We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveller rating
83
65
26
27
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
83
65
26
27
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river off season south dakota convention center the wait staff restaurant service great weekend hot tub we've stayed pheasant hunt well taken care business meeting great room indoor pool nice place to stay black hills room was clean and comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 223 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2016

During a statewide education conference this property had only one staff person working the desk. After a long wait to check in the staff person was insistent that I didn't have a reservation. When I showed the digital copy of the confirmation sent by the hotel on Saturday for a Monday reservation she informed me that the reservation had been canceled on Sunday. She stated that it was a problem because they were booked full. Eventually she found a room for us at their Ranch Resort across the street, but the discounted room did not compare to the riverside room for which we had a reservation. The knobs on the air conditioner didn't work, and there was no phone in the room. For the money paid it was a great disappointment.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jeanine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Stayed 6/24 - 6/26. Pros: Great location for water sports. The service staff (in the restaurants and bar were great.

Cons: The reservations were screwed up. The resort is in need of a lot of work and maintenance, inside and out. I assume this was a very nice property at some point, but now appears have fallen victim to years of deferred maintenance. We were in a 1 bedroom suite on the main floor. Nice layout, but the room was pretty dirty, lots of bugs in the unit (spiders, some sort of winged things, some sort of bug under the sheet of the pull out bed in the sofa, etc.), the chain lock at the entry door had been removed and had not been replaced, there was a missing picture from the bedroom wall, but they left the mounting hardware and you could see the faded outline of what had been there, the screen on the bedroom window was torn out of the corner so there was no way to open the window in the room without getting even more bugs, the tub spigot leaked constantly, the first night we opened the sofa sleeper it was apparent the sheets had not been changed and were stained - upon further inspection the stain was due to the pile of Doritos that had been left under the fitted sheet - a clear indication the sheets had not been changed prior to our arrival, the indoor pool and hot tub appeared to be much like large Petri dishes.

Lastly, don't use a debit card for your payment or incidentals. They will run a pre-authorization for the actual amount of your reservation, plus $50, then run the actual charge amount again at checkout. The pre-authorization amount can remain unavailable until the resort releases it, which I was told can take up to 7 business days.

Room tip: Avoid the "hillside" and opt for the "river side".
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank johngalt2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2016

We stopped here on the way home from the black hills. Very nice accommodations but the beds were a little high for those who are short. All handicapped rooms were taken so we had a regular room. This was not a problem until my mom saw the bed and realized that she could not get in. We made it work but is it really necessary to have such high beds?

Kids loved the pool while we sat outside by the bar enjoying the scenery. Very nice and peaceful!

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2016

During busy season it's probably alot of fun here. It was early in the season, the hotel felt empty. The bar was very quiet, dinner was closed early, and the area was a little quiet. Probably later in the season it would be more active. Rooms were OK, but not special. The restaurant had nice views of the Missouri river. Middle of South Dakota. right on the river with docks and boats. Breakfast was good but we were the only people in the restaurant.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janetb52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016

Stopped in after fishing all day. Our first choice on town had an hour wait. Was told that first off we will have to wait as she had a room order to deliver. We said ready to order now so she took our order. Ceaser salad was no on point, she said that's how we do it around here. I order a steak Black & Blue, go it medium well. Poor service and food.

Room tip: did not say
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank travlert521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews