We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Location and Views!”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Captain's Walk 467

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Hilton Head, South Carolina

Reviews from our community

Poor - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Charlie R
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Needs lots of updates”
Reviewed 15 June 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Location is great but inside of this unit needs many updates. The living room furniture is nearly unusable. We had to put pillows under all of the cushions just to keep from sitting on the frame of the couches. The tv in the living room is one of the earliest that would be considered a flat screen, the master bedroom tv didn't work at all. Wallpaper was falling off the wall in several places. With very little effort and expense this could be a great unit but not in its current condition.

I see similar comments in past reviews so have little hope that the owner is interested in improving the unit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2017
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback from your past vacation. We sincerely apologize that your experience did not live up to the dream experience we hope to provide all of our guests.

We have shared your comments with the homeowner and he does have plans to refresh the unit in the fall. He is working with an interior decorator in hopes to accomplish some of these items you mentioned.

In the meantime, we have purchased two new flat screen televisions based on your comments. Those will be delivered to the condo this week!

Again, we are truly sorry that we missed the opportunity to provide you with nothing but a wonderful vacation. We hope that you think of us again and give us the opportunity to show you a much better experience on your next visit to beautiful Hilton Head Island!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
172lynett...
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Location and Views!”
Reviewed 11 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I have stayed at Captain's Walk more than 10 times over the last 18 years. When renting there, I am aware that the complex Is older, therefore some units may be a bit tired looking. However, this unit has had several updates compared to others, such as granite counter tops and stainless appliances. The guest room has 2 full size beds, which is nice. The mattress in the master was comfortable, and my children had no complaints with theirs. The unit was very clean, although the a/c vents did need a good vacuuming. The sofa was a bit caved in feeling but was clean and the chairs were just fine. While I don't consider this a luxury unit, for a family of 4 including 2 young adult children, it fit the bill perfectly. Working appliances, washer and dryer, location that is absolutely the best on the island, and closest beach access of any of the complexes. The view from the unit is among the best I've encountered! Being on the second floor, we were high enough to enjoy the beach, but had quick access via stairs or elevator to the beach and parking lot.
I am used to renting from an individual, so was skeptical about renting from Wyndham. I found the staff to be extremely accommodating, including texting us when the unit was available 4 hours early, so that we could go on in and begin our vacation! Pricing was in line with every other unit that we have rented in this complex,and the condition of the unit was similar to the others we have rented. So, does the unit need some cosmetic work? Yes, the showers and faucets need updating, and they need to invest in some new den furniture, but I have definitely rented worse for more money on HHI. Captain's Walk is the best complex for those who want lots of beach time and a great location near Shelter Cove,restaurants, mini-golf and virtually all island activites, This unit was a good unit for the money, not a luxury unit, but perfect for an active family to base out of for another memorable week on HHI.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terri D
Kirtland, Ohio, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Do not spend your money here....”
Reviewed 8 March 2016 for a stay in September 2015

TV in the guest room has no cable just a vhs player.
Mold in the bathroom, disgusting.
Mold above the vents in the dining room and master bedroom.
Peeling wallpaper in bedroom and living room.
The most uncomfortable beds and living room furniture - EVER!
Patio furniture is old and worn.
I contacted Wyndham and they reimbursed me some of my payment, but honestly, it wasn't worth it. This was like staying in the worst motel that you can possibly think of. I would never trust another Wyndham vacation rental again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location was good.
Liked least: everything else was terrible
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are truly sorry you did not have the great vacation experience we strive to provide all of our guests. Our goal is to meet and exceed your expectations. After speaking with you, we fully understand the impact these items had on your vacation. We wish that we would have put our best foot forward initially. As discussed, we have issued compensation to help make this right.

Additionally, as our properties are individually owned, we will be passing along your other comments regarding the furnishings and bedding to the owner so they can consider it in any future plans they may have with enhancing the property. We have already had the master bathroom fully cleaned as well as purchased and delivered a new master bedroom mattress. There are plans to renovate the master bathroom later this year. The Property Manager is also working with the homeowner and encouraging them to do further upgrades on the condo. We do recognize this property is more of a casual beach condo and have the rental rates adjusted to reflect that.

Nonetheless, we are again truly sorry for your experience and hope you give us the opportunity to provide you with a much better vacation on your next trip to the Island!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheilah W
1 review
“Really needs work”
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

OK that s how I describe the rental. For what I paid I expected a lot more. Wallpaper is hanging off the wall. The faucets are terrible. The TV in one bedroom is not hooked up to cable. The resort is very nice, but this condo is not. Be advise, keep looking.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
No pets
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing