We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gary K”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Sands South
Ranked #93 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

We are staying on the 12th floor of the condo building. The room we have is very nice and spacious. This condo could sleep 8 if necessary. We haven't found any problems with the room. Check in is at 4pm, we got here a little early and even though the room was ready they wouldn't give us the key until 3:30, which was a little annoying.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 572 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

Love Myrtle Beach, SC. We have stayed at Holiday Sands South for over 13 years. We have never had a problem. HOWEVER...after the experience we are having at this very moment...I will NEVER AGAIN STAY AT HOLIDAY SANDS SOUTH! After driving over 770 miles to get here, we check in to find out they gave us the WRONG ROOM. Not a big deal...just change our room to what we asked for when we booked and it’s all good. NOPE! Can’t do that. The employee who did the reservation is no longer here. So the only option is to pay MORE THAN DOUBLE the original cost! We have asked MULTIPLE TIMES A DAY SINCE SUNDAY TO SPEAK TO THE MANAGER, JEFFREY FIRESTINE, AND HE IS ALWAYS TOO BUSY. He either at Lowe’s, on a conference call, putting lighting in “on one of the floors”....oh but we were told we could go look floor to floor for him....yah NOT! He obviously does not care about customer satisfaction. If you can’t make 5 minutes for guests who have been giving you business for years...then you JEFFREY FIRESTINE will no longer get our business. OH AND I WILL MAKE SURE TO ALLOW SOCIAL MEDIA TO SPREAD THE WORD! Please, as may of my friends who can, please share this post. It’s time “the big guys” start caring about people and not JUST the almighty damn dollar! 6 days and STILL CANT SPEAK TO THE MANAGER!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

This hotel is very dated. Our suite didn't feel clean and there was a pungent urine smell coming from the carpet on our balcony. I didn't want to be in the room, unless I really had to. Noisy neighbors at night. One of the inner doors in our 2-bdrm suite was broken - no privacy. Didn't use the pool, so can't comment on that. Good thing about this room was the view and the kitchenette. Hotel should invest into providing shampoo and dish soap for their guests. Its a cheap option to stay in Myrtle Beach, but next time I would pay a little more for something nicer.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

checked into the room, we always check the bed, it had grass particles as well as hair balls in the bed and on the floor, grossed me out. the second room they moved us too was very "little" cleaner but had no tv remote. the guy they sent up about the remote was very nice. won't stay here again for sure. (wish i'd taken pictures)

Room Tip: find another motel/resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ldallen963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

We usually stay in North Myrtle for at least a week. This time, however, we decided just the week before to come down for 4 days so our options were limited. We were pleasantly surprised. We arrived at 10 am and were quickly checked in although our room wasn't ready. We were given resort bracelets for use of the pool, etc., and were shown where the bathroom was so that we could change for the beach. We left our phone number and were called a little after noon and were told our room was ready. We stayed in room 1201 (2 bed, 2 bath condo). It was clean, with updated bathrooms, counters, fixtures, etc. The beds were extremely comfortable. The view was amazing!
We were surprised to have daily housekeeping service that provided clean towels, toilet tissue, and soaps. That was a lovely amenity.
On the second day, our tv remote stopped working and we couldn't get the tv to turn on without it. We mentioned it at the front desk on the way back to our room and told them it was no big deal as we don't really watch it anyway. We weren't in our room 5 minutes and someone arrived to take care of it.
The beach out front has plenty of room and chairs and umbrellas are available to rent. The outdoor pool was a bit small, but we don't spend much time in it anyway. Although the lazy river is small, it has an incredibly strong current and is fun. There are 2 hot tubs and 2 indoor pools that are all very clean.
We had breakfast each day at the cafe on site. Service was great and food was delicious. Get the french toast!
We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Room 1201 is a corner condo on the top floor. Great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeachGirl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.4 km away
Holiday Sands North
Holiday Sands North
#73 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
600 reviews
0.4 km away
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
#109 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
825 reviews
0.4 km away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Aqua Beach Inn
Aqua Beach Inn
#41 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
578 reviews
3.2 km away
Windsurfer Hotel
Windsurfer Hotel
#59 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
323 reviews
0.5 km away
Mystic Sea Resort
Mystic Sea Resort
#123 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Sands South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Sands South

Address: 2411 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4746
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#61 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $87 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Sands South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Sands South Hotel Myrtle Beach
Holiday Sands South Myrtle Beach
Holiday Sands Hotel South Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing