We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (359)
Filter reviews
359 results
Traveller rating
174
118
33
20
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
174
118
33
20
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea pinestwin bedsbeach club next dooroldest marriottharbor town and south beachmarriott propertytime shareliving roomocean frontping ponggrand oceanhilton head islandan older propertyrented bikeswasher dryerfire pitfull kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 359 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

Our stay is VERY disappointing. Half of the building is under construction. Other buildings have scaffolding. Some guests are expected to stay in rooms without balconies! Tape, scaffolding and hazardous conditions prevent their use. There is nothing that tells you this. The expectation is that when you arrive that only the primary car can be on grounds. Any other car is expected to be placed over a mile away! We are in the “best” building and our guests have scaffolding outside the window! Either Marriott should close the hotel during this period OR give serious reductions in the rates. A lesser manager has given us a modest discount, but the general manager has never contacted us. I have to track her down today! Had I known these were the conditions at the hotel we would have reserved somewhere else! This is just out and out deception!

I have stayed at this hotel before. It was lovely. My husband is a platinum elite member with Marriott, so we are loyal customers. We brought friends to share the experience and are truly disappointed by the conditions and the lack of hotel response. We drove 8 hours. Our friends flew a long way. We were actually told we were welcome to cancel our reservations and find somewhere else!

Disgraceful!!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank bimuhler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

We are sorry to hear about your disappointment with your stay at Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines. While exterior paint and waterproofing is done on select buildings, access to balconies may be restricted at times. The team at the resort is working quickly to complete the necessary work on the buildings. Our customer care team would welcome the chance to personally speak with you about your visit. You are welcome to contact customer care directly at customer.care@vacationclub.com or by phone at 800 936 6824. We appreciate your comments and look forward to a better experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

I was turned away from the gate because I had a kayak on my vehicle. No explanation. I thought the guard was kidding...but he was not. Sent a note to management for an explanation...no response. What is the specific reason this is not allowed? Aesthetics? Snobbery? Gouge for on-site rentals? All of the above?

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Weeknd_Warrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

In the process of extracting from our stay due to the problems that have occurred during the first 15 hours here. Wait until the renovations are done or be SURE that you are in a room/building in which renovations are not occurring. Plastic across our windows, off-gassing from new carpet, paint fumes lingering, non-working shower, etc. It appears there may be a conflict with the goals of the management in helping us vs. the intentions of the company doing the work on the building. Promised fixes were undone by the work crew, including screwing shut the balcony door such that we can no longer get air into the room where my son is supposed to sleep. An ionizer was provided to remove the fumes, but is quite loud for nighttime. Very stressful experience and the first day of our vacation is not a vacation. So disappointed as we had the best vacation as a family here last year.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank gogoRochNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

We are sorry to hear about the issues you are having with your visit to Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines. Our customer care team would like to follow up with you and may be reached directly at 800 936 6824. We look forward to turning around your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Do not come here for the next month or more. They are still under construction in two of their buildings. All the guests placed in the buildings found out they were going to be placed in those buildings while construction is still happening.

Is it even legal to house guests while there are people doing construction work??

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
5  Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Hi Michael, we apologize for the inconvenience the refurbishment caused during your visit. Please know, the safety and security of our guests is our top priority as refurbishment work is done on property. Our team is available to speak with you about your experience at Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines. You are welcome to contact the customer care team directly at customer.care@vacationclub.com or via phone at 800 936 6824. Thank you for your feedback and for letting us know about your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

We have stayed at the Monarch for the last 8 years. Just a couple of weeks before our trip, and after we had even confirmed our unit with the hotel, they told us they could not accommodate us. We had made our reservation a year ago and they had regularly confirmed it with us. As we talked to Marriott personnel we learned they had units at Monarch available but had given them to other people (not owners) We are just regular people and apparently were discriminated against because we don’t have the right amount of money, points or status. The Monarch is a great place to stay —however we know now that a reservation with Marriott is not binding and they do not respect their customers enough not to cancel reservations at the last minute. If you’re planning a vacation I would not recommend Marriott. This is only the second negative review I’ve ever posted at Trip Advisor— I just want travelers to know what can happen with Marriott - spend your money and plan your trips with a company that actually respects and appreciates your business.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Unfortunately several reservations needed to be relocated to other resorts on the island due to weather related renovation delays. There are currently 2 buildings out of service and only guests staying in those buildings were impacted. This was not a random decision or one that was made because you were discriminated against. All impacted guests were offered their choice of compensation or relocation to another location on Hilton Head Island. If you are not happy with the option you selected, please contact us at 800 936 6824 so that we can personally assist you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews