-cooked meals are always wonderful. But beware, you'll be tempted to sit at the dining room table for hours visiting and listening to Kenny's many ranching stories! We've stayed in the home and in the Carriage House and both are very comfortable, well-appointed and clean!
Because they are miles down a gravel road (sometimes you have to get the cows off the road) there are no other homes to be seen or noises to be heard except for peace and quiet! Needless to say we highly recommend this place - our last visit was just to take friends to meet Kenny and Lyndy and experience their place; after all, we couldn't let our friends go by themselves because we'd be jealous!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbsiewert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2010

We stayed for 2 nights in August. It is fairly far out on a gravel road, but it was definitely worth it. The house is lovely, the hosts are welcoming, the rooms, although small, are charmingly decorated, and the beds (we stayed in Mathilda's room) were very comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious and the table was set beautifully with china. Consider making arrangements for dinner, especially if you are staying there on a Sunday, as there is really nowhere to eat nearby that is open on Sunday. We didn't realize that we could make arrangements to have dinner at the ranch (our fault) and had to make do with bologna sandwiches that we picked up at a gas station. The other night we ate prime rib at a steakhouse in Kadoka which was excellent, however I would suggest you make arrangements for dinner at the ranch. Lyndy is an excellent cook. At breakfast we had delicious muffins and a wonderful omelet. My husband picked that breakfast as his "best breakfast" of our week vacation (we stayed at three bed and breakfasts).

The home is spotlessly clean, steeped in history, and Lyndy and Kenny are happy to tell you all about it. One evening we sat and chatted with them and enjoyed Lyndy's wonderful chocolate cake and ice cream. They are most welcoming and friendly people.

I would highly recommend this b&b and would definitely return if I was in the area.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank damselfly_lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2010

The story about the house was so interesting. We were glad to have had dinner with them so that we could enjoy Kenny's humor while partaking of Lyndy's wonderful home cooking. Being raised on a farm myself, it was like going home. A small nightstand or small table in Esther's room would have been nice. Otherwise, it was fantastic. You can't top Kenny & Lyndy as B&B hosts.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCM41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

After following Ken's excellent directions down a service road and across several miles of gravel road, we could not have been more pleased to find this beautiful, welcoming b & b with its friendly hosts at the end of the drive.

When we arrived we were a little concerned about dinner arrangements since we had been travelling all day and this place is a little off the beaten path. No problem, said Lyndy, and in no time she had whipped up a dinner of home-bred steaks, salad, potatoes, and delicious chocolate cake which we shared at their dining room table as though we had known each other for years.

During dinner we were entertained by Ken's ranching and rodeo stories. The bedrooms were immaculate, furnished with family photos and heirlooms. Breakfast was delicious, and we were sorry to leave after only one night.

Triangle Ranch was one of the very best overnight stays we experienced during our recent five-week cross-country trip, and although it's a little hard to find, it's impossible to beat for a warm welcome and gracious accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rjh74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philip
36.9 km away
Best Western Plains Motel
23.1 km away
Americas Best Value Inn
26.8 km away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.1 km away
America's Best Value Inn
18.5 km away
Budget Host Sundowner
Budget Host Sundowner
#2 of 6 in Kadoka
62 reviews
37.0 km away
Travelodge Wall
Travelodge Wall
#9 of 11 in Wall
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Triangle Ranch Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Triangle Ranch Bed & Breakfast

Property: Triangle Ranch Bed & Breakfast
Address: 23950 Recluse Rd, Philip, SD 57567-7114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Philip
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Philip
Price range (per night): $112 - $151
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing