We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
37
33
10
10
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
33
10
10
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews short walk to the beach awesome stay the past years house keeping great vacation units condo upgrades
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The villa we rented was through the one at 5601 n ocean blvd, but the actual address was 345 beach place building D -311. It was horrible, the towels were dirty i mean filty dirty (white towels were greyish & brown looking) the sofa was dirty and taped up,the sofa bed once pulled out was nasty dark brown spots all over and spots that appeared to be old blood.the living room was cool the rest was hot, even had a box fan in one of the rooms ,dead bugs in the bath tub and in the bedroom floor, sheets on beds had dirty spots on them,the cover for sofa bed was dirty and just balled up and threw in closet, pillow cases were dirty. all dishes in cabinet and drawers were dirty and spotted.this room was so dirty i took my bags back to the car,i couldnt even bring myself to sit down in there.front desk sent 2 people to reclean room and bring more towels, towels were still dingy, these guys wouldnt even clean the room they said there was no way anything they could do would make a difference.front desk didnt even want to refund our money,then when they agreed to give us a refund they said they would have to hold 50.00,and they had no more rooms,(are you serious)i have never been in a resort that was this bad they had 2 old style big tv's but only one worked we got there at 4:30 pm we didnt get into a suitable room until after 12 am,around 11 or so they said they had 1 suite ,this one was 209 D, it was the total opposite of the other room it was kinda nice,but we went out and bought towels . But i will never stay there again, and while we were waiting to find a room 4 other guest were down there complaining about the cleanliness of there rooms.

Room Tip: ask to see the room first...do not book from internet pic
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank angela a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Ocean Forest Villa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Unfortunately we are unable to help you with your concerns.

This is a privately owned UNIT and not a unit owned by own company.

We have informed TripAdvisor and asked them to please get you in touch with the appropriate business so that your issues can hopefully be resolved.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I had the most horrible experience in Ocean Forest Villa. I paid for two BR with one queen and one double bed but they did not accommodate us. When I checked in the room it smelled like moldy, smoky and like dead animal. I went back to the receptionist and asked her if she could change the room, but she told me that there was not any other room available in the facility. We drove all the way from PA to SC for a family vacation and we had no place to stay. I told the receptionist if I could talk to the manager; she called the manager and the manager screamed at her for calling him. The manager would not talk to me or neither listens to the receptionist about the situation. This was the most unethical thing I have ever seen from a property manager. The manager was very unprofessional and did not care about his customer. I would be shame to be him because he is just collecting money from the company without doing his job.

Room Tip: All the rooms are filthy, smelly and dirty!!!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Traveler_aqil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Ocean Forest Villa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

We apologize for this experience.

If you could inbox us your reservation and room #, we will check to make sure this was not a privately owned unit.

It is NOT common practice for a Sands' manager to not speak with a guest who has concerns.

We do hope you will give Sands another try. Thank you for the feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We checked in at 5 PM and at 5:25 PM were back in the front office asking to change rooms. We were told by the desk clerk that they knew the room - E216 - was a DUMP. However, that is where they put us. We asked to be moved and they agreed, but suddenly no rooms in the Sands Resort network of rooms were available. We asked for a refund and they said that was not possible. They would keep our $300 deposit.
We requested a non-smoking facility and, to not let me down with their poor service, our condo smelled like a hooka bar. The smell goes well with the holes in the carpet, warped walls and mold on the tiles.
The Sands management staff should be highly embarrassed that their name is associated with a facility that would be "hard pressed" to pass a health inspection.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Ocean Forest Villa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

We are very sorry you were disappointed with your stay.

We apologize that we were unable to accommodate you accordingly.

This IS one of our older properties. We encourage you to stay at another of our Sands Resorts properties...perhaps the Sand Dunes Resort & Spa.

Thank you for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed there from 7/19 - 7/27 this year. We had to complain on a daily basis about getting towels. We even hung our towels back up to reuse them another day since we were having a problem getting towels and they came and took our hung towels and left no others in return. One day we got 1 washcloth and there were 3 of us staying in the villa. We also had a musky smell all week and found that the master bath/shower was leaking into the hallway closet, but nothing was done to correct it. Housekeeping literally did nothing all week - didn't even make the beds. Hallways never cleaned while we were there either. We literally had to call EVERY day for towels and often had to wait for hours to get them. There was absolutely no towels in the villa at all the day we arrived. We did talk to a housekeeping rep one day and he told us that it is an ongoing fight with the manager because they don't enough towels. Really? This is a business you are running and you don't have enough towels to service your customers? Had to leave messages for housekeeping most of the time because they wouldn't answer the phone and no one would ever call back. Terrible service!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Angie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Ocean Forest Villa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback.

Your concerns have been forwarded to the hotel manager and head of housekeeping

We are very sorry for the lack of service you experienced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

It was our first time in Myrtle Beach and we really wanted to get a condo versus a hotel room. We paid extra to have a beach front room and it was worth it b/c we had a great view of the ocean and enjoyed the balcony very much. Sadly, the level of service is horrible. Upon check in (which is very late at 4pm), we were guaranteed that the crib we requested was there (I mean if you check in that late things should be prefect right--wrong!). The crib was not there and the the first one they brought was broken and they had to go back and get another one. I had a cranky baby and the whole fiasco took over an hour just to get something that I had asked for well in advance. Then there was the maid service, or lack thereof. There were 4 of us and we only got toiletries for two days, we didn't get towels one day (we literally had to harass the front desk to get housekeeping to bring towels, but they arrived after we had to leave for dinner and the dirty towels had already been collected, so paper towels had to due); didn't get the beds made another day. Upon check in, it was clean for the most part except for some seaweed in the shower stall and a few areas the vacuum missed. But don't expect any type of cleaning to be done during your stay. The bathrooms were never cleaned and carpets were never vacuumed the entire stay. We were traveling with 2 kids and messes happen, luckily we found a broom in the closet and tried our best to keep things tidy while we were there (I mean this is a second home for someone).
We used a promo code to get free breakfast and at check in we had to ask for the vouchers otherwise they would not have provided them. Check in itself was very long and very disorganized. As far as the condo itself is concerned, its old but everything was functional. The beach is beautiful and weather was great but you may just want to stay somewhere else! I doubt we would stay here again, unless the pricing reflected the quality.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dana1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Digital Marketing Director at Ocean Forest Villa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Thank you for your feedback. Your comments have been forwarded to the general manager. We have other condos you might like a lot more at our Sand Dunes location. We are very sorry for the lack of service you experienced!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews