We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Everything!”
other travellers have booked this property
Front view,=...EZ parking
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view,=...EZ parking
Old tyme kitchen Sofa sleeper
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Front view,=...EZ parking
Old tyme kitchen
Sofa sleeper
Loft staircase
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Nemo, South Dakota

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nathan W
Mitchell, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Everything!”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

From the drive there to the final "goodbye" everything about the Barnhouse was perfect! A beautiful setting and all around view with wildlife throughout. We absolutely enjoyed our stay and time. Even by day 3 we were still finding things around the cabin we had not seen before and the decor was perfect for relaxing and feeling away from everything. The amenities the Barnhouse had to offer on top of the rustic charm was the perfect combination that made for a 100% perfect stay. We also found the location to be awesome in terms of attractions around Nemo- it never felt like a long drive to or from the barn location. We loved our stay at the Barnhouse and were sad to leave; book today, we know you'll love it too!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How clean and nice everything was.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2015
Nathan and Tessa,

Thanks so much for this really nice review...! We hope all is well, and dry, in Mitchell.....Brian and Joan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crackerja...
Balsam Lake, Wisconsin
1 review
“A little piece of Heaven”
Reviewed 7 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The Barnhouse was such a comfortable place to stay! It is in a beautiful area, has everything you need away from home, and we felt so welcome by Joan and Brian! We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View, owners, horses
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura3420
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Family Vacation”
Reviewed 10 November 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We visited the Black Hills in July 2014 and were very lucky that we choose to book the Barn House for the end of our week in Nemo, South Dakota. It was exactly what we were looking for to wrap up a week of being on the go. We loved the cozy touches of the Barn House, the details were endless and you could see how much love and care went into the restoration. It was very clean and the pictures do not do it justice. The kids especially loved the loft and looking out to see the horses. It was so wonderful we didn't want to leave to see other sites in the area. We spent a lot of our time relaxing and enjoying the view from the porch. It was so quiet and peaceful. The stars were amazing at night. Our kids have not stopped talking about the Barn House and are begging to return for another stay! Brian and Joan are kind, warm and gracious hosts. Thank you so much for your hospitality. We made a lot of great memories and appreciate being able to stay in your Barn House during our trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kris600
Alma, Wisconsin
1 review
“Perfect Blackhills getaway.”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed four nights and had a wonderful time. Brian and Joan are absolute fabulous hosts. Everything is perfect about the Barnhouse, from the beautiful setting with such wonderful scenery to the perfectly decorated and cared for cabin. The location is very convenient for taking in all of the sites and attractions in the black hills. I would highly recommend the Barnhouse to anyone that is looking for a cozy place to getaway in the Black Hills.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The scenery, location and hospitality provided by the hosts.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greeley, Colorado
Reviewed 12 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: Nothing. It was great.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing