We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Retreat”
Review of Palm Key

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ridgeland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Palm Key
Ranked #1 of 1 Ridgeland B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 May 2017

My husband and I rented a cabin for the weekend and were pleasantly surprised by the perfect cleanliness and order of the cabin. WiFi and Netflix was provided, but the peace and natural beauty of the surroundings was the biggest draw. The manager, Judy, was pleasant on the phone when I made our arrangements and was even nicer in person when we checked in. The location is a bit further from town than we normally stay, but the tranquility was so nice that the 30 minute drive to Beaufort or the 20 minute drive to Ridgeland wasn't a botheration at all. The wildlife - deer, squirrel, racoon, armadillo, and all sorts of birds made for a special treat while we were there. I don't think I'd recommend this place to families with young children or teens since there's no pool or activity room. But for adults wanting a relaxing, quiet place to stay with plenty of privacy and tranquility, this is definitely the place to be. We will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BAILEYG373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

What a wonderful place. My brother , his wife, uncle,mother, sister and her husband, my daughter and her family and my wonderful guy. The weather is perfect,the house is very well stocked. The view is spectacular. Kayaking, fishing , crabbing, bird watching and family fun. Off the beaten path but well worth the ride. The history , the water ways, just a great all around time. Give it a try I don't think you will be disappointed.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Pamela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016

We rented a cottage for about 5 days and found out how much we really needed to chill out. We arrived stressed and left relaxed and not wanting to go home. Palm Key is a marsh island village of cute, quaint cottages circling a fresh water pond. We rented from an owner. Palm Key is located about 20 minutes from Ridgeland where you will find grocery stores, gas, banks, etc. The drive to Beaufort is easy and takes about 40 minutes. The village has no street lights, cell signals can be tricky (even with Verizon), it backs up to a beautiful marsh and it is very quiet except for the sounds of the wildlife. This is a place to unplug and relax. Take your bug spray in muggy seasons.

Room Tip: Community Wifi is slow. Take a hotspot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
Thank Gail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2016

Just returned from a weekend at Palm Key ... three high school girlfriends and I enjoyed a reunion at this fabulous haven! We wanted to get away from television and computers and catch up with each other ... and, this was the perfect retreat! Even though it's only about thirty minutes from beautiful Beaufort, it's a world apart from the hustle and bustle of an everyday routine. Charming cottages are well positioned around an idyllic coastal marsh, and the views are incredible! We had a four bedroom cottage, so each of us had our own space ... but, we shared a large living area which consisted of a great room and well equipped kitchen. We had requested dinner for the night we arrived, and when innkeepers Judy and Em delivered the food to our door ... it was better than getting flowers! Our meal consisted of delicious pasta with a loaf of warm homemade bread, a scrumptious salad, and perfect desserts! We chose to dine on the porch overlooking the water ... it's the perfect place to sit and watch the tide ebb and flow. Breakfast was included and we chose fresh fruit, (strawberries, mango, pineapple, blueberries and bananas), bagels (with cream cheese), yogurt with toppings, (apples, nuts and raisins), and orange juice and coffee ... all delivered at whatever time you specify! We drove over to Beaufort and took an excellent carriage ride around the town's charming historic district. We had lunch at Plum's, (located on the scenic waterfront), and we spent the afternoon discovering an abundance of specialty shops. Before we left Beaufort, we picked up a pizza at Panini's and took it back to our cottage to enjoy with some wine for dinner. The next morning when we packed up to leave, we all agreed that Palm Key is a special place and Judy and Em are special people. It's a perfect location for couples, families and friends to get back to nature and have some quality time. Now, I'm hoping my husband and I can spend a weekend at Palm Key in the near future ... such an enchanting and serene place!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Winyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2016

We spent three nights here in late February. Our cottage had everything we could need -- including full kitchen and laundry facilities! -- with the one exception being no internet reception within the house. On night 3, we finally figured out that it worked if you sat on the front or back porches, or in the car near the community center. Ah, well. This place is supposed to be about getting back to nature! And you really are in the lovely marshy goodness. A 20-30 minute drive from any decent restaurants or grocery stores. Again, it's fine if you are prepared for that.

Judy and Em were gracious and considerate hosts. We signed up for the B&B service, and when we mentioned when we first arrived that we were having trouble securing vegetables when eating out, breakfast the next morning came with lovely fresh sauteed broccoli. Mmm. The breakfasts were great: simple but very satisfying and nutritious: eggs, toast, biscuits, yogurt, fruit, coffee, beans and salsa... Judy and Em took care of us, which is just what we needed.

Stayed: February 2016
1  Thank SnorkelGirlMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ridgeland
11.4 km away
Best Western Point South
Best Western Point South
#1 of 6 in Ridgeland
606 reviews
11.2 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Ridgeland
147 reviews
21.6 km away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beaufort
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 km away
Red Roof Inn Yemassee
Red Roof Inn Yemassee
#2 of 6 in Yemassee
67 reviews
21.2 km away
Best Western Sea Island Inn
11.7 km away
Hampton Inn Yemassee/Point South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Key

Address: 330 Coosaw Way, Ridgeland, SC 29936-4969
Region: United States > South Carolina > Ridgeland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ridgeland
Price Range: $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Key is a hidden gem of the South Carolina Lowcountry. Located an hour each from Hilton Head Island, Charleston, Beaufort and Savannah, this 350 acre retreat is southern living at its most genuine. Beautifully appointed cottages look out over the woods or the salt marsh, and are outfitted with their own kitchens, laundry facilities and porches to relax on. Each bedroom has 2 queen size beds and a private bathroom. Professional guides on-site offer kayak, birding and walking tours. Great fishing in the salt water backyard, or in the stocked fresh water pond that is the center of the community. Palm Key is also dedicated to the arts, and the talented, dynamic on-site artists lead workshops in their respective crafts. Guests are also welcome to explore on their own, to walk the oyster shell labyrinth or visit the nearby Civil War railroad. Wholesome and healthy food is served family-style in the dining area, or delivered to cottages. Judy and Em have been the owners and operators since 1985 and maintain their dedication to nature, the arts, and wellness. Every stay is individualized to what you want to see, do and eat. Palm Key is unlike anywhere else and practically guarantees a really relaxing stay, be it for a few hours or a lifetime. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing