We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SAND DUNES--GREAT FOR FAMILIES WITH KIDS!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sand Dunes Resort & Spa
Ranked #156 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stay here every yaer, and go at least twice a year, if not more. The rooms are nice, and always clean. They have a breakfast where kids eat free with a paid adult, so you buy 2 adult breakfast buffets and you can get up to two kids free per each adult. They have a great waterpark with 2 lazy rivers, pools, and a kids area with waterslides. There are also places to eat on the property so you dont have to leave if you dont want to. It is on the beach so you dont have to walkk across the road to get to the beach. They have new management also who are very nice and easy to work with. The prices are comparable to all other family vacation hotels at the beach oceanfront. I read another review and they said the rooms were never vacuumed-- we have never had that problem--ours were vacuumed every day -- on all our trips here for the last 6 years straight. We have stayed at other places, but always revert back to here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (934)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

669 - 673 of 934 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2012

This place is a joke and believe me I'm being kind. It's dirty, it smells like a locker room, there are roaches (I killed several in our room) the included breakfast buffet is pretty bad. Very misleading info in the websites and brochures. We're extremely disappointed in this place and wouldn't consider coming back

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phoneguy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

My husband and I, along with our son and his family, stayed here for a World Series tournament during the week of July 20th-July 27th. Although old and in need of some renovations, it was comfortable. The two bedroom condo we were in was actually a one bedroom with kitchen/washer/dryer/bathroom, and a connecting door to a single room with bathroom and mini kitchen. Two different keys to get in. The washer/dryer in ours was old and rusted, and ruined some white clothes that we washed. The hotel is in a good location to many places. It has a fabulous water park for kids of all ages on the premises, with good lifeguards. The downside to this place........parking and elevators! The deck parking has only one way of getting in and out. An absolute nightmare! If you drive an SUV, which most of the cars were during our stay, there was a lot of backing up, traffic jams, etc. with cars/SUV's coming in and going out. Parking spaces were basically for compacts cars, but if no other cars were in the area, you could park your SUV. To boot....they don't have enough parking, and when getting to the very top of the deck parking....there is no way out other than to make a U-turn (it's a dead end)....if you dare. Elevators are just as bad. Unless you are lucky enough to be on the first floor in the hotel, and park on the first floor of the parking deck, you spend most of your time waiting for the elevators, then go down to the first floor only to walk to the parking deck, and then take an elevator back up to your car. So, it's up and down, down and up all the time. You CAN'T be in a hurry at this place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slick831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a 1 bedroom unit with kitchen and washer and dryer. Elevators were very slow and we were on the 12th floor so going up the stairs was out of the question. Our unit seemed like one that was apart of a timeshare although no one spoke about it. The resort definitely needs updating and better management. Parking was very difficult although there are parking garages up and down are the same way and very narrow. Hotel staff did not know any information about what amenities were in the different rooms nor did they know about renting chairs and umbrellas on the beach, they said there was no charge but actually it was $30 a day for 2 chairs and an umbrella. Pool chairs are no charge but must stay at the pool. Mangos restaurant in the building was very good both food and priced reasonable. Probably would go back to myrtle beach but would find somewhere nicer and less expensive to stay for a week. Rates were $259 a night but after all the taxes they hit you with it was well over$300 a night! Housekeeping brought fresh towels everyday and made the beds but never changed the sheets or vacuumed.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mommp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed July 28-Aug 4 and after reading reviews i was very scared to show up. We arived and were greeted as soon as we came in. we stayed in a 3 bedroom on the 19th floor in penthouse 6 and it was great. very clean maid came everyday at 9:30 to see what we needed. we got the package price so the extras were a great touch for Free! Room has 3 bedroom & 3 baths making it easy for 9 guest. The kids love the waterpark n i floated in the lazy river.very relaxing when we were not on the beach. i would say go and see for yourself. i think u will be happy. I was!!! Ask for PH 6...good luck and have fun !!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dhalley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 km away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,659 reviews
0.2 km away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#20 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,248 reviews
3.3 km away
Sands Ocean Club Resort
Sands Ocean Club Resort
#137 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Caravelle Resort
The Caravelle Resort
#24 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,582 reviews
2.8 km away
Sands Beach Club Resort
Sands Beach Club Resort
#133 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
246 reviews
12.8 km away
Crown Reef Beach Resort and Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Dunes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Dunes Resort & Spa

Address: 201 74th Ave N, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3832
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#89 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $98 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sand Dunes Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sand Dunes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Dunes Resort And Spa
Sand Dunes Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sand Dunes Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Sand Dunes Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing