We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Save
  
Ways to Experience Boone Hall Plantation
from USD 53.00
More Info
from USD 126.14
More Info
from USD 69.00
More Info
Reviews (3,539)
Filter reviews
3,539 results
Traveller rating
1,910
1,097
341
121
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,910
1,097
341
121
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviews slave cabins house tour gullah presentation the main house oak trees working farm slave street coach tour first floor slave life tram ride butterfly garden live oaks tour of the grounds gullah theater live presentation cotton dock
Filter
Updating list...
381 - 386 of 3,539 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2018

The plantation is beautiful, the drive of live oaks is a wonderful way of entering.
The slave street is a well set out display of what life for a slave was like. Each of the slave houses is set out to show a different aspect of the way slaves lived and died.
There was a talk giving an overview of the time from late 1700s to end of slavery and beyond well worth listening to.
The plantation house tour was interesting although the house was not built until the 1930s we own a house far older than that, so a bit disappointed that it is quite modern. I had hoped to see something older.
We ran out of time so did not go on the buggy tour around the plantation.
Well worth a visit.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

Wow, this place is great and full of history. Very well organized with many things to do in small amounts of time so it keeps the attention of kids. Beautiful grounds and knowledgeable staff.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

History from the house tour, Gullah presentation, and slave houses is a valuable source of information; history that warrants facing, pondering, and learning.

Tractor tour focused on current and past agricultural products and wildlife, didn’t focus on or refer to plantation life and conditions.

Though the beauty of the plantation is a typical backdrop for weddings and lavish events, it is hard to imagine participating in celebrations at a site that was built on the backs of enslaved persons.

Thus, we wrestled with the juxtaposition of those two present elements-vital historic preservation and location for extravagant festivities.

However, we highly value this opportunity to experience uncomfortable wrestling as it can be impetus for necessary continued progress in society today.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank LisaF42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017

We visited Boone Hall and learned much about the families who lived there and the history of the plantation during and after the civil war. It is a must see for any history enthusiast.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank k s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

We were here over the Christmas/ NY break. It was very crowded especially for the house tour. Our tour had so many people in it, that it was extremely hard to see anything in the rooms (you only get to visit 3 rooms). The tour guide was great but it felt very impersonal with that many people.
We had to wait for a turn on the tractor ride in the cold. Once again it was very crowded and it was hard to hear the guide. I caught maybe every 3rd or 4th word.
Boone Hall is very obviously a tourist destination first and foremost so it did not feel very authentic. I would not recommend it. Perhaps it is nicer in summer and spring?

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank GingerTreeFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews