We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early October visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kelly Inn and Suites Mitchell
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Mitchell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2017

My husband and I traveled to the Black Hills area for our anniversary. We were gone all week and on our venture home, we stopped for the night at the Kelly Inn & Suites. Reviews seemed ok, we were tired, hungry and it was getting late. I had decided to just walk in and take a room. Check in was slow...the people ahead of me needed a couple rooms as their car had broken down and was towed. Not the FD staffs fault. They will match any rate you fine on line for them, so the rate was decent. She told me that 2nd floor was full and 1st floor is for regular rate, so were got a room on the 3rd floor. Staff was not overly friendly :(.
We opened the door of our room to the smell of a room that had been smoked in for years even if it said it was non-smoking......again, I thought lets just settle in and run for some supper. My husband made a face when he smelled the room.
The walls are thin so I heard everything in the hall that night and had dozed off when I woke up to a smell that seemed like someone was smoking a cheap brand of cigarette right next to me. I tried everything to fall back asleep. Nothing worked...then I decided it must be the pillows, so I exchanged the 2 I had for 2 on the other bed. That did help, but I barely slept. The rooms are in need of major remodeling. I would NOT recommend this place to anyone. Location was an easy in and out, but that is the only plus.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TamaraJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2017

Just off I 90, this is a nice hotel with friendly staff, at a reasonable price. The hotel is well kept and clean. Our basic room included a refrigerator, coffee pot, and microwave. They offer a limited breakfast in the morning, with hot and cold entrees.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

This motel definitely exceeded my expectations. It is beautiful on the inside with its huge stone fireplace & woodsy motif. Our room was large & very comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was much better than continental. Great place to stay!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jodi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

I think this hotel is getting close to needing some updates. We checked with three other local hotels and selected Kelly’s because it was slightly more expensive - reasoning that more might be better. I think most folks would agree the rooms are over priced. Our double bed was uncomfortably soft. I will check out another motel when I pass through this neat little town.

Stayed: October 2017
1  Thank Dennisrl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

After a long day of traveling, we decided to stop in Mitchell, SD for the night. We found Kelly Inn and checked in. The hotel itself has a rustic cabin décor - stone fireplace in the lobby. The staff at the desk were friendly and welcoming.
The room itself was very clean and comfortable. The hotel was convenient to several restaurants and gas stations.
The breakfast was tasty and there was something to please a variety of folks. Belgium waffles, cereals, fresh fruit, pastries, etc.
The only thing that was a negative to us were the thin walls. We could hear the folks next to us talking and laughing and because we were near the steps exit, doors slammed all through the night.
The hotel had a pool but we did not use it.
All in all, it was a clean and comfortable place to stay.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near the steps exit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Gayleetro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mitchell hotels
0.7 km away
Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell
0.3 km away
Hampton Inn Mitchell
Hampton Inn Mitchell
#1 of 18 in Mitchell
659 reviews
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Mitchell
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#6 of 18 in Mitchell
182 reviews
3 km away
Ramada Mitchell Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelly Inn and Suites Mitchell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelly Inn and Suites Mitchell

Address: 1010 Cabela Dr, Mitchell, SD 57301-6293
Region: United States > South Dakota > Mitchell
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Mitchell
Price Range: AU$102 - AU$158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kelly Inn and Suites Mitchell 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kelly Inn and Suites of Mitchell, SD is a beautiful 3-story hotel with a log and rock exterior offering a unique blend of atmosphere and hospitality of the north-wood's motif in the lobby and guests rooms. The lobby has a two-story rock fireplace. Charming carved bears are located throughout the hotel. We are also conveniently located near Cabela's, Super WalMart, Menards, Culver's and area attractions like the Corn Palace, Prehistoric Indian Village and Dakota Discover Museum. The Kelly Inn and Suites offers a Complimentary hot breakfast, Hi-Speed Internet, indoor swimming pool, exercise room, guest laundry and is 100% non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, getaroom.com, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Kelly Inn and Suites Mitchell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelly Hotel Mitchell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing