We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Spinnaker at Shipyard
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
USD 89*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marriott's Grande Ocean(Hilton Head)
USD 499*
Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Hilton Head(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
USD 174*
USD 153*
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
USD 238*
USD 213*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
USD 242*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 244*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
USD 163*
USD 153*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Hilton Head(Hilton Head)
USD 62*
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 450*
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
48
39
6
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
39
6
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseboth bedroomsfree golffoot alligatorsmall appliancesrci exchangespent a wonderful weekfull kitchenhilton head islandmaster bathshopping and dininggreat vacationvery nice place to stayswimming poolputting greennice propertywasher and dryer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Spinnaker is OK. The units are pretty nice with plenty of room for small family. The pool is OK and rarely crowded. Its mostly older people and little to no activities for kids or young married people. Most people seemed to be 50+. I have been here numerous times and always the same. If you want a very quiet vacation with an older crowd and little to no activities this is your place! Just not for me and my family.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wooldric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

Wonderful townhouse style condos that have been naively upgraded, including granite counters, flat screen Tvs. We had previously viewed travelers photos and we were quite worried that it seemed very dated but all the units have been updated. They were very clean, we didn'T see any insects at all. Unit was minimally supplied (small coffee maker and teeny mugs) Bring your own Beach towel.Overall it was a great stay at a gorgeous setting with our unit (423) close enough to walk or bike to the beach.We loved the the 2nd bedroom had it's own private bathroom.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beachbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2011

This was our second trip to Hilton Head. Last year we were oceanfront and it was spectacular. This year we were prepared to be disappointed with our "landlubber" location, but quite the contrary. Shipyard is a quiet, scenic, gated compound with lots of personality. Shaded lanes winding around tennis courts, swimming pool, fairways and a variety of water amenities. Our unit had a pristine pond steps away from our private patio. It had a lighted fountain and a regular feathered visitor-- an Egret, I believe. If you need the "big water", It is an easy walk or a very short drive, (car or furnished bike) to the Shipyard beach area. We walked the wonderful beach nearly every day. At the unit, be prepared for steps. It's a climb to the front door, and a second climb to the upstairs bedrooms. Our unit was fresh and beautifully decorated. The kitchen had everything except coffee filters. We were delighted to find a large, flat screen TV on the living room wall. It must have been 50" . There are TVs in the bedrooms as well. Another amazing feature was the master bath. Huge double sink area, large marble whirlpool with companion shower, soaring ceiling with a skylight. Very impressive! You'll love this place... we did. Only two things were of general concern: There wasn't a single smoke alarm or CO2 alarm in the unit, and we slept upstairs. Secondly, housekeeping apparently missed a rather large colony of black mold in the utility room. All said and done, we would be delighted to have the opportunity to return to Spinnaker, and hope to do so next year. Oh by the way... be sure to check out Dye's Gullah Fixin's.. best low country food you'll ever taste. Southern home cooking at it's very best!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Suitemaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2010

I'm all about ambiance and Spinnker at Shipyard Plantation has the quiet, laid-back, southern charm and ambiance that one would expect to find in South Carolina. Even in February, the days can reach a toasty 70 degrees. Cycling around the island on the complimentary bikes is what I choose to do, while G plays the links. Occasionally, after a hard day of golf, G will hop on the other bike and we'll ride to our favorite restaurant. Mostly, though, when it comes to dinner, we first enjoy doing some shopping on the island's ridicuously expensive gourmet grocery store and then spending most nights preparing wonderful meals in the well-stocked full kitchen. The only meal I generally cook at home during the year is Thanksgiving dinner, so I really enjoy cooking while on vacation. I usually take one day to cruise to Savannah for the experience of Riverfront shopping. We have already made our reservations for February and March of 2011, but we'll be staying at the other end of the Shipyard Plantation, at Egret Point. We prefer to travel to Hilton Head before the golf season heats up and the island gets busy. If you (Lobsterlvrs) are among the smoking, drinking, bowling, betting, loud, tattooed, nose-tongue-eyebrow-navel-hardware-sporting crowd, you'll better appreciate Myrtle Beach; Hilton Head is for the rugby, polo, tennis, golf playing, bicycle-riding, gourmet-food-eating-type crowd.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank psycho_maven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2010

We have owned week 41 at Spinnaker at Shipyard about 10 years and have taken one of our vacations there each and every year. Each year the facility and the amenities are better and if there should be a problem, it is handled pronto. A pleasant 10/15 minute walk to the beach and after reaching the beach, about 1.5 miles to Caligney Square, one of my favorite spots in Hilton Head. It is truly my week of total relaxation!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank exclusivelyjoann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews