We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Spring Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Blue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Blue
Ranked #141 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Grand Rapids, MI
1 review
“Great Spring Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I found this place on the internet and did not know what to expect, it turned out to be very nice. We enjoyed the oceanview that we had from our room, the pool area was great and access to the beach was wonderful. Our kids enjoyed the lazy river and hot tub. The room was clean with a few exceptions, but we were there for the weather and the outdoors not sitting in our room 24/7. We all had a great time!

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Vacationer807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and the children loved the lazy river.. We Love our first time guest that turn into our every year guest that we get to know year after year... Cant wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    337
    199
    175
    360
See reviews for
519
470
31
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed at this last week over Spring Break and for the price, this was an excellent value. The hotel is older and it needs updating in some areas. But honestly, for what we paid, it was great. We had a 12th floor oceanfront efficiency with spectacular views. Our room was clean, even under the sinks and inside cabinets (unlike some of the pics posted here), the staff was good and the location is excellent. It was an $11 cab ride to/from the airport and we were withink walking distance to the boardwalk, Family Kingdom and attractions like Ripley's. I suppose if you're expecting a brand new, 4 or 5 star resort, you may wish to book one. Like I said, this hotel needs updating in some areas. The hot tub was running dirty the first day but they closed it down and had it fixed. A few coats of paint in some areas would do wonders for the place. This is a family resort and it was very, very busy over Spring Break. If you are looking for a quiet, romantic getaway, North Myrtle Beach may be more your speed. They pool constantly had kids in it (which we didn't mind at all) and there were occassional waits for the elevators since we were on the 12th floor. One night we could very clearly hear outdoor karaoke from the hotel next door but that wasn't in Hotel Blue's control. And in my opinion, if you chose a destination like Myrtle Beach for Spring Break, you have to expect that it won't be peaceful all the time. As with anywhere, some of the staff were friendlier and more helpful than others; we simply tipped accordingly. I can only imagine how hard it would be to work in a resort like this over Spring Break. For those who went the extra mile, we did too. The additional access to Captain's Quarters is nice though we only went over there once. The bowling alley is old and dated, but still fun and I handily beat my boyfriend in 2 out of 3 games. If the kids would have been with us, they would have the loved the outdoor water area and pools there.

We are hoping to come back over summer and bring the kids. We had an amazing vacation and being able to roll over in bed and watch the sunrise over the ocean was worth a wait at the elevator or hearing neighboring karaoke.

Room Tip: Higher, oceanfront rooms are where it's at!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let everyone know about your stay with us. We are glad to hear your loved your views from your room and the pools... Hopefully you will be able to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hrrison
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We arrived on Saturday March 31,2012 - April 7,2012. We had awesome weather, enjoyed the pool and ocean. We had come back from shopping and my daughter wanted her Ipod and could not find it anywhere. So i started to look, i pulled the bed out and away from the wall and i seen something on the floor up by the headboard, so i bent over and pick up and it was just her headphones,and no IPOD.. Called the manager he had come up to scan the key card, then he called us and the laundry and nothing.. Nerver questioned the housekeeping or anything!!! We left a day early,because maid runied our vacation . I will never go back to this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
We would like to apologize for any inconveniences you encountered while a guest on our property. Its always difficult to hear of a dissatisfied guest. If you would like to call us please call 1-800-843-3466 and we can talk about this further. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We booked a room here. When we arrived they were extremely rude. Once we got up to our room we found it filthy. The mattresses were stained badly. Newspapers were under the bed to level it. I went down and requested my money back. They gave it back, but without question or concern. This place was also very ghetto. Loud rap music was played. The staff had in ear buds so loud I could here their rap music also. Staff wad all African American and all guest were minority as well. Worst hotel I have ever seen.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank randy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Delaware, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Upon check in i observe some missing ceiling tiles above front desk.During my two day stay, it seem to be a mini renovation taking place right under our noses,more and more tiles were being removed,so much so that we could look right up and get a wonderful view of wires/cables and installation,more of a view than i was expecting to see.
This was /is and will always be unexceptable for a quote unquote higher end hotel.

Room Tip: Try to book else where!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 km away
Captains Quarters Resort
Captains Quarters Resort
#94 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
0.9 km away
The Palace Resort
The Palace Resort
#85 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
3.9 km away
The Palms
The Palms
#93 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#36 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,156 reviews
10.4 km away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#25 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
1.5 km away
The Reef at South Beach
The Reef at South Beach
#152 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue

Property: Hotel Blue
Address: 705 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4481 (Formerly Tropical Winds)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#82 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price range (per night): $134 - $442
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blue 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Hotel Myrtle Beach
Tropical Winds Myrtle Beach Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing