We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some pros, some cons”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Coliseum
Ranked #26 of 59 Hotels in North Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2017

We booked this hotel based on reviews. There were some good and some not so good things about it.

Pros: The rooms were recently remodeled and were beautiful! Comfortable beds. Pretty greys and yellows for the decor. Bathroom was spacious (although we were given an accessible room for a reason below). Shower pressure was incredible! Minimal noise from the nearby airport (we only heard one plane). Room and bathroom were both extremely clean.

Cons: Be aware there are no elevators! Because of this, we asked to be switched from the second floor room assigned to us, to a ground level floor (I have arthritic knees and can't do stairs well). So they gave us the accessible room on the ground floor. Although the rooms were newly renovated, the A/C must not have been because it was very loud and kept us awake all night. And we had the hard time getting the room cool enough. Finally set the A/C to 62 degrees to get comfortable, and it definitely was not 62 degrees. Probably more like 72. There is no breakfast area to speak of - 4 bistro-sized tables in the check-in area, so it can't accommodate large parties. Breakfast looked scarce, so we just went to the Starbucks around the corner. No hair dryer, so be sure to pack one.

Room Tip: No elevator, so choose second floor only if you have no trouble climbing stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mingoleger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

The outside of this hotel could use some updating, but the rooms themselves are nicely renovated. We wondered how recently it had been updated because the lamp shades still had the plastic on them. The room did have a funky smell, which my boyfriend thought was just stale air, but I thought it smelled a bit like cat pee. Perhaps they did not replace the carpet during the renovation. It was unpleasant, but did improve after the A/C ran for a while. The staff were helpful with small issues we had. We did not have breakfast, but I did see several drink options and non-hot food available when checking out. Overall, it was a safe and clean place to stay for cheaper than most hotels in the area.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Caitlin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

I have stay an higher hotels and This has been one of the best experiences I have ever had within Econo Lodge and I'm so happy I pick the right places to stay. The young lady at the front desk was super nice and with manners at check in. After A very nice young guy name Matt help me carry couple stuff for me to the room. The Rooms are all remodel and everything.the rooms looks so nice . The bed and pillows are comfortable. The carpet is very clean and was able to walk with no worries. The area is very safe. The bathroom is super clean. Everything and the room was so clean that I would come back to this hotel every time i come to charleston. This is the right hotel to choice with no doubt. This has to be one of the best hotels charleston has to offer!! WOULD STAY AGAIN SOON!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017

This hotel was clean, conveniently located and the staff very nice. The rate was hard to beat for such a clean room! It is newly renovated and we slept very well on the very comfortable pillows!
BRING EARPLUGS as it is right under plane routes leaving the nearby Charleston Airport.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dkba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel. While originally reluctant, the reviews were such that we chanced it. Our first impression was a pleasant surprise. We were assigned to a lovely handicap accessible room, newly remodeled. It was on the first floor eliminating a walk up a flight of stairs. The bathroom was spacious and clean. The beds comfortable though the pillows are on the firm side. The carpeting looks new. There was ample outlets for charging devices. There was no hairdryer or coffee maker but that was OK as we had a backup dryer and do not drink coffee. There is no area or hooks to hang clothes but the headboard is large enough to hang a few items. There were a few tables and chairs in the office area for a breakfast but we did not see any food as everything had been removed by 9 a.m. (It was 9:10)
This hotel would initially have gotten a 4 star rating however 2 issues changed my rating. On our first day, I inadvertently smudged a barely noticeable spot of makeup on the bed sheet when we first arrived. When we returned to our room in the evening, the room looked clean and the bed was made up. However it was obvious from the telltale spot on the sheets that the sheets were never changed. On our last morning, there was no hot water. A fast cool shower was not a good way to start the day. This hotel has potential as it is a reasonable rate in an area that can be very pricey. From the room remodels it is obvious that the owners want to make this a successful hotel and should succeed as long as they do not cut corners in services.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jpinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
0.1 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Convention Center
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Con...
#28 of 59 in North Charleston
64 reviews
0.6 km away
Quality Inn Coliseum
Quality Inn Coliseum
#46 of 59 in North Charleston
126 reviews
8 km away
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & ...
#27 of 59 in North Charleston
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston Airport Coliseum
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston Ai...
#25 of 59 in North Charleston
658 reviews
0.3 km away
North Charleston Inn
North Charleston Inn
#44 of 59 in North Charleston
373 reviews
0.5 km away
Extended Stay America - Charleston - Airport
Extended Stay America - Charlest...
#35 of 59 in North Charleston
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Coliseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Coliseum

Address: 4725 Saul White Blvd, North Charleston, SC 29418-7923
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in North Charleston
#18 Romantic Hotel in North Charleston
#22 Business Hotel in North Charleston
Price Range: $94 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge Coliseum 1.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge Coliseum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econolodge North Charleston
North Charleston Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge North Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing