We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take time to listen to the Gullah Culture Speaker”

Boone Hall Plantation
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Working plantation with true southern charm. Features world famous avenue of oaks, 9 original slave cabins, butterfly garden, and a colonial revival style 1936 mansion. Tours and theatrical performances offered daily. Used in the filming of North and South, Queen, the Tempest, and The Notebook.
Reviewed 13 November 2018

My mom and I loved our visit, we especially loved the speaker who talked about the Gullah and slave culture on the plantation. It was very informative and she was very passionate about her culture. This was no additional charge and something all our young people should know about. The gardens are beautiful and we enjoyed our stroll thru them. I wish you could see more of the house, you only really get to see 3 rooms. The tractor ride around the plantation was also great and very educational!

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank melissatipton0515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"slave cabins"
in 478 reviews
"house tour"
in 752 reviews
"gullah presentation"
in 366 reviews
"the main house"
in 197 reviews
"oak trees"
in 165 reviews
"working farm"
in 134 reviews
"slave street"
in 132 reviews
"coach tour"
in 129 reviews
"first floor"
in 162 reviews
"slave life"
in 94 reviews
"tram ride"
in 78 reviews
"butterfly garden"
in 77 reviews
"live oaks"
in 132 reviews
"tour of the grounds"
in 59 reviews
"gullah theater"
in 48 reviews
"live presentation"
in 46 reviews
"cotton dock"
in 43 reviews
Filter

21 - 25 of 3,542 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2018 via mobile

I’m a huge North & South fan, so I was really excited for this tour. When touring the mansion, you only get to see two rooms. You had to sign up for any guided tours of the estate, which had wait times of an hour. Although it was only $24; I was still pretty disappointed. My expectations may have been set to high.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank nhiltz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2018

Superb residence and fun guide to show us around. The gardens are magnificent and looking at the few lovely horses was lovely. The best part though was to attend the one-woman show with this lady singing and telling us all about the past, her ancestors and life as a slave. She was amazing, what a voice and personality. We also took a wagon ride through the back of the property, fun to see how community-minded they are as there were many decorations ready for Hallowe'en.

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank Lilly062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2018 via mobile

I visited the Plantation when I attended the Scottish Highland Games. I could not believe how big the grounds are. Everything was well organized and easy to access. When we left we saw all the things they had hanging for Halloween. I'll bet that was a lot of fun at night to drive through. I plan to go back sometime to visit the house.

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank BF61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2018

Despite the extreme heat, my husband and I truly enjoyed our tour of the Boone Hall Plantation. There are a variety of tours, one on a hayride of the grounds, the other is in the "mansion". And there is a play and a self guided tour of the slave's cabins. The best part was the variety of ways the information was delivered and the knowledge and hospitality of the staff.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Laurie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boone Hall Plantation also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Boone Hall Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing