We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,536)
Filter reviews
2,536 results
Traveller rating
1,317
684
268
141
126
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,317
684
268
141
126
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the street washer dryer combo pool area ocean front murphy bed parking garage lazy river the kitchen north tower living room great resort bedroom oceanfront higher floor recommend this resort north myrtle three bedroom family vacation
Filter
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 2,536 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2018 via mobile

A nice place to go, better than the OD in my opinion. I love the bar and pool outside. It may be a little bit of a walk from where everything is happening but it’s good exercise. Breakfast is fantastic

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality C, Front Office Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Thank you so much for the kind words. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the amenities we have here and hope that you will come back soon. We have made many changes to the restaurant menu and we always love getting feedback on it. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018

We arrived in very cold weather. We were greeted at the registration parking area by Cornealius. He unloaded all our food, drink and luggage and carried it to our room, while I handled the front desk duties. He was great to help us. The staff would contact me to see if we needed anything during our stay. Awesome people working here.

Room Tip: Our condo faced the beach and it was very well stocked with necessities.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality C, Front Office Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

We promise that is not the weather that we ordered for your stay and will do our best to make it a bit warmer on your next trip! Thank you for the kind words about Cornelius, we are certainly lucky to have him and all of all great staff here. We've got the heat cranked this week, high 50's and 60's all week, not too bad for the middle of January. We hope you will be back as soon as you can to enjoy it with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

The units are very well equipped, the staff very friendly, and hospitable, and the views from the balconies breathtaking. Strongly recommend this resort to anyone looking for a few days/month to get over the winter blues.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank kaymatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality C, Front Office Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us here at Avista. With a couple more months of winter left, we would love to help you wash away those blues anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

We stayed at Avista on a very cold weekend just to have a comfortable roomy place to stay while visiting my boyfriend's mother with his 11 year old daughter. We had stayed at a much more expensive condo in September for a beach getaway and I have to say Avista was larger, cleaner, less worrisome, accommodating and had way more features than the previous place. Avista is not 'five-star' high-end but absolutely everything you need unless you are looking for the JW Marriott. We will definitely be staying at Avista for future family visits and any beach trips. The space was clean and well-kept, the furniture did not look dirty or over-worn and we were quite comfortable. Very roomy Master, extra bedroom with two double beds, spacious living area - quite comfortable for a couple, one or two children or in our case one child and a grandmother. It was too cold to partake in any of the outdoor amenities, but they looked very nice and my bf did take his daughter down to the indoor pool. Unfortunately the heater was not working in the Jacuzzi so they were not able to enjoy that but all in all was a very good experience.

We did not try the restaurant because it had poor reviews, particularly breakfast. May I recommend the Eggs Up Café - excellent diner for 'beach' breakfast.

Two super-minor things - no ceiling fans in the bedrooms so if you are like me and get really hot, take a small table fan; also, when getting a valet cart, half of them have an 'Avista' logo sign on top and will not go through MANY of the openings/doorways (including the one to the suite, we had to unload all from the hall) - make sure you get one without the little sign on top and you will be fine. Not sure what the rate is in high season, but for what we got, the price was fantastic. So glad to have found our future 'reg' spot at the beach.

Room Tip: We had room 708 with an excellent view but the layout seemed to ensure all Oceanfront suites had a great view...
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leslie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality C, Front Office Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Thank you so much for not only your recent stay with us but for taking the time to write such a detailed review! We are so happy we provided a great little get away from the cold for your family. The indoor pool area is great for those rare cold days.
We do wish you had given the restaurant a try, we think you would have been pleasantly surprised. Maybe on your next visit.
We do put the signs on the bell carts to prevent them from going in the rooms to avoid the walls getting scraped or banged, but please don't hesitate to give front desk a call next time and our staff would be happy to assist you all with loading and unloading.
There are also have fans available from the front desk as we understand some people do enjoy sleeping with a fan in the room. Feel free to mention it when you make your next reservation with us and we will have it waiting for you in the room when you arrive.
Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at The Avista for 10 nights beginning 12/26/17. We were greeted by Denny in the parking garage where he informed us as to the easiest procedures for parking and checking in. The check in went smoothly and everyone we encountered from the resort was very welcoming.
It was a little bit inconvenient to have to park across the street in the parking building, but not too different from many other resorts.
We found the bartenders, Billy and "Wheezy" to be extremely friendly and the lounge itself is very nice. The Just off Main Restaurant is also very nice and the hostesses and waitresses greeted us as though we were family.
Housekeeping was thorough and timely.
There are only a couple of criticisms. The food in the resaurant was EXTREMELY salty. This was very disappointing because it is a problem which is so easily avoidable. Do they not realize that every table on their floor has a salt shaker? You can always add salt, but you sure as the world can't magically remove it after it has been prepared that way. Even the steak and egg breakfast had had visible amounts of salt on both the steak and the home fries. Unfortunately, we had to stop eating most things in the restaurant because the sodium was so intolerable.
Secondly, even though they advertised a golf cart shuttle to and from the parking garage, we only saw one cart with a passenger in our entire 10 day stay. It gave the impression that, since it was so cold out, that the staff did not want to offer assistance in this regard.
Overall our stay was most encouraging. My criticisms are just, fair, and intended to prompt necessary change. These criticisms should in no way overshadow the 90 % of our stay which was exemplary. We are grateful that our hard-earned dollars were spent at The Avista as they made us feel appreciated and not taken for granted like our 9 previous stays at The Prince Resort.
We would highly encourage others to experience this fine facility and enjoy their experience as did we.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Mikeyv75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimEg, General Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Thank you for staying with us and for the observations. We take them all serious and will certainly look into them. Glad to see our staff was helpful and that you enjoyed yourself and look forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews