We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for the price.”
Review of Ocean Plaza Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Plaza Motel
Ranked #164 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Prattville, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Value for the price.”
Reviewed 15 July 2011

The day before our trip we read a lot of bad reviews and was very nervous about going to this hotel where we booked 5 rooms for 4 nights, but went anyways. The staff at the front desk was extremely friendly and allowed my family to check in early despite the 4:00 check-in. The hotel is older, but it was clean. If you are expecting new you will be disappointed but they do not charge fancy and new prices. We had a good experience. We enjoyed our stay and would stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xXFunMemoriesXx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    43
    46
    31
    110
See reviews for
78
62
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tifton, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Me and my wife booked a room here for our honeymoon. We would have booked elsewhere but this was the best place we could swing since we were both under 21. When we arrived to the hotel the employee at the desk was very courteous and helped us find our room. The room was definitely not the best on earth, but I suppose you get what you pay for. It was in a fairly convenient position on the ocean front. Now, the hallways were very dirty for most of the stay. There was trash everywhere. At one point there were 2 liter coke bottles floating in the outside pool. Besides that everything was fine.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonalton92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
savannah georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

i am a loyal customer me & my family come to your hotel every year for the last 7 yearsi was supposed to stay 3 days instead i stay 2 days forgot what date i was supposed to come got there a day later.took my money for the day i missed i felt like i should have least got half price or stay another day. this year door on handle was broke & lights out in bathroom. i love the hotel and i dont want your to loose my bussiness however i feel next year if i decide to come back, i should get half price or a extra day. thank you mrs. bessie moore.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank 4evermoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Despite all the bad reviews this motel has, we were very pleased with it. We had a room facing the ocean with a small kitchette with it. We were able to cook some of meals in our room, which helped with our budget. The room was clean, the beds comfortable and housekeeping cleaned the room everyday we were there. The only downside were the teenagers playing outside in the pool at all hours and the time the elevator was not working, of course that had to be the day we were leaving, had to haul our suitcases down 2 flights of stairs.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank windy075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
povmgmt, Manager at Ocean Plaza Motel, responded to this review, 23 June 2011
I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a comment about your recent stay with us at Ocean Plaza. I am glad to hear that overall you were able to enjoy your stay. We would love to have you as a guest again with us next time you are in the Myrtle Beach area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waxhaw, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2011

Do not stay at this motel. The room was so dirty we had to go buy sheets, antiseptic and Lysol before even thinking about touching anything. All night long you were awoken by noisy rowdy teenagers banging the doors, windows, ceiling and floors. The manager screwed our reservation with another at the sister hotel and then part way into the stay banged on our door in the morning accusing us of getting into a fight with other people and showed us dried blood on the backside of a curtain as their supposed "truth". They called the police who didn't ever even mention pressing charges but told us we needed to leave. We had only stayed two nights when we paid in advance through Hotels.com for 3. They didn't offer a refund and said we had to call Hotels.com

This place is disgusting! do not stay here

Room Tip: Stay somwhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mailstat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polymgr, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Motel, responded to this review, 28 April 2011
Please accept my sincere apologies if your room number got mixed up for the one at the property next door. We do have two properties side by side with some same room numbers. We have limited accessibility to changes, cancellations, or refunds of reservations booked through a third party company such as Hotels.com. If you had made front desk aware that the cleanliness of the room did not meet your standards after check-in they would have been happy to assist you at that time. Again, my sincere apologies for any mix-ups.
Thank you,
Brenna Gahagen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
2.1 km away
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
#96 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
46 reviews
3.3 km away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#139 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
683 reviews
0.3 km away
Days Inn Myrtle Beach-Grand Strand
Days Inn Myrtle Beach-Grand Stra...
#152 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Sea Horn Motel
Sea Horn Motel
#138 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
150 reviews
2.3 km away
Tropical Seas Hotel
Tropical Seas Hotel
#111 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
214 reviews
1.3 km away
Mystic Sea Resort
Mystic Sea Resort
#123 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Plaza Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Plaza Motel

Property: Ocean Plaza Motel
Address: 1005 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4441
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#93 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price range (per night): $94 - $297
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Plaza Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean Plaza Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Plaza Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Plaza Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing