We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Forest Dunes Resort
Ranked #44 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed 11 July 2017

This place is quiet and on the ocean with outstanding ocean views. The staff is quite efficient and very friendly. The rooms are well kept and offer a lot of space, you do not feel cramped like you do in a hotel room. We will return again and again!

Room Tip: Higher floors offer better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ronns40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darby D, General Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

it is wonderful to read about your recent experience at our hotel. It sounds like you had an exceptional stay and found our resort to be clean and relaxing. Thank you for your recommendation. I hope we can welcome you back to our resort in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (714)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 714 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

This appears to have been a wonderful condo 20 years ago. The views are amazing even from the rooms that are not ocean front. The ocean view rooms have huge windows that are great for looking at the beach and ocean.

Unfortunately, the staff is poor. They do not clean the rooms or do maintenance. The rooms have obvious mold and damage. The door to the master had obviously been smashed in and rather than buying a new door, they glued it back together. You could barely close it. The room was obviously not cleaned.

They say they run it like a hotel, but there was no toilet paper, paper towels and only a couple of towels. When housekeeping came, they took all the towels and left no new ones. When we asked about it, the management didn't even apologize and seemed like we were inconveniencing them. There are a million condos in Myrtle Beach, do not stay here.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Bryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darby D, General Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

It is very disappointing to learn about your recent experience at our resort. I apologize for the issues you encountered. Please know this is not the level of service our guests should expect while staying at our resort. Your feedback has been shared with our housekeeping management team to ensure this issue does not occur in the future. I hope we can have another opportunity to welcome you back so you can experience our true hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

My family has stayed at the Forest Dunes for our go-to Myrtle Beach resort for the last 30 years and, unfortunately, we won't be back.

It's important to note that the staff was wonderful. From the folks at the front desk to our maid, Stephanie, everyone on staff was very pleasant and helpful. The location is also a large plus for the Forest Dunes. The immediate area is still primarily residential which means less beach traffic and less noise.

That said, those positives didn't outweigh the negatives. Overall, the resort just seems "tired." Aside from the lobby enclosure that was added at some point in the last 10 years, not much has changed. While the oceanfront condos have magnificent glass enclosures that highlight the view, our unit (1505) is in desperate need of updating. On the flip side, family members stayed in a very modern, very clean one-bedroom oceanfront condo (709) that was fantastic.

The lowlight of the trip was that one of our cars, while parked in the garage, was not only dented but had its backup camera/collision detection parts stolen from the front bumper. When it was suggested that security cameras might be a good idea, a representative from Forest Dunes' Homeowner's Association balked at the idea, as it would "give folks the idea it was an unsafe area."

Myrtle Beach has taken a PR wallop this summer due to the violence near the Boardwalk area but even the nicest parts of the Grand Strand have been negatively
affected.

Sadly, a family tradition will be ending with this trip- Forest Dunes, as well as the Myrtle Beach area, isn't what it used to be.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank InLoveWithAcqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darby D, General Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us from your recent visit. I am disappointed to hear of the obstacles you faced in the parking garage during your stay and I do apologize for any inconvenience it has caused. Please know you feedback will be used to continue and improve our overall guest satisfaction. I am pleased to hear that our front desk staff and housekeeping staff were accommodating. I hope you will give us another opportunity in the future to welcome you back to our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

We are the owners of 1007 and we came for the weekend June 15 - 17. I would like to say thanks to the hotel staff, as always our condo was very clean when we arrived. Everyone is always so pleasant and helpful. We love the time we spend at Forest Dunes. It is very relaxing. The beach and the view from the room is spectacular. While we were there we did some work around the condo. Upkeep is important and I am glad to see the improvements continually being made at Forest Dunes.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms have views that can see miles up and down the coast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TAK17111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darby D, General Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Our associates make sincere hospitality their priority. We appreciate hearing from you and are glad to know you enjoyed our hotel and the level of service we provide. We look forward to seeing you upon your return to the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

Had a wonderful stay at Forest Dunes.
Terrence was awesome! I called down for some washcloths and within about 4 minutes he had them up to our room for us! Everyone else was very kind and helpful. Cory even called and let us know when our room was available so we could check in early.
We are already planning a trip back with our kids!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Megan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darby D, General Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As our valued guest, your feedback will be shared with the team to continue to inspire and motivate them to deliver exceptional customer service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.6 km away
Cabana Shores Hotel
Cabana Shores Hotel
#66 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
211 reviews
2.9 km away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#16 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,461 reviews
2.3 km away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Beach Colony Resort
Beach Colony Resort
#23 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,068 reviews
2.8 km away
Carolina Winds
Carolina Winds
#54 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
703 reviews
2 km away
The Caravelle Resort
The Caravelle Resort
#24 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Dunes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Dunes Resort

Address: 5511 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2347
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $116 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Forest Dunes Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique oceanfront highrise resort in exclusive Cabana Section, close to everything. One of only a very few non-smoking resorts in Myrtle Beach. Quiet, open beach along residential "Golden Mile". Expansive apartments in cozy complex, amenities of larger resort, stunning Grand Strand views. We enjoy and are proud of our condos, so you'll find true vacation homes, not sterile rooms. Lots of little extras, with attentive, friendly, full hotel service. Easy parking, excellent bar and grill, exercise trail, year-round vacation enjoyment. One and three bedroom units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Forest Dunes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Dunes Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing