We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful location - friendly owners”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Swallow Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting room view1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Sitting room view1
Sitting room view2
Kitchen and breakfast area
VIew from upstairs bedroom
Ground floor bedroom and ensuite
Aerial view of Mill (centre)  and cottages (far right)
Bypass stream in the Mill's garden
Bluebells in Blickling Woods
Winter can also be a good time to visit
The river in winter light
Winter mist over the river
Stormy weather over the millpond
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Itteringham, Aylsham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
groan
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful location - friendly owners”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This pleasant conversion is located close to the owners' impressive mill house in a quiet rural location with extensive private grounds. There is ample parking and the mill grounds can be explored at will - very picturesque and calming: rivers, mill-ponds, bridges, a 'tame' pheasant, and even a small flock of sheep - quite idyllic!

The owners offer a warm and thoughtful welcome - we visited at Easter time and we delighted by the complimentary basket of easter eggs, as well as a few essentials - tea and coffee and milk.

The cottage itself is nice - a large living space with a couch, armchairs and TV, with an 'imitation' wood/coal burner which actually looks pretty good and provides decent heat if needed. Heating is supplemented by electric convector heaters. We were a bit nervous that all heating is run on a £1 coin meter - but the meter was 'full' when we arrived and a 4 day weekend with liberal use of the heating cost us only a further £5, so not really a concern.

The kitchen area, which has a nice breakfast bar and a further table to supplement the main dining table is the living space is light and airy - the kitchen is well equipped with all that is needed. A new set of kitchen knives might be in order though :-)

There are two good sized bedrooms - one downstairs, the other upstairs. Both have en suite shower/toilets. The upstairs bathroom is a bit tight on head-space, but not majorly so.

A short walk from the cottage is the Walpole Arms - a lovely pub which serves great beer and great food - but remember to book: it is very popular! Also within walking distance is the village shop. No ordinary village shop this - an outstanding selection of delightful things as well as a good stock of essentials.

If I have any criticism, it is that the cottage feels a bit 'dowdy' - although that may have been down to the rather 'grey' weather. A brighter carpet, and some new pictures/photos for the walls might make a big difference. It's also worth noting that the wifi signal is weak - although that was made clear before booking.

However, this is a lovely spot - comfortable and welcoming - in a beautiful part of the country close to some useful amenities. I would recommend it without hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location - the owners
Liked least: The carpet
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2016
Hi Viv
Thanks for your review. I entirely agree with your comment about the cottage being "a bit dowdy". You'll be please to know we have already started addressing this with a new carpet and brighter decoration in the upstairs bedroom/bathroom and replacement of the baroque, gilt lighting and mirror in that room. It looks much better! We hope to continue improving things as time progresses. Best regards
Peter and Lis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet F
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in beautiful location”
Reviewed 30 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage, set next to an old renovated mill. Plenty of parking, very peaceful location - great view from bedroom window. Ideal spot for seeing some of Norfolk's beautiful countryside and coast. Pub (Walpole Arms) does very good meals at the end of the drive. Blickling Hall is nearby and worth a visit. Go to the Buckinghamshire Arms to eat - they give HUGE portions! Definitely recommend this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nice 'cottagey' feel.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2017
Hi Janet
Thanks for your kind review - sorry for the delay in replying.
All the best
Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venna L
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So tranquil”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This cottage was the perfect little getaway for the four of us and we thoroughly enjoyed our time in the area. Unfortunately the weather was pretty wet but it didn't stop us from having a wander around the property and it is just beautiful. The peace and quiet is enviable and waking up to the sound of coo-ing wood pigeons made a welcome change. We also loved the fact there was a range of music cassette tapes to play, it took us back to our childhoods. The pub at the end of the driveway is definitely worth a visit for a meal as well as a drink. Thanks Lis and Peter for making us feel so welcome

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2017
Hi Venna
So sorry for not getting back to you to thank you for your kind review. I don't know where the time has gone this summer. Just getting around to responding to reviews now. Very glad you enjoyed your stay in Itteringham.
All the best
Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 12 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a house where you get tranquillity, peace and get in tune with nature which is on the doorstep. The holiday which we chose was fantastic, everything we were looking for as the house was certainly big enough for 4 and extremely comfortable with all the mod cons. The owners, Lis and Peter were at all times very helpful and would always be there to help if needed. We were quite overwhelmed by the welcome, and our stay was one of great pleasure. We would recommend this holiday to all of our family and friends as it was one that we will not easily forget.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 105
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing