We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (369)
Filter reviews
369 results
Traveller rating
178
121
34
22
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
178
121
34
22
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea pines beach club next door twin beds oldest marriott dogwood building marriott property harbor town and south beach time share living room ping pong ocean front second bedroom rented bikes vacation club hilton head island an older property full kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 369 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2017

Marriott's Monarch was not an original Marriott property. Marriott took it over, and they've done a fairly nice job. The location in Sea Pines Plantation can not be beaten. It is directly on the ocean and the units are nice, but a little dated. It is a busy area (the beach club next door is very busy), but if you head south down the beach it is much quieter. Over all, very nice!

Date of stay: August 2016
Thank Kimmarie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and leave a review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and the location of Marriott's Monarch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017

As far as Marriott resorts go, this is a very nice. The location in Sea Pines next to the Beach Club is great. The villas are a bit on the small side, at least for my family of 5, with 3 tall teen boys. The twin beds are just a little small for my near 6ft tall kids. The grounds are kept very well and the units are clean. My biggest pet peeve has been the pool situation. We spend most of our time on the beach, but since my kids are swimmers and need to swim laps, the lap pool should be a great addition to this resort, at least for us. However, the first time we tried to use the lap pool, there were about 15 people in it, not swimming laps. There were 3 people in the main pool. I know I'm being picky, but if you're going to have a lap pool, there should be a roped off lane so that if someone wants to swim laps, they can. Other than this little issue, our stay has been nice.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It is very important to us and has been shared with our senior resort management. We look forward to your next Marriott Vacation Club stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017 via mobile

This is evidently the original Marriott vacation club location on Hilton Head. The property is relatively nice and clean. It's definitely an older property as some of the original items are still evident in the villas. I.e. The internal doors are cheap and thin. Pool was nice and beach was really close. The property is missing a restaurant as well as a bar area close to the pool which is a standard item at the larger vacation clubs. A restaurant and bar is available next-door and is very nice but since it is not part of Marriott you cannot charge to the room and therefore you have to carry your wallet with you. Noise from the people on their balcony below us was pretty loud even into the evenings. I attribute this to the staggering of the balconies. The balconies are not directly above each other and therefore do not block out the sound from previous balconies. The resort was a nice place to stay on our first visit to Hilton Head but our next visit will be to a larger resort like Surf Watch. Villa held 6 people where as a larger resort holds 6-8 people.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Treasure1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and leave a review. It is very important to us and has been shared with our senior resort management. We look forward to your next Marriott Vacation Club stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017 via mobile

My family has been coming to Monarch every year for nearly 30 years. We love the laid-back atmosphere and the amenities (biking, shuffle board, ping pong, grills, beach rentals, gazebo, sponsored event schedule, multiple pools, garden and coi pond, etc.). Although we travel a lot, this is our favorite vacation each year. Hilton Head offers a family friendly environment with a lot of options for events and dining. Come and enjoy.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank cbeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Welcome back! Thank you for a perfect review. We are so happy to hear you continue to enjoy your time with us here in Hilton Head. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

We are longtime owners. This resort is oceanfront and family oriented. It is well kept up and never looks outdated. The units are 2 bedrooms, 2 bath, very efficiently arranged. Bike paths go right by, and bikes can be rented on site. Grills are available outside. Washers and dryers are inside each unit. We love everything about it.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank EllenRHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

We are so happy to hear you are enjoying your Ownership! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews