We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm Hooked!”
Review of Hook & Barrel

Hook & Barrel
Reserve with OpenTable
Hook & Barrel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 960 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Price range: USD 8 - USD 40
Restaurant details
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We made a reservation (advised) and were seated immediately. The decor of the restaurant is striking, with the jellyfish lighting over the bar a centerpiece. Our server was quite helpful and answered all our questions. A pimento cheese appetizer was a nice start. My crab cakes were very good, and the sides were delicious. My wife's Angry Clams (over pasta) were devoured. Even with a starter salad, we saved rom for dessert, and our Key Lime pie amazingly delicious. Plenty of free parking. Good wine list. The design of the restrooms was innovative and intelligently creative. High marks all around.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 248 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018

We were vacationing on Myrtle Beach and found this gem. The food is beyond delicious! Everything was so fresh and tasty- from seafood to steaks, appetizers and drinks (they have wine and beer are tap). Fun, rustic atmosphere, and the first green restaurant in the area that's sustainable and uses local produce. The chefs and restaurant team are really special. The only slight down was that the service was slow-- I think because they are so new and are still figuring out how to accommodate so many people. Make your reservations now!

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank vinamarbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

This restaurant is superb and we are so glad we ditched Dirty Don's and came here. I was thoroughly impressed with the food, the service and the ambiance. We had 2 people in their 60's, two people in their 40's and two kids 8 and 7 and they ALL commented on how good the food was and asked if we could come back. You will not see your type of fish options listed as they try to "stay local" and since the fish (for the most part) is brought in everyday, they do not know what it will be or how much they will get. You do, however, have the option of how you would like it cooked - blackened, Mediterranean, etc., and then you pick what sauce you would like with it. I am telling you, you cannot lose with this restaurant. Hook and Barrel will be a definite on our next trip back to Myrtle Beach!

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank areising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We had the perfect dining experience here! We took our 3 children (13, 10, & 7) while on vacation from Michigan. I researched the area because we wanted to find the best and freshest seafood, and they absolutely did deliver. Christina, our server, was very knowledgeable and friendly; she pointed us in the right direction with our food choices and we were all very happy! Highly recommend the She Crab Soup and the paella (wow!!). Both my husband and son got the fresh cobia and were extremely happy with it. The ambiance was perfect, both family friendly and coastal feeling. They pride themselves of being an eco-friendly restaurant and the owners came by several times to make sure we were happy with our meals.If you are in the area and, like us, wanting to get some of the fresh flavors the coast has to offer, you must go to Hook & Barrel. If you live here, I am sure you already know about this fabulous place! We will be back when we visit again. Thank you H&B!

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TomDeanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

This is our last minute decision to come try out this restaurant. We were told this place is quite new. The restaurant itself is very clean with high ceiling and nice deco. We have a large party. So even we made the reservation, we still have to wait a bit. The food was prepared to perfection. The service was a bit slow though. We had to quite a bit after the appetizer for the entree to come.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alexice917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hook & Barrel also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Hook & Barrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing