We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay @ Mountain View Lodge!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“Fantastic stay @ Mountain View Lodge!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2010

I stayed @ the Mountain View Lodge for an extended weekend and couldn't be more pleased with my experience. The rooms were very clean and the caretakers were the sweetest couple! The lodge also was conveniently located right outside Hill City.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brookeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    33
    22
    7
    1
See reviews for
85
35
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2010

My husband and I traveled from Seattle to Hill City for a wedding. The wedding took place behind the lodge in a beautiful wooded area. I would highly reccomend this space for an event. We stayed 3 nights in a very nice, clean 1 bedroom suite (2 Queen beds). The kitchenette (microwave, toaster, fridge, sink) was convenient for chilling our wine we picked up from the Prarie Berry Winery up the road. A fantastic continental breakfast is served each morning in the main office. The lodge was located in the perfect location for our purposes. We were close to Harney Peak, various trails in the area (I recommend the Horsethief Lake hike...approximately 15 minutes away from the lodge), Deerfield Lake (fishing), Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Deadwood, Lead, Custer State Park, Keystone, downtown Hill City, Rapid City....and much more. There is also a wonderful burger/ice cream spot across the street (Dairy Twist) as well as miniature golf. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelliandtoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutland, SD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2010

My family and I stayed at the Mountain View Lodge for 3 nights in June of 2010. It was nice and close to all different attractions in the area. Very clean. the owners are very nice people and their hired help were wonderful too. Very willing to help us out with directions to different places and very accomodating to our needs! I would definately stay again!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acleighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2010

We recently spent four nights at Mountain View Lodge and hosted a wedding ceremony there. The rooms were clean, comfortable and cool. The cabin area was the perfect spot to set up chairs and decorate for a beautiful outdoor ceremony and the cabins were cozy and very nice. All the rooms and cabins offered everything you could need in a room. The outdoor patio/grill area by the lodge was perfect for gathering family and friends for grilling and socializing. The owners and caretakers were very attentive to our needs and assisted us in anyway possible. We will return again!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieAnnNedrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2010

We just returned from a trip to Hill City where my brother got married. We stayed at Mountain View Lodge for 5 days and couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Very convenient to all of the surrounding attractions and hiking trails. It is located in the hills and has a beautiful view all around it. The staff at the lodge was incredibly friendly and willing to do whatever was needed to make our stay comfortable. It is definitely the place to stay if you are going to be sight seeing in the Black Hills. They have a pool (which is kept at a balmy 80 degrees) and a hot tub. Plus they have free breakfast in the morning. Each cabin is very comfortable, has a deck, gas grill and a fire pit. Absolutey a must stay if traveling through the hills. A big thanks to the owners and keepers who made our stay very family friendly. Will definitely be staying there again!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayloree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
4.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
5.4 km away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
4.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
9.7 km away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
6.6 km away
Black Hills Cabins and Motel at Quail's Crossing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Lodge & Cabins

Property: Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
Address: 12654 S Highway 16, Hill City, SD 57745-6522
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hill City
#3 Family Hotel in Hill City
Price range (per night): $80 - $205
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain View Lodge & Cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your Black Hills vacation at our lodge and cabins within minutes to Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park and several area attractions, ride on the Mickelson trail or kick back at Sheridan lake 2 miles away, cookout on our covered deck, and enjoy the scenic hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Mountain View Lodge & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins Hotel Hill City
Mountain View Lodge And Cabins
Mountain View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing