We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene relaxing atmoshere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spinnaker at Shipyard
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2011

This is our 5th trip to HH and we've stayed in various resorts located all over the island. We found Spinnaker to be wonderfully located--set back in a beautiful wooded area overlooking a golf course with trails for biking or walking, yet close enough to get to any where else you wanted to go. Yes, it is a resort better suited to couples or an older crowd but after last years resort where kids were running around all time, this was a pleasant change. Condo was large, clean and had everything we needed for a wonderful stay. Only negative for me was the bikes---they were very old and in poor condition so I was afraid to ride one.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 82 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2011

We stayed at Spinnaker at Shipyard on Hilton Head Island in June. We were here on a family vacation. We have three teenagers 14, 16 & 18. We all agreed that this was probably one of the most beautiful locations we've stayed at since our trip to California.

The grounds around Shipyard are beautifully landscaped with very large trees and bright colored flowers. Every tree is dripping with spanish moss which adds to the ambience. It is very shaded for bike rides along the bike paths. Two bikes were included with our rental and the kids took turns riding to the beach. You can rent additional bikes at area locations if needed. You are not directly on the beach but very close bike or walking distance. We also drove our car and parked in a lot within Shipyard and walked right onto the beach from there.

The unit was a 2 bedroom townhouse with 2 and 1/2 baths. The sofa in the living room pulled out also. The master has a king bed and the 2nd bedroom had two twin beds. Each bedroom had it's own bath attached and the 1/2 bath is on the main floor. It appears that some recent updates have been made but nothing elaborate. Wallpaper was painted over, countertops were all changed to granite but the showers and tubs were original or appeared to be. The cultured marble master bath shower and tub were showing their age. The unit also had a laundry room right off the kitchen with a full size washer and dryer. Once my husband got the kink out of the dryer hose it worked fine. Everything was clean but again the master bath shower was not new so there is a build-up of years of use. All the usual dishware in the kitchen and enough towels and wash cloths to go around but daily use will mean daily laundry. I like keeping up with my own towels while on vacation. I'm not fond of the towel exchange programs! Also, the carpet appeared to be clean but my husbands socks proved that to be wrong!

As far as the island goes, we enjoyed it, the restaurants and the beaches. The island is not very large so we felt a little congested. I heard June is the slowest summer month so look out if you plan on traveling here in July or August I guess. The beach is a little on the crowded side with beach chairs and blue umbrellas set up side by side. The Tanger outlets were fun for shopping and Coligny Plaza was good for eats and treats and shopping. Overall it was a nice time and a little different from our usual Florida vacations. I would stay here again. Also I put up some photos. Happy travels!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank summatimegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Spinnaker is OK. The units are pretty nice with plenty of room for small family. The pool is OK and rarely crowded. Its mostly older people and little to no activities for kids or young married people. Most people seemed to be 50+. I have been here numerous times and always the same. If you want a very quiet vacation with an older crowd and little to no activities this is your place! Just not for me and my family.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wooldric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

Wonderful townhouse style condos that have been naively upgraded, including granite counters, flat screen Tvs. We had previously viewed travelers photos and we were quite worried that it seemed very dated but all the units have been updated. They were very clean, we didn'T see any insects at all. Unit was minimally supplied (small coffee maker and teeny mugs) Bring your own Beach towel.Overall it was a great stay at a gorgeous setting with our unit (423) close enough to walk or bike to the beach.We loved the the 2nd bedroom had it's own private bathroom.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beachbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2011

This was our second trip to Hilton Head. Last year we were oceanfront and it was spectacular. This year we were prepared to be disappointed with our "landlubber" location, but quite the contrary. Shipyard is a quiet, scenic, gated compound with lots of personality. Shaded lanes winding around tennis courts, swimming pool, fairways and a variety of water amenities. Our unit had a pristine pond steps away from our private patio. It had a lighted fountain and a regular feathered visitor-- an Egret, I believe. If you need the "big water", It is an easy walk or a very short drive, (car or furnished bike) to the Shipyard beach area. We walked the wonderful beach nearly every day. At the unit, be prepared for steps. It's a climb to the front door, and a second climb to the upstairs bedrooms. Our unit was fresh and beautifully decorated. The kitchen had everything except coffee filters. We were delighted to find a large, flat screen TV on the living room wall. It must have been 50" . There are TVs in the bedrooms as well. Another amazing feature was the master bath. Huge double sink area, large marble whirlpool with companion shower, soaring ceiling with a skylight. Very impressive! You'll love this place... we did. Only two things were of general concern: There wasn't a single smoke alarm or CO2 alarm in the unit, and we slept upstairs. Secondly, housekeeping apparently missed a rather large colony of black mold in the utility room. All said and done, we would be delighted to have the opportunity to return to Spinnaker, and hope to do so next year. Oh by the way... be sure to check out Dye's Gullah Fixin's.. best low country food you'll ever taste. Southern home cooking at it's very best!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Suitemaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
2 km away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
11.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#15 of 28 in Hilton Head
883 reviews
2.8 km away
Days Inn Hilton Head
Days Inn Hilton Head
#25 of 28 in Hilton Head
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa
1.7 km away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
2.1 km away
Coral Sands Resort
Coral Sands Resort
#2 of 52 in Hilton Head
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spinnaker at Shipyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spinnaker at Shipyard

Address: 10 Barcelona Rd, Hilton Head, SC 29928-6306
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range: $179 - $470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Spinnaker at Shipyard 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These spacious NON-SMOKING villas feature:sleeping maximum of 6 peoplefree daily Greens Fees * for up to 4 daily at Shipyard Golf Clubdaily tennis* at Van Der Meer Racquet Clubtwo free bicyclesfree wireless internet and free local and long distance callson-site pool and tennis courtsliving room features 36" screen cable television/DVD, stereo system, sleeper sofa, half bath and large picture windows dining room that seats 6 peoplelarge, well-equipped kitchen with granite countertops and breakfast counterlarge private decks for outside dining with great lagoon and golf views .full size washer and dryerking size bed, high ceilings and ceiling fan, cable television/DVD player and window seat in master bedroomgranite countertops, jetted tub, glass shower stall, high ceilings with skylights and double vanity in the master bath second bedroom has two twin beds, cable television/DVD player and private bath with tub/showersupervised children’s activities in season and pool party with live entertainment* Free Greens Fees and tennis at Van Der Meer Racquet Club are available to Hilton Head Accommodations rental guests only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Spinnaker at Shipyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spinnaker At Shipyard Hotel Hilton Head
Spinnaker Shipyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing