We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Boone Hall Plantation
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Working plantation with true southern charm. Features world famous avenue of oaks, 9 original slave cabins, butterfly garden, and a colonial revival style 1936 mansion. Tours and theatrical performances offered daily. Used in the filming of North and South, Queen, the Tempest, and The Notebook.
Reviewed 9 January 2018

Lovely place, but not quite authentic and that only becomes clear once you take the tour.
The current mansion was constructed in 1935, albeit of a lot of salvaged materials; the house is still technically a residence of the current owners and so only three rooms were viewed. The wagon rides of the grounds were canceled that day because of weather (cold) but at the time we were there (noon) it was sunny and 'warm'. The slave quarters were authentic and had useful information and displays.
Overall, other plantations may be a better bet.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank Doug J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"gullah culture"
in 276 reviews
"slave cabins"
in 477 reviews
"house tour"
in 752 reviews
"the main house"
in 195 reviews
"oak trees"
in 165 reviews
"working farm"
in 133 reviews
"slave street"
in 132 reviews
"coach tour"
in 129 reviews
"first floor"
in 161 reviews
"slave life"
in 94 reviews
"tram ride"
in 78 reviews
"butterfly garden"
in 77 reviews
"live oaks"
in 131 reviews
"tour of the grounds"
in 58 reviews
"live presentation"
in 46 reviews
"cotton dock"
in 43 reviews
"big house"
in 39 reviews
Filter

377 - 381 of 3,537 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

A beautiful stately home
Very well maintained
We did feel it was quite expensive for what it offered
The main house tour was around 40 min and only included 4 rooms would have like to see more
The slave quarters looks neglected as lots of item on display was removed
The people are very friendly and knowledgeable
Due to the weather there were no tours of the plantations itself which I though should have reflected on the admission price

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank AmeliavdBerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

I think it looks more modern than the usual plantation houses I've seen in New Orleans and attending the tour confirms my initial assumption. But it's still an interesting tour. I'd recommend driving to the place itself so you can save extra dollars for the total tour price.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank V4c4t10n3r88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

The plantation is beautiful, the drive of live oaks is a wonderful way of entering.
The slave street is a well set out display of what life for a slave was like. Each of the slave houses is set out to show a different aspect of the way slaves lived and died.
There was a talk giving an overview of the time from late 1700s to end of slavery and beyond well worth listening to.
The plantation house tour was interesting although the house was not built until the 1930s we own a house far older than that, so a bit disappointed that it is quite modern. I had hoped to see something older.
We ran out of time so did not go on the buggy tour around the plantation.
Well worth a visit.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

Wow, this place is great and full of history. Very well organized with many things to do in small amounts of time so it keeps the attention of kids. Beautiful grounds and knowledgeable staff.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boone Hall Plantation also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Boone Hall Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing