We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Ripley's Aquarium

Ripley's Aquarium
Ranked #30 of 127 things to do in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Glide on 330ft moving path beneath the Dangerous Reef! TOUCH sharks, stingrays, hermit crabs & jellies! Experience a world of eels, colorful fish, mermaids & poisonous predators! NOW OPEN - Glass Bottom Boat Adventure! Ripley's Myrtle Beach offers 5 unique attractions open 365 days a year. Don't miss all the fun!
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Baby buggy parking, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Stairs / lift
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Way too much money for such a small aquarium. There were too many people inside to be able to move comfortably. There was not enough staff to keep the crowds from entering IN the exits and to keep the lines moving. It was unfortunate because my children seemed excited about the touch tanks and sea creatures they could have seen. Overall we were very disappointed in our Ripley’s Aquarium experience. We will NOT be going back to this attraction again.

Thank Mommaof3girls117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corey H, Public Relations Manager at Ripley's Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2018

Thank you for visiting Ripley's! I am so sorry you did not have a good experience. We appreciate your feedback and have been looking into your concerns in each department. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,001)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"shark tunnel"
in 542 reviews
"horseshoe crabs"
in 351 reviews
"moving walkway"
in 198 reviews
"sea life"
in 224 reviews
"glass bottom boat"
in 173 reviews
"touch tank"
in 101 reviews
"sharks swim"
in 86 reviews
"conveyor belt"
in 81 reviews
"sting ray"
in 81 reviews
"behind the scenes"
in 85 reviews
"rainy day"
in 381 reviews
"gift shop"
in 369 reviews
"all ages"
in 281 reviews
"little pricey"
in 177 reviews
"great for kids"
in 83 reviews
"whole family"
in 99 reviews
"mermaid"
in 1,224 reviews
Filter

490 - 494 of 7,998 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Although it was pricey, it was definitely worth it. So many different type of fish and sharks! To see them swimming and living together was truly amazing.

I will definitely return to the aquarium.

Thank LilWilty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corey H, Public Relations Manager at Ripley's Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2018

Thank you for visiting Ripley's! We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Today we went to see the aquarium. It was laid out real nice. The shark area with the moving floor was great! We also loved being able to pet stingrays. What a great day. Lots of memories were made

Thank April A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corey H, Public Relations Manager at Ripley's Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2018

Thank you for visiting Ripley's! We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We visit Ripley at least once a year, and the kids often swim with the sharks and stingrays. This year we bought season passes.

TIP: Check Facebook and the aquarium web site for discounts and special offers. If you’re unsure about a season pass, no worries - you can credit your tickets toward the cost of a season pass before you leave for the day!

1  Thank Eric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corey H, Public Relations Manager at Ripley's Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2018

Thank you for visiting Ripley's! We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

First off, the spring break crowd WAS CRAZY... and they make you exit through the tiny gift shop. Let's just say pure chaos. With young children this is not fun.

Second, for a 3 year old, 5 year old and two adults it was close to $90. Which is a total ripoff. There are way better aquariums that like teaching about animals instead of collecting money.

I was not impressed with this aquarium at all and will not be back.

1  Thank michtraveler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corey H, Public Relations Manager at Ripley's Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2018

Thank you for visiting Ripley's! We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ripley's Aquarium also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Ripley's Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing