We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An off-the-beaten-path gem in the low country”
Review of Palm Key

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ridgeland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Palm Key
Ranked #1 of 1 Ridgeland B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 March 2016

We spent three nights here in late February. Our cottage had everything we could need -- including full kitchen and laundry facilities! -- with the one exception being no internet reception within the house. On night 3, we finally figured out that it worked if you sat on the front or back porches, or in the car near the community center. Ah, well. This place is supposed to be about getting back to nature! And you really are in the lovely marshy goodness. A 20-30 minute drive from any decent restaurants or grocery stores. Again, it's fine if you are prepared for that.

Judy and Em were gracious and considerate hosts. We signed up for the B&B service, and when we mentioned when we first arrived that we were having trouble securing vegetables when eating out, breakfast the next morning came with lovely fresh sauteed broccoli. Mmm. The breakfasts were great: simple but very satisfying and nutritious: eggs, toast, biscuits, yogurt, fruit, coffee, beans and salsa... Judy and Em took care of us, which is just what we needed.

Stayed: February 2016
1  Thank SnorkelGirlMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2015

We stayed here in October for a 5-day Road Scholar kayaking adventure in the Low Country of South Carolina. Our tidy and well-appointed cottage, shared with friends, was perfect in its layout - 1 bedroom and bath on either side of the common living room/kitchen area. A covered porch overlooking the salt marsh (which rose and fell with the tide) gave an outstanding view of the glorious morning sunrise. We had no TV, but that provided us with plenty of time for kayaking, walking and relaxing. Palm Key is a place to spend time away from the hustle and bustle of the busy world and enjoy a unique, calming, natural environment.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Kat O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2015

This place was recommended by a friend. It is in the middle of a beautiful marsh island. Individual houses are for rent. The grounds are pristine and the views panoramic. Very quiet and tranquil. The home cooked breakfast was more than spectacular. The hostess and host, Judy and M, were exceptional, both in their quality as people and their commitment to the service of their guests. We will be back!

Room Tip: Just ask for what you want when you call. All rooms are outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank charlesdailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2015

We had our family reunion here for 3 days. The cottages were exceptionally clean. each bedroom had its own bathroom. Full home cooked breakfast daily and different every day. Would satisfy the fussiest person of which I would be one. Judy and her husband are the hosts and could answer all questions you might think of. Everyone from ages 4 -83 enjoyed the weekend. Saturday evening there is a bonfire so bring the marshmallows , etc. to make smores.

Stayed: July 2015
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2015 via mobile

Stayed one night while traveling and loved it. Very quiet, clean, great setting to view lowlands South Carolina. We stayed in cabin 25, which had one full bedroom, a full kitchen, laundry, 1 and a half baths and porch swings on both the front and back decks, not to mention two rocking chairs on the back deck as well. Great little community, about 10 minutes off Route 95, so a great alternative to the noisy chain hotels.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dkuik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Palm Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Key

Address: 330 Coosaw Way, Ridgeland, SC 29936-4969
Region: United States > South Carolina > Ridgeland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ridgeland
Price Range: $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Key is a hidden gem of the South Carolina Lowcountry. Located an hour each from Hilton Head Island, Charleston, Beaufort and Savannah, this 350 acre retreat is southern living at its most genuine. Beautifully appointed cottages look out over the woods or the salt marsh, and are outfitted with their own kitchens, laundry facilities and porches to relax on. Each bedroom has 2 queen size beds and a private bathroom. Professional guides on-site offer kayak, birding and walking tours. Great fishing in the salt water backyard, or in the stocked fresh water pond that is the center of the community. Palm Key is also dedicated to the arts, and the talented, dynamic on-site artists lead workshops in their respective crafts. Guests are also welcome to explore on their own, to walk the oyster shell labyrinth or visit the nearby Civil War railroad. Wholesome and healthy food is served family-style in the dining area, or delivered to cottages. Judy and Em have been the owners and operators since 1985 and maintain their dedication to nature, the arts, and wellness. Every stay is individualized to what you want to see, do and eat. Palm Key is unlike anywhere else and practically guarantees a really relaxing stay, be it for a few hours or a lifetime. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing