We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Nothing but good news here. Property is located in the back of a business park and during our week there I don't think we heard much of anything.
Clean, new, well maintained !
Free included breakfast was very nice.
Perhaps only downside is the VERY busy intersection at exit 209 of I-26. Getting to the property from the south could be slow at times.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thoytnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM7535, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

I want to thank you for the very kind words. I will make sure to share your comments with my associates, and I am happy to share with you that it means a lot to them to know that their efforts are recognized.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (694)
There are newer reviews for SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

611 - 615 of 694 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2012

I love these hotels, they're a notch above my usual haunts. This one was brand new and it was great. It was super "modern", much more than I expected. The lobby looked more like a W or another "modern" themed hotel chain. The front desk folks were super nice and my room was fresh and crisp. One thing I don't understand, however, is that these are "suite" rooms with a separate bedroom area and an adjacent living and work space. There is a big flat screen TV right in the middle that you swivel depending on which room you're in. But, if you're there with someone else, you'd have to fight over the TV. That doesn't make sense to me. There should be a TV in each separate space instead of being forced to share just one. It's the only suite hotel that I've seen with this layout and for a few hundred dollars per room, I really they'd be wise to upgrade to having two separate TVs.

The bathroom is also separate and that's a very good thing in my opinion. Especially when you're likely to have more than one person in a suite type room like this. It had one of the simplest yet most handy things I've seen in a hotel: a little extra shelf above the sink. It was great for keeping things off of the sink surface to get them out of the way. I might add one at home; what a great idea that is. The bed was excellent as well.

The breakfast was great with little omlets and bacon, also real oatmeal (not packets), fresh fruit, breads and pastries, a couple of different brands of yogurt, milk, juice, great coffee and a big selection of Bigelow tea; a nice touch. And, shocker of shockers, the "hot" water in the airpot next to the coffee pots was actually hot! That's rarely the case in hotels, unfortunately.

I'd highly recommend this great hotel. There are a bunch of food choices in the adjacent area and downtown Charleston is about 15-20 minutes away by car.

Room Tip: I asked for a top floor room but got a ground floor room. Hmm.. that's never happened before...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottyG777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM7535, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to complete a lovely review of your stay. Your gracious compliments and details of the hotel and staff are greatly appreciated and I will make sure to share your comments with my associates, particularly because our hotel is not brand new, but almost 3 years old. It is very gratifying to see that our efforts are appreciated and make a difference in our guests travel experience.

Specifically addressing your TV comments let me share with you that we do have some of our larger suites that are equipped with 2 TVs. When building the hotel I had the same thoughts you did, that some guests might like 2 TVs instead of 1. SpringHill Suites are build to very precise specifications with every detail carefully thought out. I actually had to do a lot of convincing to be allowed to have 2 TVs in a few suites and to exceed some of the specifications, such as having 42” HDTVs instead of the specified 37”.

I regret to say however, that the 2 TVs was not one of my best ideas. It turns out that although we only have them in the largest of our suites, the layout of the suite is such, as to allow, one remote to operate both TVs simultaneous; not exactly a desirable outcome. The remotes use infrared light and it bounces unless precisely aimed, affecting the second set as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

visit was great - had good internet access, plenty of room and good breakfast. Very helpful staff, too. the disadvantage was only that the pool is very, very small.

Room Tip: take the front of the hotel - back faces a development with lots of screaming and noise at night.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank businessadvisor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM7535, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to complete a lovely review of your stay. Your gracious compliments of the hotel and staff are greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Other hotels can take some tips from Springhill's customer service skills. The staff at Springhill were great! They were genuinely nice and very accommodating. Although we had a small issue with our tub, staff immediately responded and made every attempt to ensure we were satisfied. The environment was warm and very inviting especially at breakfast. You will meet "Mama" there who will sing to you and guarantees to make your stay special.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM7535, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

I want to thank you for the very kind words. I will make sure to share your comments with Mama. She is indeed wonderful and actually somewhat of a hospitality legend among Charleston Marriotts, having been over the years the recipient of many awards, such as Marriott Award of Excellency, and South Carolina Hospitality Association “Lodging Front of the House Employee of the Year”. We are very fortunate to have her on our team and she is an inspiration to all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Upon our arrival I was surprised at the niceness of the lobby and the room. The breakfast bar is not to get you full but the coffee is great and my family enjoyed it.. Mama aka ms Dorothy made breakfast pleasant.. I will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twwntypearls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM7535, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to complete a lovely review of your stay. Your gracious compliments and details of the hotel and staff are greatly appreciated. I will make sure to share your comments with my associates and in particular Mama.. She is wonderful and actually somewhat of a hospitality legend among Charleston Marriotts, having been over the years the recipient of many awards, such as Marriott Award of Excellency, and South Carolina Hospitality Association “Lodging Front of the House Employee of the Year”. In addition to her hotel work, she also does a lot of volunteer work, but the most outstanding feature about her is the joy with which she approaches everybody that crosses her path. We are very fortunate to have her on our team and she is an inspiration to all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
0.9 km away
Hyatt Place North Charleston
Hyatt Place North Charleston
#5 of 58 in North Charleston
742 reviews
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn Charleston North
Hampton Inn Charleston North
#14 of 58 in North Charleston
558 reviews
0.3 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlesto...
#18 of 58 in North Charleston
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston Un...
#10 of 58 in North Charleston
1,627 reviews
0.6 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and S...
#7 of 58 in North Charleston
905 reviews
0.7 km away
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & ...
#26 of 58 in North Charleston
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate

Address: 7535 N Forest Dr, North Charleston, SC 29420-4279
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in North Charleston
#18 Family Hotel in North Charleston
#19 Business Hotel in North Charleston
Price Range: $119 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Charleston North Hotel North Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing