We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn & Suites(Hill City)(Great Value!)
USD 146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites(Hill City)(Great Value!)
USD 176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Hill City)(Great Value!)
USD 154
USD 146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Whispering Winds Cottages(Hill City)(Great Value!)
USD 127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins(Hill City)(Great Value!)
USD 122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 249
USD 209
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harney Peak Inn(Hill City)(Great Value!)
USD 156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Restmore Inn(Hill City)(Great Value!)
USD 104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 111
USD 95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveller rating
41
66
50
30
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
66
50
30
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspalmer gulchexecutive cabinmini golfi can't think of a betterhost hotelblack hillsgift storeall you can eatpancake breakfastchuckwagon dinnerthe ice cream shopmain restaurantfamily reunionspotty wififun placewine shopsmall bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 202 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

It's a great place with lots to do! The Lodge itself is okay. It's nothing fancy but the grounds are beautiful and there is something for all ages. The pancake breakfast is a must and also the chuckwagon dinner excursion.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Margo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

Nice place to stay, rooms were clean, and central location for visiting black hills.

Wifi was spotty.

We stayed in the lodge for seven nights. Housekeeping came daily but they never provided additional shampoo or soap throne stay.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 257LisaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

The lodge at Palmer Gulch was better than I expected with some of the reviews I had read. Our room was clean, beds were VERY comfortable and we had no problems with services. The continental breakfast was exactly that- nothing fancy but had something that everyone in our family would eat. Staying at the KOA was a huge perk- afternoon and evening activities and a fun place to just hang out!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

More of a nice motel than a resort. In amongst a very large KOA facility. The resort desk staff were not very attentive to the guest. Just about all inquiries that I made aabout the are they referred me down the hill to the KOA Campground office. As many others has stated, the pizza & ice cream shop were the best. Enjoyed the onsite coffe & wine shop, they had a nice out door area with several nice gas fire pits to sit around in the late afternoons. I really enjoyed getting to ride the horses w/my grand daughter. Speaking of horses, the corals were right next to and upwind of the swimming pool which left some strong odors for the guest at the pool. All in all we really enjoyed our stay, it really beat the heck of staying in a city motel. By the way, if you are up that way, definitely visit the Crazy Horse Memorial!

Room Tip: We had a balcony room overlooking the adjacent KOA Campground. in my opinion, much better than overlooking the parking lot side.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Smokey401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

This is an old hotel in a kao campground. The internet does not work and the rooms are dirty. The ads and photos really don't represent the place. Other than location I can think of another reason to rate it higher.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews