We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret on Hilton Head”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Spinnaker at Shipyard
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We used to own unit 107 (was model unit) week 41 up until a couple of years ago. We loved Spinnaker because it is on a dead-end road, on the golf course and is only a short walk to the beach. Our package included 4 rds of golf daily and an hour of tennis. There are also 2 courts onsite you can use any time. What was so nice is that each unit has a deck out back and because they are townhouses you have no one above or below you. Most of the time the only sounds you hear are the ocean, the birds and the sound of people hitting golf balls. The units are large, well appointed and always maintained. There are also 2 bikes which come with the unit which saves a couple of bucks plus the aggravation of renting. Unfortunately we sold our one week for a longer ownership, but we always seem to compare everything else to Spinnaker.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Saltydogcafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tennisheather, Public Relations Manager at Spinnaker at Shipyard, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review regarding Spinnaker at Shipyard! We are so pleased you had a great experience at our resort with your week. We not only manage these properties, but rent them as well, so feel free to contact Tuzy at 843.686.6662 if you would like to rent in the future for your vacation on Hilton Head Island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
There are newer reviews for Spinnaker at Shipyard
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 70 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2012

If you are looking for a great place, clean, efficent, spacious and quite this is the location that you want. The check-in was actually fun, easy, and very helpful. The property was clean and ready for us. You really have to see this to appreciate the value you get. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Try to get in the property with the "400s"-- nice location.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LEO S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

This is our 5th trip to HH and we've stayed in various resorts located all over the island. We found Spinnaker to be wonderfully located--set back in a beautiful wooded area overlooking a golf course with trails for biking or walking, yet close enough to get to any where else you wanted to go. Yes, it is a resort better suited to couples or an older crowd but after last years resort where kids were running around all time, this was a pleasant change. Condo was large, clean and had everything we needed for a wonderful stay. Only negative for me was the bikes---they were very old and in poor condition so I was afraid to ride one.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

We stayed at Spinnaker at Shipyard on Hilton Head Island in June. We were here on a family vacation. We have three teenagers 14, 16 & 18. We all agreed that this was probably one of the most beautiful locations we've stayed at since our trip to California.

The grounds around Shipyard are beautifully landscaped with very large trees and bright colored flowers. Every tree is dripping with spanish moss which adds to the ambience. It is very shaded for bike rides along the bike paths. Two bikes were included with our rental and the kids took turns riding to the beach. You can rent additional bikes at area locations if needed. You are not directly on the beach but very close bike or walking distance. We also drove our car and parked in a lot within Shipyard and walked right onto the beach from there.

The unit was a 2 bedroom townhouse with 2 and 1/2 baths. The sofa in the living room pulled out also. The master has a king bed and the 2nd bedroom had two twin beds. Each bedroom had it's own bath attached and the 1/2 bath is on the main floor. It appears that some recent updates have been made but nothing elaborate. Wallpaper was painted over, countertops were all changed to granite but the showers and tubs were original or appeared to be. The cultured marble master bath shower and tub were showing their age. The unit also had a laundry room right off the kitchen with a full size washer and dryer. Once my husband got the kink out of the dryer hose it worked fine. Everything was clean but again the master bath shower was not new so there is a build-up of years of use. All the usual dishware in the kitchen and enough towels and wash cloths to go around but daily use will mean daily laundry. I like keeping up with my own towels while on vacation. I'm not fond of the towel exchange programs! Also, the carpet appeared to be clean but my husbands socks proved that to be wrong!

As far as the island goes, we enjoyed it, the restaurants and the beaches. The island is not very large so we felt a little congested. I heard June is the slowest summer month so look out if you plan on traveling here in July or August I guess. The beach is a little on the crowded side with beach chairs and blue umbrellas set up side by side. The Tanger outlets were fun for shopping and Coligny Plaza was good for eats and treats and shopping. Overall it was a nice time and a little different from our usual Florida vacations. I would stay here again. Also I put up some photos. Happy travels!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank summatimegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Spinnaker is OK. The units are pretty nice with plenty of room for small family. The pool is OK and rarely crowded. Its mostly older people and little to no activities for kids or young married people. Most people seemed to be 50+. I have been here numerous times and always the same. If you want a very quiet vacation with an older crowd and little to no activities this is your place! Just not for me and my family.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wooldric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
2.1 km away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
0.4 km away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
1.6 km away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 km away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
6.8 km away
Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort
2.3 km away
Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spinnaker at Shipyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spinnaker at Shipyard

Address: 10 Barcelona Rd, Hilton Head, SC 29928-6306
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range: $230 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Spinnaker at Shipyard 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These spacious NON-SMOKING villas feature:sleeping maximum of 6 peoplefree daily Greens Fees * for up to 4 daily at Shipyard Golf Clubdaily tennis* at Van Der Meer Racquet Clubtwo free bicyclesfree wireless internet and free local and long distance callson-site pool and tennis courtsliving room features 36" screen cable television/DVD, stereo system, sleeper sofa, half bath and large picture windows dining room that seats 6 peoplelarge, well-equipped kitchen with granite countertops and breakfast counterlarge private decks for outside dining with great lagoon and golf views .full size washer and dryerking size bed, high ceilings and ceiling fan, cable television/DVD player and window seat in master bedroomgranite countertops, jetted tub, glass shower stall, high ceilings with skylights and double vanity in the master bath second bedroom has two twin beds, cable television/DVD player and private bath with tub/showersupervised children’s activities in season and pool party with live entertainment* Free Greens Fees and tennis at Van Der Meer Racquet Club are available to Hilton Head Accommodations rental guests only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Spinnaker at Shipyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spinnaker At Shipyard Hotel Hilton Head
Spinnaker Shipyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing