We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Good value but comes at a price...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Caravelle Resort
Ranked #31 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Waterloo, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good value but comes at a price...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

We had a king jacuzzi suite. It was very spacious. It have a porch that walked out to the grass in the back and you could see the ocean through the brush. The room was in need of some repairs and upkeep. The outdoor pool was average and had a play area for kids. The indoor pool was under construction and I was not told about that during the booking process; which would have been nice. The hotel was right on the ocean and had a walkway but the view from the bottom floor was lacking do to brush.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jen2978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
customerservice_12, Guest Relations Manager at The Caravelle Resort, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Thank you for your review of our Jacuzzi suite and your stay here at the Caravelle. We always do our best to make sure that our guests have the best experience when they visit any time of the year, with winter time having a much different atmosphere then busy summer time.

Even thought our water amenities on our outdoor pool deck: our children’s waterpark, our large outdoor jacuzzi, our olympic size pool, and our adult and children lazy rivers, are open all year long and maintained at a controlled temperature of 84 degrees, these are not in use very much during this time of year, with just a few children with us, and with the cool air temperature. We did have a mechanical problem occur with our equipment at the indoor pool and Jacuzzi on our 7th floor during your stay, but this was repaired as speedily as possible. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.

All our accommodations at the Caravelle have private balconies, with our ocean front accommodations on the ground floor having porches going directly out to our ocean front lawn, which ends at the slatted sand fences the city has put up to catch blowing sand, and vegetation does grow there in its natural state, all this to prevent beach erosion.

Thank you for bringing the condition of your room to our attention and we will make sure that the proper staff is notified.

We hope to have you as our guest again soon. There will always be room for you at the Caravelle!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,005
    709
    312
    235
    214
See reviews for
1,132
640
30
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (623)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We come here from Ontario Canada...we are called snowbirds. We fly south for winter. We have been coming to this resort for 18 years and the last 2 as snowbirds. We love the location away from the busy Grand Strand, but easy access to all, restaurants, shows,shopping etc. The resort is well managed, and offers many kinds of accomodations. Our 1 bedroom suite in the St.Clements Bldg, has a wonderful view of the beach. All suites are different as they are individually owned, but rented through the Caravelle Resort. We will continue to come here as snowbirds for many years, its our place away from home.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carol g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravenhurst, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We have been coming here on and off (went rv-ing for 5 years) for over 15 years and always have a great time. We are "monthlys" and Patsy and Sheila run a program for us that is second to none, complete with a weekly cocktail dinner, coffee hour, etc. The staff from maintenance, to front desk are always friendly, professional, and helpful. I don't golf anymore, but i have seen Ken in action, and i can vouch that he works extremely hard to make sure his golf groups are 100% accomodated. This is not a new building, but they are constantly making changes and improvements to keep up to date, and most folks we talk to are enjoying their stay. The heated pool(s) are an additional incentive. All in all we believe we are getting good value for our buck, and always recommend the Caravelle to our friends.

Room Tip: Try "ocean front" if you like the sound of waves and the morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evelyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
customerservice_12, Guest Relations Manager at The Caravelle Resort, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
It is our sincere pleasure here at the Caravelle to spend the winter with our snowbird couples, and especially our couples who have stayed with us over the years, you are part of our Caravelle family! We do have a great time, don't we? Patsy, Shelia and Kenny work hard along with all of us to make sure that you have the finest accommodations, food and beverage and events we can offer. We await your return next year with even more events being offered to make sure that you always enjoy your winter beach home!

There will always be room for you at the Caravelle!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

This resort was a very nice place for a quick get a way. The breakfast was awesome. We loved this place. My husband and I have stayed in Myrtle Beach a lot and I felt like it was better than the rest. I will be coming back again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CherylB935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
customerservice_12, Guest Relations Manager at The Caravelle Resort, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
It was our pleasure to have you as our guest. There will always be room for you at the Caravelle!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Huge Ocean Front Suite
Amazing jacuzzi in suite
2 full bathrooms. Master bath was wonderful
Great Romantic getaway

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krempie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
customerservice_12, Guest Relations Manager at The Caravelle Resort, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest! We look forward to your return. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.9 km away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#25 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
0.3 km away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#39 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,366 reviews
10.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,053 reviews
5.8 km away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#26 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
11.2 km away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Caravelle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Caravelle Resort

Property: The Caravelle Resort
Address: 6900 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3640
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#42 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price range (per night): $123 - $419
Hotel Class:3 star — The Caravelle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 574
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Message from TripAdvisor: Condominiums at the Caravelle Resort Hotel are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Caravelle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myrtle Beach Caravelle Resort
Caravelle Resort Myrtle Beach Sc
Caravelle Hotel Myrtle Beach Sc
The Caravelle Golf Family Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing