We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow what a great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dayton House Resort
Ranked #30 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Kinston, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow what a great place”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

I am a review reader when it comes to destinaions to visit or stay when we travel and i have to let you all know this was a excellent place for the money.....I could not have asked for anything better. Me and my church family stayed in this resort to support our Pastor whom was preaching in Conway SC that Sunday morning. They had our rooms ready way before check in time. Friendly staff and great location. The grounds & rooms where clean as well.I had an ocean front room and i was able to sleep with the balcony door open to hear the waves as I slept through the night. Although the weather was very cold out the pools and hot tubs where hot and very clean. My Husband and I both will definitely recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Bring your camera the views are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ninabonita526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    874
    561
    250
    90
    88
See reviews for
856
495
47
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

This was our first trip to Myrtle Beach, SC. We chose Dayton House based on the good reviews we've read here on tripadvisor. What a surprise! Dayton House Resort is located right on the beach in a very good location. It was not crowded at all, just the right amount of people. The private beach umbrellas and lounge chairs added to the appeal of this hotel. We booked an Oceanfront Efficiency room located in the South Building. The room we stayed in was on the 6th floor with a private balcony and gave a great view of the ocean and the pools below. Our room included a kitchenette area with a full size refrigerator, stove, sink, pots, pans, and cooking utensils and other necessities. Everything was clean and neat. The beds were comfortable and we slept very well. The Dayton House is close to many stores, and not too far from Broadway on the Beach. A great place for families. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: For a better view of the beach, stay on the 4th floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Marseea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

This was our first time staying here. We enjoyed our time here. The room was nice and clean and we loved that it was right on the beach. It was nice for a weekend getaway. However the one thing I did not like was one evening we called the front desk to see of we could get a extra blanket for the wall bed we were told if we wanted it then we would have to come get it because they did not have time to bring it to us being they only had 2 people working. WE thought that was rude and strange since it was early in the evening but o well not sure if we will return.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skye0726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stony point,nc
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We have stayed at Dayton House many times and always have a great stay. We spent Christmas there and it was wonderful. We returned in Feb. and everyone is always nice.
Thank you for having a very nice family place. Also like Uncle John's across the street. We always have breakfast there. The staff is always pleasant.
Looking forward to our next trip to Dayton House.

Room Tip: The room will depend on the size of family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bkmjkm57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We've stayed at the Dayton House now for 4 years. It's a great little place with nice pools. The rooms are dated, but really, you aren't in them very long, so no big deal. Went to book my vacation for this year, and found out they want $821 for a week vs the $543 I paid last year??? I called and asked why the price increase. Did they update the rooms? I was told, no, they didn't do any updates, they are just trying to be more competitive in their price? Given there are so many other facilities, I'm really second guessing if I want to stay here again, when I can go somewhere else for a lot cheaper!

Room Tip: Higher floors have nicer views, and less noise from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SPopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.4 km away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#11 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,014 reviews
0.7 km away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,136 reviews
6.0 km away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,971 reviews
2.3 km away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#36 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,222 reviews
5.0 km away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dayton House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dayton House Resort

Property: Dayton House Resort
Address: 2400 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3243
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price range (per night): $97 - $345
Hotel Class:3 star — Dayton House Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dayton House Resort has been creating generations of family fun for over 50 years and counting! Located oceanfront in Myrtle Beach, SC, the resort offers guests a relaxed, uncrowded, family atmosphere. The most popular amenity is a two-acre oceanfront tanning and picnic lawn filled with yellow-umbrella covered picnic tables and lounges. Other amenities include two indoor pools, a large zero-entry outdoor pool, lazy river tube ride, three Jacuzzis, John's Restaurant open daily for breakfast and lunch, the Yella Umbrella poolside bar and grill (seasonal), business center with computer access and coffee service open 24 hours, guest laundry, fitness room, ATM, vending machines, and complimentary on-site parking. The Dayton House is also centrally located in walking distance to the Myrtle Beach Convention Center, the Myrtle Beach Sports Center, and one mile to Broadway at the Beach and the boardwalk attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dayton House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dayton House Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton House Myrtle Beach
Dayton Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing