We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Very Clean or Safe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Walterboro
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Walterboro
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not Very Clean or Safe”
Reviewed 27 November 2011

I stayed here in Dec 2010 and had a good experience. So I decided to stop here again this year.

Unfortunately, things changed for the worse. The manager tried to get me to upgrade to a mini fridge at an extra $15. Last year it was cheerfully offered at the coupon rate, along with a microwave. Hard to understand as I arrived early, before dark.

Last year I had a room on the west side of the property, which is very well lighted. This year I was put on the east side, with a dimly lit parking lot facing a busy restaurant and interstate highway.

There is a large sign next to the check-in counter stating that the motel management is not responsible for guest valuables or property while staying at the facility. I found that interesting in light of previous reviews.

The (non-smoking) room had a smell of something like a cover up. The shower stall had a strong smell of mold.

The room did not have a brochure or even one scrap of paper explaining anything about the features and amenities of the motel property or the local area restaurants and attractions. The lack of information is obvious when you see the large empty brochure holder on the dresser.

The TV is fuzzy tube type on its last legs. Electrical outlets are inconveniently located. The outlet behind the bedside stand was disassembled with the plate and screw lying on the floor. See photo.

The computer wi-fi was very weak. Took 4 tries to get it working. Frustrating. I wouldn't depend on it for anything important.

The front door lock was missing its bottom screw. The security bar was loose, it appeared that it had been forced and the bottom screw thread was stripped. See photo.

The bathroom door had a lot of pry marks and and a long crack extended down the side of the door above and below the lock. See photo.

I wanted a cup of coffee in the morning but the bathroom area electrical outlet did not work. The bottom screw of the plate was missing and the outlet was loose. See photo. I made coffee using the plug by the entrance door.

The toilet seat was loose on one side and made a VERY loud noise when moved up or down.

A continental breakfast is provided. The orange juice was watery but didn't taste like juice or water. The cereal and milk was OK.

In summary, I made the best of the situation as I was only stopped overnight. However, most travelers would want to avoid this establishment.

I will not be back to any Days Inn if the franchisor allows their name to be used in this way. They must have very low standards for their properties.

Room Tip: west side has better lighting
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    140
    110
    70
    60
See reviews for
188
168
43
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We stayed last night on our way to Florida. The room was clean and the bathroom was small but nice. Well lit parking lot and excellent breakfast. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Get a coupon book from the welcome center!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lewwen31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harry-trip, Manager at Days Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, 27 November 2011
thanks for your respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2011

We stayed at this Days Inn twice to and from our trip to Florida. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay (quiet, clean and a free breakfast). The hotel is a convenient break between Phialadelphia and Palm Beach. The hotel staff checked that our accomodations were fine and we paid only $46 per night (no upcharge for fri-sun) using a coupon from a book from the SC welcome center. We'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmanonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harry-trip, Manager at Days Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, 13 May 2011
Thank You for your respond regarding your pleasure experience with our hotel .It's our goal to give best service to our guests. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manassas, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

We checked in at 7:55 PM and walked across the street to the Cracker Barrel for dinner and were robbed of $250.00 in cash, Credit cards, blank checks and $250.00 in gift cards. Our friend next door was also robbed of credit cards and blank checks. Obviously, we were being watched when we checked in. They used a pass key to enter our rooms. This all happened within one hour. We didn't realize we had been robbed until the next morning. I was missing $250.00 in cash. We left the motel and traveled about 60 miles and received a telephone call from the credit card company asking if we had used a particular card the night before in South Carolina. We had not used it. After numerous telephone calls we found out that the credit cards that were missing had been used around 9:00 pm in the area of the motel. The Walterboro police were notified and banks and credit card companies were also notified. We called the manager of the Day's Inn and she insisted that this did not happen at her motel. We explained over and over again to her that it did happen at her motel. We asked her to call the police and check her security tapes. She would not do that. She refused to help us. We have lost a substantial amount of money. It has required a lot of time to change bank accounts and credit card accounts. We feel that this was an inside job. There was no evidence of a break in. Obviously, they had a key to our room and our friends room. We were watched and they knew when to enter our rooms. We do not trust these people. DO NOT STAY IN THIS MOTEL! Who knows how many people have been robbed and didn't know it until they arrived at home. This has been one of the worst experiences of our lives. We feel we have been violated. AGAIN, DO NOT STAY AT THIS MOTEL!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Walterboro hotels

Beachwood, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

I am always skeptical when I find a really good deal but this Days Inn for $40 plus tax for the night fit me perfectly. The queens size bed was comfortable. The room was clean. And although it did have a micro in the room, eating at the Cracker Barrel next door was too convenient to pass up. The mini fridge kept my water cold for the next day's trek which started out with a complimentary hot breakfast. Good deal all around.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phantom70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harry-trip, Manager at Days Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, 26 February 2011
Thank You for your respond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Walterboro hotels
0.1 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Walterboro
1.1 km away
Econo Lodge Walterboro
Econo Lodge Walterboro
#1 of 17 in Walterboro
545 reviews
0.8 km away
Red Roof Inn Walterboro
Red Roof Inn Walterboro
#3 of 17 in Walterboro
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Ramada Walterboro
Ramada Walterboro
#14 of 17 in Walterboro
574 reviews
0.1 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 17 in Walterboro
22 reviews
0.5 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 17 in Walterboro
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Walterboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Walterboro

Property: Days Inn Walterboro
Address: 1787 Sniders Hwy, I-95 at Exit 53, Walterboro, SC 29488-8797
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Walterboro
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Walterboro
Price range (per night): $76 - $117
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Walterboro 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easy Access Off I-95 at Exit 53 and Next to Cracker Barrel! Enjoy warm Southern hospitality at Days Inn Walterboro hotel, near Lowcountry Regional Airport. Explore the South Carolina lowlands or visit historic Charleston and Savannah with ease when yu book a room at our Walterboro hotel, conveniently located off Interstate 95. Catch up on the news with a free USA Today while you enjoy your free Daybreak continental breakfast. Enjoy a refreshing swim in our outdoor pool or check your email with our free Wi-Fi Internet access from our sunny poolside patio. Park your car for free when you stay at our hotel in Walterboro. Microwaves and refrigerators are available at our pet-friendly hotel, as well as non-smoking and handicapped-accessible rooms. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS Nestled in the quiet countryside, Bonnie Doone Plantation is an ideal place to spend the afternoon picnicking, playing softball or canoeing. Explore the beautiful wilderness and admire the wildlife of the South Carolina lowlands at Great Swamp Sanctuary, only five minutes from our Walterboro hotel. Learn about the history of South Carolina, from prehistoric times through the 1900s, at the Colleton Museum. Follow that up with an afternoon in historic downtown Walterboro, where you can shop, dine and take in the charm of the historic buildings. Soak up the sun with a day at Edisto Beach, only one hour away from our front door. DINING OPTIONS There are a number of restaurants near our Walterboro hotel. Enjoy a delicious meal fresh from South Carolina's rich shores at Glass House Seafood Restaurant. Head to Dairy-Land for milk shakes and burgers. Duke's BBQ is a great place for mouth-watering ribs and steaks. BUSINESS AND EVENT FACILITIES Our hotel in Walterboro has a business center and fax services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn Walterboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walterboro Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing